We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”
Review of Mourne Seafood Bar

Mourne Seafood Bar
Ranked #12 of 1,052 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$57
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: great local seafood in a friendly,casual environment
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing food with friendly staff , defo recommend. The inside is rustic with a great atmosphere. If your in Belfast you must try.

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,553
    459
    147
    52
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham england
Level Contributor
442 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We made two trips here during our three day trip to Belfast, each memorable. As you walk through the small fish shop that fronts the restaurant you can smell the sea in the midst of the city. The dining area downstairs has the feel of an old bar. The menu offers firm favourites and dishes of the day. On our first lunch I ate an amazing smoked eel salad nicoise, the eel was delicately smoked, the salad of waxy potatoes, green beans, olives, salad and small tomatoes with mayo set the eel off perfectly. It was a dish I didn't want to stop eating. I followed this with baked salmon, samphire and asparagus...gorgeous. On the next visit i had a sweet fresh half lobster with chips and salad and a rhubarb and apple crumble with ice cream. the wines were outstanding too and great value as was the food. The staff were attentive, warm and funny and we found ourselves in company with friendly happy diners. An outstanding place to eat, talk and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vandasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Try the Spicy Chilli squid and chips - only a fiver”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Two delightful chaps run a Street Vendor van just outside the boatyard. Menu options all mostly seafood based and tried the Squid Chilli and Chips, great value for only £5, very tasty and a free bottle of water included. Decent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kam-Haider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The initial setting, in a slightly run down area & next to a noisy pub, did not inspire enthusiasm but do not be deterred! We had booked the restaurant upstairs, which is quieter & offers a more extensive menu than the bar, but dress there is very causal. The seafood was exceptional & the wine also very good. The youngish staff were friendly, knowledgeable & efficient. They do eat early, though - this was a Thursday night & the place was very quiet by 9:30pm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsTimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fine food and good wine.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had been given a gift voucher for the Mourne Seafood Bar so decided to treat ourselves to lunch. Arriving late on Friday afternoon we had a 45 minute wait standing at the entrance. Surely it would be better to have a bar area to sit in. After being shown to our table we placed our order. Unfortunately after 20 minutes we asked about our starter. They had forgotten the order. This was addressed immediately and the cost removed from our bill. The food as always was excellent, tasty seafood chowder and delicious goats cheese starter followed by mussels in cream and white wine and scallops accompanied with a mint risotto and a fine bottle of Sauvignon Blanc. Apart from the starter blip we enjoyed our meal. Definitely worth a visit but please address the wait outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoJojo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mourne Seafood Bar also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Mourne Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing