We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good 4 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Very Good 4 Star”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here and am writing this in the bar having had a very good Club Sandwich and a couple of Guinness's for lunch before my flight back to England.
The hotel has a great location and the staff are extremely efficient and polite.
The rooms are modern and comfortable with a very good bathroom. Fittings are of high quality and the beds are super comfy with pillows which are exactly right for me (firm). Wifi is free and fast which is real plus!
The bar, in the evenings buzzes and drinks are reasonably priced.
Negatives are few but the TV channels are limited and on the two nights we were there, the reception on the TV was dreadful. It's not a major draw-back but nevertheless irritating.
My wife has stayed in several of the Belfast hotels as she visits every month and she prefers this place to most of the others. I can see why.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Timchambola,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the club sandwich and guinness at the bar and how highly you valued the location and staff.

It will be my pleasure to share all your nice feedback to the rest of the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming both yourself and your wife back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,710
    711
    249
    93
    55
See reviews for
287
1,479
119
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The location, value and quality of this hotel far exceeded my expectations. I felt like I could have stayed happily in the room for weeks. The bed was extremely comfortable; on the first night I laid down for a "quick rest" and slept straight through until morning. The rest of the furniture (sofa, desk chair) were also terrific. The decor was muted and peaceful, the staff highly professional, and the bar makes a mean Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duelist135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Duelist135,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent experience at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am delighted that you found found the hotel exceeded your expectations and that the staff were very helpful to you. I will certainly pass on your lovely feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here the weekend of the 16th of August, in room 510. The room was beautiful and well provisioned with an extremely comfortable bed and a huge sofa. The decor was lovely but the fixtures were a bit bashed and scuffed, the edges of the bed, the desk, and the skirting were quite roughed up. The bathroom is huge and gorgeous, but the bath is an actual nightmare to get out of!

The staff were very helpful, and any minor issues we had were resolved immediately. Definitely a quality hotel and I can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_WooDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Great welcome from the girl at reception who was very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and trendy, loved the modern bathroom and especially the little touch of a candle by the bath. Everything we needed was provided in the room and the hotel was in a great location, right in the city centre. Free wi-fi in the room was a huge bonus too

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anniethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Anniethompson

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words on your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am delighted to read that you found the Receptionist 'very friendly and helpful' and that you liked the extra touches in the room. I will be sharing your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel will be difficult to find fault with. It's 'Irish" 5 star but really its a great 4 star. We were looked after well from first arrival through to checkout.
We took advantage of the 2 night midweek deal incl breakfast and 1 dinner.
The set menu had a really good selection of quality food well presented and served with a smile. Katherine was our waitress for the evening meal, and she is a true asset to the hotel. The small issue we had was very quickly sorted out without any problem or fuss
Rooms were a lot more spacious and cleaner than the Hilton in Belfast. It's within easy walking distance of anything you would want to do or see. Can't see any reason to not enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear BigJohnDeere

Many thanks for your recent feedback on your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how you found Katherine 'a true asset to the hotel' and that the food was well presented and of good quality. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team and Katherine in particular.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Good location about 10 minute walk from main shopping centres and close to the bus terminal were the airport bus goes to (we flew into Belfast and got the airport bus as only took 30 minutes and good value as well), very close to theatres as well.

We had an executive room, well worth it, hotel is not cheap but does offer value for money, sleep quality excellent, room was as clean tidy as you would expect at the price, bathrooms are really good.

We used the bar area which had a good feel to it, fairly trendy, lively but not so you couldn't hear yourself speak, bar is a must at night. We did use the restaurant which was top notch for dinner and breakfast and we found the staff to be helpful, happy and keen to please so this is one of the best places I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear David G

Thank you for writing such a lovely review regarding your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the bar, breakfast, friendliness of staff and the location. I will certainly be passing on your feedback to the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed for one night at this hotel. Young and trendy, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms didn't have much of a view, but the room was spotless with all the expected facilities. The bar is very popular for pre-theatre drinks and there was a lovely, lively atmosphere. Breakfast in the morning was really delicious. Only thing they didn't have was skimmed milk, which is a real bug bear of mine! Still, it was a hotel I would certainly use again and the location is very central.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear JaniceDerbyshire

Many thanks for taking the time to write such lovely feedback on your recent stay at the hotel.

It was lovely to read how you found 'the staff very friendly and helpful' and breakfast 'really delicious'. I have passed on your feedback in relation to the skimmed milk.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing