We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our first visit to Belfast so I selected a central hotel to make getting around easy and the Fitzwilliam Hotel certainly met the brief. However, it was the extras that made the stay so special. The first welcoming hello at Reception set the standard and all staff met or exceeded that standard each and every time. The room was very clean and comfortable, large enough for 2 people not to fall over each other. The bathroom provided all the necessary requirements and was thoroughly cleaned each day of our 3 day stay. The WiFi connection was easy to work and preformed as expected.

We visited the Restaurant twice once for breakfast and the second time for dinner. On each occasion we were warmly welcomed and all our requests were provided in a timely manner to an expected standard. At dinner we explained we were attending a show and our meals and bill were present within amble time and we never felt rushed. The food and the service was top notch.

Overall our stay at the hotel was as it should be, a comfortable welcoming non-eventful experience which allowed us to do what we came for and enjoy our time discovering Belfast. Thank you and well done management and staff of the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanM54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear SusanM54_12

I thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the experience and the service provided by our staff. We will certainly be sharing this feedback with the team.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,756
    731
    256
    95
    55
See reviews for
301
1,522
120
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as it was right next door to the Grand Opera House where we where dwn to watch CATS
Service frm we went in to we checked out.. Even parked our car 4 us.. Room was beautiful. Shower was wonderful & breakfast was delicious..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nailparlour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear nailparlour

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was a pleasure to read how how you found 'the room beautiful, shower wonderful and breakfast delicious'. I will certainly be sharing your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I decided last minute to take a night away in belfast and booked into this hotel, we'll wat can I say from the min we arrived we were very impressed got an upgrade to an executive double room "beautiful" we have stayed in quite a few hotels in belfast and this was by far the best one, we will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Donna M

Many thanks for your recent feedback on your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was a pleasure to read how you found our hotel 'by far the best one' in Belfast. I will certainly be sharing your feedack with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Fitzwilliam, hotel. The location is great, reception staff were lovely and efficient and rooms were luxurious if a bit small. We booked a table at the bar and explained that we would like to have something quick and light to eat with a few drinks before we headed out. There were 10 of us, we sat down at 8pm, 2 HOURS later we were still waiting on the bill!! We ordered a mix of salads, chicken wings, chips, sandwiches etc. 3 dished needed to be sent back, and still not replaced after 20minutes. waited over 15 minutes for one cocktail to arrive, one sticky toffee pudding with tea was ordered, tea arrived and after asking 3 more times! the pudding arrived, 4 coffees were ordered, 2 arrived, 10 minutes later 2 more arrived!! It was a joke, the service or lake of it was so bad all we could do was laugh. But it did put a damper on our one night away, we were given a 30% discount on our bill after complaining but it has put us all off ever staying at this hotel again. I have to say we had a lovely breakfast the following morning in the restaurant and the service was spot on, but please Fitzpatrick get your bar staff up to speed there letting your hotel down badly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda22a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Linda22a

Many thanks for your recent review on your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast. I

was pleased to learn that you found the location great and the reception staff lovely and efficient.I was however extremely disappointed to learn of your bad experience in the bar. I would love to discuss this with you further and kindly ask for you to contact myself directly at the hotel.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
522 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Neither M (my "Better Half") nor I had stayed here before, so on a trip which was a mix of business and pleasure we decided to treat ourselves, influenced (as usual) by Trip Advisor reviews. Our conclusion ? This is a Very Good hotel definitely rating 4*s, but not quite deserving 5 !

After a smooth and pleasant train trip from Dublin, we endured a (mercifully) brief cab-ride from Belfast Central - our Driver was surly, unhelpful with luggage and certainly shouldn't be recruited as an "ambassador" for Belfast hospitality (which happily was otherwise excellent throughout our stay) ! We got a warm welcome at The Fitzwilliam - our immediate impression was that this hotel has a very modern feel to it - perhaps a bit "clinical" ?

Next, to our (de-luxe) room. Travelling to the 4th Floor, we had a short walk down a dark décor but reasonably wide corridor, entering a similarly dark-shaded bedroom. The room itself was fine - two walls of glass, good size, large bed - but wardrobe space was VERY poor, and shelf-space for toiletries etc. in the Bathroom was extremely disappointing. (Whoever did the Bathroom layout also overlooked how easily you could bang your head against the towel-rack but happily no serious damage was done !)

As we had "time to kill" before our Business Function in the evening, we repaired to the ground-floor to order tea & scones. As with many parts of the hotel, this is an area of "hard surfaces" so the raucous "music" at an intrusive volume level was not particularly pleasant, and hardly appreciated by a clientele which to our eyes was most unlikely to look for "disco style" noise in mid-afternoon ! Tea + scones were fine and fairly priced, but unlike most of the staff we met during our stay, the Servers here were not as focused on the customer as they should have been, sadly lapsing into the "talk to each other" trap more frequently than would impress.

We enjoyed a great night at our Function, returning to our Room and surprised at the fact that there had been no "turndown" as we had expected from an hotel which pitches itself at a certain level (for us, the big gain from a "turndown" service is that fresh towels are delivered). Sleep quality was reasonable, but certainly from a 4th Floor perspective, there's quite a bit of traffic noise....

The morning after ? The 2 newspapers we ordered were sitting outside the door as we emerged at 8.30, and we were well-received when we reached the eating area : we were particularly impressed that our "Greeter" asked "have you had Breakfast with us before ?" rather than instantly launching-into a spiel about the Breakfast routine. Décor here is again a question of taste : hard surfaces, quite screamingly red upholstery with (again) hard surfaces - 'sorry, but for us it was a bit "café like" !

The Breakfast itself was good but not great - the fruits / cereals / other items buffet was O.K. but not spectacular, the coffee was just about 1 grade above "instant", but the "cooked" part was quite good. What particularly "jarred" was again the intrusive "music" but above all, for an hotel at this claimed level, the "Do-it-Yourself" toast facility ! Being fair, all of the staff we met were extremely pleasant and attentive (a point we noted throughout our stay at "The Fitzwilliam") but I honestly can't argue with M's assessment to the effect that "Breakfast was quite ordinary"....

Breakfast on the second morning of our stay was slightly better - helped by the attention we got from an absolutely wonderful Server, Patricia - personable, helpful, effective, no-nonsense - plus the fact that the crazy intrusive "music" had apparently been turned-off !

As we moved towards our departure from "The Fitzwilliam", having listed reasons why the hotel does not, in our view, merit a 5* rating, we also reflected on significant "positives" and decided they mainly revolved around staff. In the main, all staff were friendly and attentive - we were especially impressed by Catriona (great problem-solver !) and Melissa on Reception, and a young Concierge called Philip, and the Accommodation (Housekeeping) staff we dealt with were great !

Would we come back to "The Fitzwilliam" ? Possibly - and if we did, it would be because of the positive effort of the staff members we came across on our most recent visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are less likely to suffer from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooner10_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Gooner10_8

Many thanks for your recent review regarding your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how you found the staff 'extremely pleasant and attentive'. All feedback is extremely valuable and has been shared with the team here at the hotel and in particular the names which you mentioned.

Thank you for your time and consideration and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Went here with 4 friends, my auntie and my mum for my 21st birthday, we did a cocktail masterclass. It was amazing! We were given a private room on the 9th floor with views all over Belfast. Dave, the bartender looking after us, was friendly, funny and brilliant. We got lots of info on the history of cocktails and made our own, we had great fun. Afterwards we were given free cocktail passes to take down to the bar, which was a great added extra. We also had a small snack, which was beautiful duck rolls and bruschetta. Couldn't beat it, was a fantastic 21st birthday!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Kerry W

Many thanks for your recent review regarding your birthday celebration at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was a pleasure to read how you enjoyed your cocktail masterclass and especially Dave who was looking after you all. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and in particular Dave.

Thank you for your time and consideration and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

One of the best hotels I've been to this year! Decor really nicely done, room a good size, and bed was very comfy. The only downside was funny positioning of the powerpoints (had to hunt for a place to plug in the kettle) and the seal on the shower needed replacing as water tended to spill out all over the bathroom floor.

We ate at the bar one night and food was good an reasonably priced, service friendly.

Hotel is conveniently located for city tour buses and Giant's Causeway tour. Overall a really great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWong84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear KWong84

Thank you for the kind review regarding your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how we are one of the best hotels you have been to this year and how highly you rated our service. I will certainly be passing your feedback on to the team here at the hotel.

I thank you for your time and consideration and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,162 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,441 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing