We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of Class at lunchtime rates”
Review of Deanes Restaurant

Deanes Restaurant
Ranked #116 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Golden Mile
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Taste of Class at lunchtime rates”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Deanes has a certain reputation for fine dining in Belfast, but with that also comes a pricey bill!
However Deanes have a lunchtime special in the Fish Restaurant for £6.50 and boy is it worth every penny. With the recent expansion they are also offering a lunch special in the Meat Locker which should also be worth a visit.
However we have visisted this restaurant twice now in the past few weeks and both times found it fantastic. The selection on the lunch menu is good and the service and experience fantastic.
Its the little touches that you would expect like cloth napkins, knowledgable waiters/waitresses etc that make this place.
I have had the Prawn Open and the Chowder and both are delicious, we have also enjoyed a carafe of house wine which only added to the experience, especailly when it is looked after exactly the same way a bottle of expensive wine is!
There is no rush and it was lovely to savour the meal and wine in such tranquil surroundings before heading out again into the busyness of life.
If you are lucky the great man himself will even dander through the restaurant.
The beauty is that you can also order of the main menu as well as the lunchtime specials so something to suit everyone.
A treat that I look forward to when meeting these friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    90
    63
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Don't go here for food!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Michael Deane has been in the Belfast restaurant scene for many years and very successfully so but his Epic restaurant is nouvelle cuisine gone mad. We dined last week with friends and ate off the £40 table d'hôte menu. My starter of asparagus was a delight to look at but with three undercooked tips and some minimal garnish it was barely an appetiser. The main course of lamb, again beautifully presented, was minuscule. The dessert was forgettable. The wine was rather overpriced - a mediocre 2012 Rioja was £24. We chose a 2009 Ribero del Duero for the second bottle but at nearly £45 that was pricey.
I would be loathe to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DLP555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a wonderful 3 course meal here. Although we were a bit tipsy the staff treated us with great respect and were very attentive. I had the lobster for my starter and we both had steaks for our mains and sorbets for dessert. The food was cooked perfectly and is exactly what you expect for your money. I would recommend eating here and will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I dined at this restaurant following a recommendation from Belfast friends and we were not disappointed. Firstly, let me clarify a point of confusion for us and no doubt for others:

There are actually three restaurants in the one building (Deane's Meat Locker, Deane's Love Fish and Deane's EIPIC) catering for different dining tastes. To add to the confusion, there is also a Deane's Bistro plus another Deane's restaurant in other locations in the City. However, this fact is not made clear on the Deane's website.

We happened to opt for Deane's Meat Locker, of course specialising in meat, having made a timely reservation (advised). The surroundings were most pleasing with attentive and courteous staff. At one end of the room was a glass fronted cooking area where sides of beef could be seen with Chefs busily preparing the freshest of meat dishes among the flames. Our starters and desserts were nice and tasty but the main course was the showstopper for us. We choose the T-Bone Steak dish for two people and I can say without hesitation that it was the best steak I have ever tasted. It was huge!! What's more it was skillfully carved into medallions and presented with the T-Bone itself. When next in Belfast, we will be making a beeline for Deane's Meat Locker. Maybe you should too!!

Two points to note:

1. Bread is charged separately albeit home made along with the butter (delicious).

2. There is a 12.5% service charge added to the bottom line.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank widows_weeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“reliably good restaurant with relaxing atmosphere and no attitude”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

First things first....a decent restaurant which serves tap water graciously......and from a chilled glass bottle, left at the table and refreshed throughout.. A decent wine list, with drinkable 500 ml malbec at 17 quid. AN utterly good set lunch menu, two courses for 6 or 7 quid.....ridiculously economic in value and for this reason much loved by two nearby pensioners.... Go a la carte, and a respectable, well chosen, menu offers lots of dishes with locally sourced produce. A pea and ham soup was sensationally good, served alongside a wheaten muffin and some melting butter. A small arrangement of lamb cuts cooked to melting, enjellied with herby suckability, let down only by a slightly loud polenta, raised the roof of my mouth. And this dish was 17 quid too....Atmosphere is relaxed, service is right side of unobtrusive, staff friendly and quietly efficient. Ambience created by the light and view from floor to ceiling windows along its façade. The spacing between tables is generous enough to afford privacy and wise enough to permit eavesdropping.
Loos are happily excellent.

Why not five out of five? I tasted five dishes, two were excellent, three were good. Hence the score.

What a local treasure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeF66X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deanes Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Deanes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing