We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't serve this muck to my cat”
Review of Giraffe Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Giraffe Restaurant
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Stranmillis
1 review
“I wouldn't serve this muck to my cat”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I hadn't been to giraffe for years as the food and service had gone down the pan. When I saw the name change I assumed a change of ownership too. How wrong could I have been...same. old slop as before. Don't bother..I certainly won't be darkening its doors again. One redeeming feature was our waitress who took one look at my plate of uneaten ' chilli' and said " you didn't enjoy that did you?" And promptly took it off the bill!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ambrose2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
2 reviews
“Not allowed to book with living social vouchers”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I tried to book a table at sweet chilli...they told me there was availablity but when I told them I would be using a living social voucher they said they would not except the booking.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhenderson826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Food was amazing and staff brilliant! Cannot wait to visit again!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank shirley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Giraffe is now called "Sweet Chilli"”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We always liked Giraffe for a quick bite and casual meal, so after a theatre trip decided to drop in for something to eat. The name/management has changed to Sweet Chilli so we decided to give it a go. We were quickly shown to our seats and given a menu. There was plenty of food to choose from, most of which was mexican style, which we love and there was also a specials board. We were not disappointed with our dishes and the portions were good. The restaurant is not licensed but there is an off license next door and my husband was able to get a bottle of wine for us. The staff were friendly and we were happy with our service. I would recommend this place for a casual meal if you are into spicy food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank girlabouttown31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Food is great, just a bit expensive for a restaurant on Stranmillis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HaughtyDerision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giraffe Restaurant also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing