We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home in the Belfast countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen & Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen & Dining Area
Lovingly restored Traditional Ulster Cottage over 200 years old to a very high standard Bedroom with Kingsize bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Kitchen & Dining Area
Lovingly restored Traditional Ulster Cottage over 200 years old to a very high standard
Bedroom with Kingsize bed
Enclosed secluded and private garden area
Upstairs landing with lovely minstrel gallery
Upstairs Twin Room
Wheelchair accessible downstairs bedroom with craftmatic bed
Living Area with flat screen TV with entertainment and sports channels
Bespoke handmade Kitchen with original Joseph Blair cast iron range
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Erin V
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home in the Belfast countryside”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Absolutely perfect! My mum and I stayed at Martina's lovely Ulster cottage for over a week to attend a genealogy conference, and we couldn't have been happier. The cottage itself was tastefully renovated, spotlessly clean, and featured all the comforts of home - including comfy beds, fresh linens, and a pretty, private backyard. The location was ideal - out in the countryside (so you can enjoy the peace and quiet), but surprisingly close to the city.

Best of all, were the hosts themselves. Martina and Dill are so warm and friendly - they felt like old friends. Despite our late arrival, Martina was ready to greet us with a welcome package of scones, jam, butter, milk, and fresh eggs (from her own chickens!), and she was always available to answer any questions. Knowing that we were in town to research our family history, her husband, Dill, was happy to share his knowledge of the local area and even went out of his way to bring us to some spots that we wanted to see - which turned out to be a highlight of our trip.

Thank you both for the wonderful stay. We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thank you Erin for your great review. I really appreciate you taking the time to complete your very kind review & very happy you enjoyed the cottage & our hospitality. Hopefully see you back "home" again soon. Martina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfury1
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at several nice places during our trip to Ireland but they paled in comparison to Ulster Cottage. Martina and her husband were amazing hosts and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We didn't want to drive in Belfast so they helped us arrange for taxis and when we realized that a bus would be just as easy as a taxi and obviously more affordable, Martina drove us out to show us where the bus stop was located. This made the next day a lot less stressful.
You think you are out in the country but downtown Belfast is not far at all. We used the bus to get us to the Game of Thrones tour and also the Titanic Museum with no issues at all.
There was milk, cereal, scones, butter, and jam waiting for us and the house is just lovely. I would certainly recommend staying here. We will the next time we are in Belfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thank you Susan for such a lovely review. I really appreciate you taking the time to do so and your description in your review will hopefully really help future guests. Thank you again. Martina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickgi...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super place to stay, feels like the countryside, but right on the edge of town”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Martina could not have been more helpful prior to our arriving or more welcoming when we did. The cottage has been cleverly restored to very high standard, and better than we expected. One of the best things when there is the feeling of being in the middle of the countryside (the great Ulster weather helped!), even though you're only a few minutes from what the city can offer. There is alot of space on the overall property, which the children enjoyed along with exploring the chicken coup that provided the fresh eggs. Will definitely look to stay again when visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and quality of the conversion job on the property
Liked least: A few odds and ends of unfinished work on the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you Patrick for your kind review, I'm happy you & your children enjoyed your stay & the space. All very much appreciated. Martina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma_460L
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway close enough to Belfast but in rural bliss!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Martina (the owner) and the cottage were both fabulous! From before we arrived she was on hand with additional information and tips, and when we were there we were greeted by scones and the basics to ensure that we didn't need to drive back in the car straight away which was perfect. She was our very own travel guide but equally not pushy :-).

The cottage itself is lovely, beautifully and sympathetically refurbished with plenty of space, very comfortable furnishings - the beds were incredibly sleep inducing (especially downstairs!) and well equipped kitchen which is always a massive bonus in a holiday cottage. The self contained garden was a great addition as well. Would have loved to stay longer and will be returning!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you Emma for your wonderful review. I'm happy you enjoyed the cottage amenities. Come back anytime, you are more than welcome. Martina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annacl201...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home.”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Martina's beautiful cottage for a weekend to attend a family wedding, but it was not long enough! Martina was extremely friendly and welcoming and it felt like home from home. The cottage had everything we needed and was in a great location on the outskirts; so nice and quiet but also only a short drive to the busier places. The whole cottage was spotless and the towels and bedding were soft and fresh. There was ample room for the 5 of us and the low ceilings upstairs only add to the quaintness of this lovely cottage, in my opinion. I can't recommend this place highly enough, I only hope it is free when we come back...wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely fresh bedding and towels, quiet location and delightful owner.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you Anna for taking the time to put up this review & for your very kind comments. I would be very happy to see you & your family return to Greystone Cottage. Many thanks. Martina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A business trip to Belfast”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We recently spent two nights at the property as we were staying in Belfast on business. From the time we arrived we felt very welcomed by the owner and nothing was too much trouble for her. The accommodation was very well equipped and we had everything we needed. As we were out during the day we only really used the property to sleep in however it was homely and very comfortable. From a cost perspective it was cheaper per head to stay here than in a B&B or hotel and much much nicer. We would most certainly stay here again and would recommend this property to our colleagues, friends and family. Thank you Martina for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being away but yet it still felt like home
Liked least: Just on the single beds it would have been helpful not to have footboards, great for children or shorter guests but more tricky for taller folks or people who like to sleep with their feet stuck out of the end of the bed :)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review, it is very much appreciated as is all your kind comments. I am really happy that your group enjoyed the cottage and that you feel it is a great base for business and holidays. Thanks again Martina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom N
1 review
“Beautiful accommodation, incredible owner”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I have stayed in many hotels, guest houses, apartments and rental houses over the years but this one is extra special. The accommodation is flawless throughout and situated in a very close proximity to Belfast and surrounding areas of interest. As if the accommodation was not good enough it was made even better by Martina would not only went out of her way to make us feel welcome but even supplied homemade scones and jam. Highly recommend Greystone Cottage to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That I had to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Hi Tom, thank you so so much for such a lovely review & glad you appreciated the goodies! Also really happy you loved the cottage, it has been a labour of love and happy to tell since you've been received 4**** (just 1% more for 5 Star) so I'm well happy. Hope to see you soon. Regards. Martina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing