We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grahame & Cathy August 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grahame & Cathy August 2013”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nicely appointed room, albeit a little small but to be expected of a city hotel.
Service and food and drinks all very good indeed.
I would have given the overall rating as 'excellent' except for the toilet seat in our room.
A modern bathroom, done out in black, white, glass and chrome but with a square seat that cut into my bottom and was not very comfortable at all.
My wife did not complain but that's probably because she has a slightly smaller bottom than me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roulestonfinancial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Roulestonfinancial,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you had with the toilet seats in the room.

It was very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service from the hotel very good.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    730
    256
    95
    55
See reviews for
301
1,519
120
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The highlight of my visit were the staff who were friendly and helpful from the front desk to the concierge to the wait staff. The room is nice, if a little small. Lights are a little tricky to operate and we did have an issue with our wake-up call but once alerted the staff made sure the concierge came and knocked on the door for us. Breakfast was wonderful, although the coffee is not good, but I never got a good cup of coffee in Ireland. Had to request extra towels even though they knew it was two women in the room. The hotel is centrally located so nothing is very far but taxis adn banks are easy to get.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Linda F,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback on your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It is a great pleasure to read how helpful and friendly the Reception and Concierge team were during your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you found breakfast wonderful. I will certainly share all your lovely feedback with all the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH WEST ENGLAND
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Fitzwilliam for one night whilst visiting the province last weekend.
The staff were very helpful and offered the traditional Ulster welcome. The room was appointed and it was very enjoyable. Staff went to special lengths to obtain my choice of newspaper. Breakfast the following morning was good too.
The hotel is well located in the heart of the city centre and I am already looking for a reason to return!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AS1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear AS1690,

Thank you for taking the time to write such nice feedback on your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you recieved great service from all the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

Kindest Regards,
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Organised a hen party in Belfast and stayed here for one night. Staff were helpful although they gave away the larger room to somebody else by accident, no rooms left so compensated by giving us two glasses of wine. The hotel is convenient to bars, restaurants and shopping. Rooms were modern and clean.
Corridors are a bit too dark for my taste. Breakfast was delicious. Overall it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Mimiwan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a kind review on your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I would like to apologise for the mistake on your room type and I am very happy that you enjoyed the 2 glasses of wine to compensate. It is very nice to read that you enjoyed the delicious breakfast in the restaurant and found the hotel to be very centrally located.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel in the not to distant fuure.

Kindest Regards,
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Fitzwilliam in July for a couple of nights break for my birthday. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had a completely hassle free time.

The decor of the hotel is very modern and makes for a very relaxing stay. The bedroom had a HUGE and really comfortable bed. Room seemed to be very clean and there was no noise heard during the night.

The hotel is very centrally located and is about a minutes walk from the main bus station in Belfast.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Belfast for business or a short break!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kashmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Kashmein,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such excellant feedback on your recent stay at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It is with great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how you found the bedrooms comfortable with the HUGE bed. I will certainly pass on you lovely feedback with the all the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip. It is centrally located, and has many bars and restaurants within walking distance. The lobby is inviting. I found the bar to be a bit dark in the evening and had to use my phone to read the bar menu. Nice selection of food and drink at the bar for fare later in the evening. My room came with breakfast. The selection of rolls, ham, cheese, fruit, croissants, cereals, etc., was perfect. I did not try the hot breakfast. Concierge was great, helping us to find a taxi that took American Express, or one that didn't require chip and pin. Loved my room, it was nice and quiet. Free internet was very good. Plenty of plugs in the room to charge my phone, run my computer, etc. I didn't have a car on this trip, but the parking was pretty expensive. I would definitely stay here again, if given the opportunity. I wouldn't say this is a 5 Star, but the location was excellent and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Melinda ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback on your recent stay at the The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am very pleased to read how much you appreciate the food and drink selection in the bar and also the selection you got with your breakfast, the service from the concierge and the overall hotel experience. It will be my pleasure to share your kind comments to all the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The staff at this hotel went out of their way to ensure you had a great stay. The restaurant was well appointed and staff attentive, the concierge ready to assist and reception staff helpful. The rooms were comfortable and decor interesting. Overall, great stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Fiona H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am delighted to read that recieved great service during your stay and that you found the concierge and reception very helpful.

We hope to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,161 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,438 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing