We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighborhood resturant good bargain”

Ryan's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #140 of 1,055 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$49
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood resturant good bargain”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I walked here from my B&B as I didn't feel like driving. This is a bar with an upstairs Resturant. They have a real bargain of a starter and main for 10£. They didn't have the Stillson pate but instead a salmon pate with onion relish. This was good but could have be put on two slices of toast. The boxty was ok. The smoked chicken in it was a bit dry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    99
    29
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bit off more then they could chew”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Would rate it as good rather then average. Made a last minute reservation and was seated in the bar area as the restaurant was full. Waited 20 minutes for the menus and a further 30 for the meal and despite asking twice I am still waiting for a portion of chips 24 hours later! The manager was very pleasant and admitted that they 'were on the back foot all day'. The food was nice though portions a bit small but the 2 course for £10 is great value. Nice atmosphere and worth a visit back when they are on the front foot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We visited Ryan's after my son enjoyed his visit,we went Sunday afternoon and I have to say I was disappointed with the food.i ordered pork belly and found the 3" x 3/4" portion inadequate,I could have eaten 3 of these.also the sauce was bland.a pretty uninspiring trip I won't be repeating soon

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garyjamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second Home”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Love this place, it's one of my second homes and my first stop for a quiet drink.

Nice wee bar filled with mostly locals but welcoming to all.

Food is great, and prices aren't too bad either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill_Lee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We hadn't booked but were given a table in the downstairs bar. The service was very good and the food was tasty and very good value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeeR496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryan's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Loughbrickland, County Down
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Ryan's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing