We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,947)
Filter reviews
3,947 results
Traveller rating
2,527
900
329
124
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,527
900
329
124
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turn down service opera house beautiful hotel mini bar central location hotel bar a lovely stay city hall executive room afternoon tea stayed for one night cooked breakfast from start to finish top class car park concierge robes
Filter
Updating list...
2,772 - 2,777 of 3,947 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

After seeing the positive reviews and rating here in tripadvisor, we decided to stay at the fitzwilliam with confidence; little did we know what was coming out way: restaurant closed for a (noisy) private function, very limited room service menu, from which only 30% of the offered dishes were available. Dirty carpet floor. Not replenished mini bar, which also had beers that the previous guest had brought and left there. Toilet garbage bin had rubbish from previous guest. Going on: front desk personnel couldn't make their mind on rates and fees for our bill, and the laundry service arrived way too late and was outrageously expensive (as was the hotel considering what you get for your money). On the plus side, location is really good, (Irish) breakfast was good as well, and Phillip the concierge was an excellent host.
Sadly, not staying there ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ach78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Ach78

Many thanks for your recent review regarding your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I was sorry that your experience did not live up to expectations and I would very much like to discuss this further with you. Could I please therefore ask that you kindly contact myself at the hotel directly and I would be happy do discuss your recent visit in further detail.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Perfect location , on the edge of the city makes this a good hotel from which to visit the many bars and restaurants , close to many of the main shopping areas and city attractions .
BELFAST IS A FABULOUS CITY TO VISIT
Great people and places to visit .
See review on city sightseeing .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Andrew H

Many thanks for your recent review regarding the location of the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast. I shall be sharing your comments with the team here.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Excellent Hotel - the staff are excellent they do everything they can to ensure you enjoy your stay.
The bedrooms are not really 5 star although they are very comfortable. There is poor TV reception and very limited channels also the TV are flat screen but are small and need up dating. The breakfast was very good with excellent service the only criticism I could make is that the toaster needs updating and the fresh fruit could be better, having said that it was good value for the money.
I would stay there again asit was in an excellent location and the staff were great even though it was not quite 5 star but very close.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theodasherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Theodasherdog

Thank you for your kind review of the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am so pleased that you found the staff and service excellent. Your feedback in reference to the toaster and fresh fruit at breakfast has been passed on to the relevant people. Also, our TV channels are getting upgraded over the next couple of months.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

You couldn't get a more central hotel n Belfast. It's lobby is open and fresh. The corridors upstairs have a hard seductive feel to them. Standard rooms are comfortable enough. Spacious enough for a couple or business man. Quality of the decor and bathroom is excellent, walk in showers. My biggest gripe would be the noise. Even the higher rooms still have noise from the traffic bellow. Difficult to get a good nights sleep if you enough the freshness of an open window.

The breakfast in the Fitz is excellent. Even if your staying somewhere else the breakfast is worth every penny. I've yet to find a hotel that can beat the Fitzwilliam's Eggs Benedict, even the sister hotel in Dublin runs a second close. Parking in the near by multi storey if fine or the hotel charge for their own on site parking.

Room Tip: Excellent for location to bars and restaurants.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Starvn

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the Eggs Benedict and the decor of the rooms. All feedback is valuable to us and taken on board by the ManagementIwill certainly be sharing your feedback with the team here at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Good hotel but definitely not a five star hotel. Has a very trendy look and feel. Rooms are vey dark and not really that clean. On a positive note Service at front desk is really good. The bar is average. Its quiet almost all the time- and does not feel very welcoming - chairs and space are cool and not comfortable. When talking to locals this hotel has quite a reputation for being the best. Having nothing to compare it with in Belfast I cannot say but trust the locals that it is one of nicest downtown. Big plus is the convenience to everything - you are in a perfect location. The famous 'crown bar" is across the street and should not be missed....I might try the Merchant hotel or the Europa on next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Mollymoto

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast and I am delighted to read that you found the service at Front Desk very good. I was however disappointed with your other comments in reference to the bar and rooms.

All guest feedback we receive is of utmost importance and I will certainly be sharing your comments with the team here. I would very much like to learn more of your experience and would therefore ask that you contact myself here at the hotel.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews