We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't meet our expectations”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

After seeing the positive reviews and rating here in tripadvisor, we decided to stay at the fitzwilliam with confidence; little did we know what was coming out way: restaurant closed for a (noisy) private function, very limited room service menu, from which only 30% of the offered dishes were available. Dirty carpet floor. Not replenished mini bar, which also had beers that the previous guest had brought and left there. Toilet garbage bin had rubbish from previous guest. Going on: front desk personnel couldn't make their mind on rates and fees for our bill, and the laundry service arrived way too late and was outrageously expensive (as was the hotel considering what you get for your money). On the plus side, location is really good, (Irish) breakfast was good as well, and Phillip the concierge was an excellent host.
Sadly, not staying there ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ach78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Ach78

Many thanks for your recent review regarding your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I was sorry that your experience did not live up to expectations and I would very much like to discuss this further with you. Could I please therefore ask that you kindly contact myself at the hotel directly and I would be happy do discuss your recent visit in further detail.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    760
    266
    98
    57
See reviews for
339
1,619
125
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Perfect location , on the edge of the city makes this a good hotel from which to visit the many bars and restaurants , close to many of the main shopping areas and city attractions .
BELFAST IS A FABULOUS CITY TO VISIT
Great people and places to visit .
See review on city sightseeing .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Andrew H

Many thanks for your recent review regarding the location of the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast. I shall be sharing your comments with the team here.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Excellent Hotel - the staff are excellent they do everything they can to ensure you enjoy your stay.
The bedrooms are not really 5 star although they are very comfortable. There is poor TV reception and very limited channels also the TV are flat screen but are small and need up dating. The breakfast was very good with excellent service the only criticism I could make is that the toaster needs updating and the fresh fruit could be better, having said that it was good value for the money.
I would stay there again asit was in an excellent location and the staff were great even though it was not quite 5 star but very close.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodasherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Theodasherdog

Thank you for your kind review of the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am so pleased that you found the staff and service excellent. Your feedback in reference to the toaster and fresh fruit at breakfast has been passed on to the relevant people. Also, our TV channels are getting upgraded over the next couple of months.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

You couldn't get a more central hotel n Belfast. It's lobby is open and fresh. The corridors upstairs have a hard seductive feel to them. Standard rooms are comfortable enough. Spacious enough for a couple or business man. Quality of the decor and bathroom is excellent, walk in showers. My biggest gripe would be the noise. Even the higher rooms still have noise from the traffic bellow. Difficult to get a good nights sleep if you enough the freshness of an open window.

The breakfast in the Fitz is excellent. Even if your staying somewhere else the breakfast is worth every penny. I've yet to find a hotel that can beat the Fitzwilliam's Eggs Benedict, even the sister hotel in Dublin runs a second close. Parking in the near by multi storey if fine or the hotel charge for their own on site parking.

Room Tip: Excellent for location to bars and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Starvn

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the Eggs Benedict and the decor of the rooms. All feedback is valuable to us and taken on board by the ManagementIwill certainly be sharing your feedback with the team here at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Good hotel but definitely not a five star hotel. Has a very trendy look and feel. Rooms are vey dark and not really that clean. On a positive note Service at front desk is really good. The bar is average. Its quiet almost all the time- and does not feel very welcoming - chairs and space are cool and not comfortable. When talking to locals this hotel has quite a reputation for being the best. Having nothing to compare it with in Belfast I cannot say but trust the locals that it is one of nicest downtown. Big plus is the convenience to everything - you are in a perfect location. The famous 'crown bar" is across the street and should not be missed....I might try the Merchant hotel or the Europa on next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Mollymoto

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast and I am delighted to read that you found the service at Front Desk very good. I was however disappointed with your other comments in reference to the bar and rooms.

All guest feedback we receive is of utmost importance and I will certainly be sharing your comments with the team here. I would very much like to learn more of your experience and would therefore ask that you contact myself here at the hotel.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Smiley and helpful staff on arrival, they could not do more to ensure that our stay would be a good one. Rooms are well appointed and have the usual amenities. The only issue encountered in the bathroom was that the shower recess floor was very slippery when wet, which could be dangerous for elderly people. The variety of food for breakfast was disappointing where the was not much to choose from for the hot meals and when they arrived, it lacked in quality and quantity and this goes the same with the Bar food for dinner. Overall a good hotel, but the meals could be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheStyleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear TheStyleTraveller

Many thanks for the recent review regarding your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belast.

It was lovely to read how you found the staff 'smiley and helpful' on arrival. Your feedback regarding the bathroom and food choices have been taken on board and discussed with Management at the hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I spent the last four days with my family at The Fitzwilliam Hotel & to sum up our stay......WOW!!!!

To allocate five stars to this hotel just isn't enough.

The hotel is in an excellent location in Belfast. It's a modern hotel. There is only valet parking as the hotel car park is behind the hotel.

The staff were brilliant. I have four young children and from the minute we walked inside the door of the hotel the staff were so friendly, helpful & totally understanding of childrens' excitable behaviour. The conceirge were great with the kids, always engaging them in conversation when we were in the foyer. They asked the kids about their day, where they had been to that day etc. They had little jokes for them. My kids coloured pictures for them before we left, that's how friendly these guys made my kids feel!

The breakfast was lovely, a good selection of fresh fruit, cereal, meats, pastries etc.

We had dinner in the hotel twice. Both evenings the meals were delicious, special mention the langoustine risotto, delicious. There was a kids menu with healthly options. When we needed to make changes to the set menu for the kids it wasn't a problem at all. The restaurant staff suggested alternatives for the kids which was great, one less thing for me to think about. We got back to the hotel later than expected one evening, 8pm, and requested a table away from the main busy restaurant area as the kids were tired from our day out. Again this was not a problem for the restaurant staff. They re-set a table for us to the side of restaurant that had been set up for breakfast the next day. This was great as we could all enjoy our meal without being worried about disturbing the other guests.

The bar looked lovely but I can't comment on the drinks/cocktails this time round, maybe I'll get to check it out without the kids someday.

I'm looking forward to returning the Fitzwilliam Hotel soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cksavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear cksavage

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review regarding your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast. It was lovely to welcome your family and get to know them during your time with us.

I was delighted to learn that you found the staff brilliant, breakfast lovely and dinner delicious. Your kind comments have been shared with the team and in particular the Concierge.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,203 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,504 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#17 of 45 in Belfast
2,883 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing