We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spent three nights here for our first time in Belfast. We did have a mystery half price hotel deal from lastminute.com so at £58 per night excluding parking and breakfast this was superb value. Declan, the concierge was both friendly and helpful. Recommended

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dndbonanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    730
    256
    95
    55
See reviews for
301
1,519
120
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We spent out wedding night there. We're not picky but I work in a similar luxury environment and with the public all the time, so I'm trained to pick things up even when I don't want to:(. WEll this is as close to perfect customer service as I have ever seen: friendly, helpful, polite. Not fake-posh, not fake-friendly, just super nice. Executive room, very nice decor if you're into boutique style hotel. Perfect large bed. Good bar selection in the room- bar the herbal teas which I usually drink. very nice bathroom, really clean and nice size tub. Loved the little candle-matches detail in the bathroom for the tub - we actually used it. We were absolutely impressed with the restaurant after being slightly disappointed with a very famous downtown place earlier in the day for our wedding party - really wish we could have booked it there. We both agreed, def this is or new spot In Belfast. Congrats to the maitre-d, the staff were just wonderful without being overbearing, appearing and disappearing at just the right times; love to see good old fashion training like that, very hard to find nowadays; the steaks we had were possibly some of the best ever, just the right amount of rucola too which I love; didn't want to order desert really, nothing could have topped it. Breakfast was just as good. We'll be def coming back, no need for us to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was a surprise visit to Belfast booked by my husband to celebrate my 50th birthday. We stayed for 4 nights and the hotel room was large and comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with both a bath and shower cubicle. However, on our first morning we realised that the shower door did not shut properly. We therefore hesitated to use the shower as we were concerned about leakage onto the bathroom floor. No problem - we had baths instead and reported the problem to the receptionist who said she would get it sorted. We returned after a day out to find the shower door still did not close. We reported it again the next day and were told that someone had been to look at it but could not fix the problem. This was okay with us but it would have been nice if a note had been left the previous day to let us know this. When we returned that evening there was a note in our room advising that we were to be moved to another room - the one next door. The weird thing was that the shower in that bathroom had no door at all!!!!! It was very nice of them to move us but we would have been happy to stay in the original room (I liked it better even though the rooms were mirror images of each other).

We didn't eat there at all so could not comment on the restaurant or bar. The rooms have facilities to make tea and coffee (not very nice coffee) tucked away into a cupboard. The mattresses were quite soft so I woke up with backache each morning.

Belfast is a lovely city but I think I will probably look for a different hotel if I ever get to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaConnor, Operations Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Tracey B,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.
Please let me apologise that we were unable to repair the shower door in your guestroom during your visit. This should have been communicated at the time. I am now pleased to advise that our Maintenance Manager has since been able to resolve this issue.
Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope this incident will not deter you from returning to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.
With Kindest Regards,
Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and it was great. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff were all friendly. The bedrooms were luxurious and everywhere was immaculately clean. Hotel is within walking distance of all major attractions. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackpoolanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast on the weekend of 27th-29th July. We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel and if we are lucky enough to return to Belfast in the future, we will now automatically book the Fitzwilliam.
The reasons why we enjoyed the hotel:
Great location, Pleasant staff, Good value for money, nice rooms (bed was incredibly comfy), good hotel to relax, clean hotel, we didn't require anything else as it ticked all the buttons for our weekend trip. The hotel bar is also a very good spot to relax. We had been sightseeing during the days we were there, so we wanted a relaxed environment to enjoy a few drinks, have bite to eat and chill out. We could do all of this in the hotel bar, fantastic addition to the hotel. I would also like to recommend the bar staff, all very courteous and my wife tried a few of the cocktails and said they were all superb. Also, I would like to say thanks to reception as although we were not due to check-in until 3pm, a room was made available to us at 12-30.
So all in all, thanks to the Fitzwilliam hotel for a great weekend and I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will stay here the next time we return to the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevtee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Our second stay at the Fitz in 3 years. Into an unchanged reception area, smiles and speedy, efficient check in. To the fifth floor and a lovely, spacious, comfortable room with a decent view of the Jury's opposite and the city beyond. The bathroom had both bath and a large raindrop shower. No need for an engineering degree to operate this equipment. A nice touch was the smallish area of the mirror that didn't mist up after the shower was used. We appreciate that this can't be cheap but could it be a little larger to accommodate all heights rather than the average as we found it?

Downstairs again - in the seating area the FT & local papers were readily available and a range of books was displayed. Outside, the Grand Opera House was next door and across the road the institution that is the Crown Liquor Saloon or Bar. A visit here is mandatory; the place is a throwback to the 1930s. The beer was good and the clientele friendly. Sadly, they'd stopped selling baseball caps & t-shirts. Shame on them!

10 minutes to the City Centre and on to the Cathedral Quarter. Back in the Fitzwilliam and the welcoming bar; they served good snack food and decent wine & cocktails at acceptable prices.
The only poor piece of service happened here on Monday (30 July); two barmen on duty and the experienced guy went to make love to the bar computer leaving the 3 day man to cope with several orders including our Rusty Nail. We passed on some advice to the older guy as we left the bar!

There were lots of bars and reataurants in the immediate area; we tried South James Street but but were told we needed reservations as it was fully booked. This was disproved about 90 minutes later when a glance through the window revealed more empty seats than at the Olympics. Avoid!

So it was over the road to Irene & Nan's. We were not put off by our first impression; a little attention was needed. The food, wine and service were all impeccable and represented very good value for money.

Our Fitzwilliam room had more than sufficient wardrobe space, a good TV, iron & ironing board, safe, CD player and a mini bar. The aircon was discreet and although some street noise reached us, it was not intrusive.

Our final morning and under the door was a fully itemised - and totally accurate - bill. Checkout was smooth and our luggage was stored for us via the Concierge who later handled our taxi transfer with professional aplomb.

We're happy to recommend the Fitzwilliam as a good base for enjoying Belfast. We will be back, soon.

Room Tip: The fifth floor suited us nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Fitzwilliam is similar to some of the high-end contemporary / boutiquey versions of well known 4-5 star hotels that have sprung up in London over the last few years; only the Fitz has way more character and doesn't make you haemorrhage money.

Everything was top knotch; friendly greeting at reception, large comfortable room, huge bed, free wi-fi, great housekeeping. The location is great too. I can't remember exactly how much we paid, but it was a fairly modest amount and the Fitz definately over-delivered against expectations.

The highlight for us was the (family friendly) cocktail bar. We came to Belfast mainly for the Titanic exhibition but if anything's going to make us return, it's what mixologist Jonathan has up his sleeve for Manhattans / old fashioneds!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,161 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,439 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing