We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick St John
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay in a great location”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed 2 nights in The Fitzwilliam and was impressed. Check in was efficient and friendly and I had a room on the 6th floor. It did look straight across into another hotel room so I kept the curtains closed in the evenings. Like a previous reviewer, the room was cold on arrival. I decided to make a hot drink to warm me up, the selection was a bit limited (no hot chocolate) and no biscuits - and the only place I could find to plug in the kettle's tiny lead was the bedside table. They were my only niggles. The bathroom was great, the bed large and comfortable, the free Wi-Fi was good and the digital radio a nice extra on top of the television.
The location is very good with stacks of good restaurants close by. Breakfast service was good and again very friendly.
The Concierge was extremely helpful too and I do hope that I'll be able to stay at The Fitzwilliam again sometime.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttitudeAdjuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear AttitudeAdjuster

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I was very pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay including the service, the breakfast and the location.

I will share your comments with the rest of the team here and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,819
    740
    260
    96
    55
See reviews for
317
1,562
122
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Clare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast ticks all the boxes from modern, well run and lovely friendly efficient staff - concierge/security, reception staff, accommodation staff, restaurant staff.
Everything is easy & relaxed.
The decor gorgeous and the rooms are really lovely - loved the mustard coloured sofa - my view was from 7th floor and was really lovely of a historical building and the hills in the background.
The location of this hotel is extremely central - close to all great shops.Loved Karen Millen boutique.
Valet parking is available so just pull in anywhere outside hotel or Opera House and the lovely concierge will park your car securelyaround the back and you can simply forget about the car and walk around the lovely centre. You may miss the hotel as the outside signage is easily missable. I recognised the F on the top of the building from their website but that was it - there is a sign over the door but I had driven by it before I realised - busy area.
The Crown Bar is nearby - fab - as is Howard Street Restaurant & Flame Restaurant. Definitely visit the Titanic & St Anne's Cathedral Square with lovely cafes & restaurants.
I would definitely go back to belfast and this hotel.
Enjoyed my in room movies and a luxurious bath with seperate huge rain shower.
Loved every second of my holiday - oops business trip - felt like a treat.
Only one tiny thing - corridors are very dark but I loved the mirrored doors.
Restaurant has no views or windows - so closed in feeling but Breakfast is great - vegetarian fry up with potatoe bread yummy.
Loved this hotel and area.
Thank you to all - 2 wonderful nights while working at Holiday World Show in Kings Hall (15 minute drive).

Room Tip: Higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoibhinncork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Aoibhinncork

Many thanks for your recent review and feedback on your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how highly you appreciated the service from our team, the decor and the location. I will be sure to share your appreciation with the team here at the hotel.

We look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on a recent business trip. I usually stay in the Radisson or Malmaison so this was a first for me.

From the outside it doesn't look like much, it has no grand entrance like the Europa a couple of doors down but when you get inside it does pack a punch! Very modern and decorated beautifully. The staff were friendly and helpful too.

THe rooms were high and comfortable, very very clean too and excellent tea/coffee facilities. The king size beds were actually proper beds not 2 singles thrown together like many hotels so I had 3 amazing nights sleep.

Breakfast was exceptional also.

Location is excellent, less than a 5 minute walk to City Hall.

I will request this hotel for my next business trip, highly recommend this, probably my favourite Belfast hotel next to the Europa!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat_Orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Kat_Orr

Many thanks for your recent review regarding your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed the experience and especially the breakfast, the room and the location. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to the hotel!

Kindest Regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portadown
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

warmly welcomed, friendly staff and very helpful. reception area was fabulous, great lightening and a lovely open fire to sit infront of and relax. the room was luxury, high standard held. no damages to anything, perfect condition carpet, sofa and curtains. Bed was huge and very comfortable. the bathroom was spotless and the bath was great. I enjoyed the large bath, very relaxing and my partner loved the powerful shower. Great hotel would defiantly stay again, worth the prices that you pay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear megan b

Many thanks for your lovely review regarding your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was a pleasure to read how you found the staff friendly and helpful. I was also pleased to read how you found the room luxurious, of a high standard and very relaxing. I will certainly be sharing your comments with the team here at the hotel.

I thank you for your time and consideration and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stay in the Fitzwilliam on a regular basis for business trips and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Belfast for business or pleasure.

On arrival, the staff at the front desk are always extremely friendly and helpful, and the rooms are always spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and never disappoints, and both the restaurant and bar menus are always delicious.

The location is perfectly situated for walking to the shops, restaurants, and bars, and incredibly easy to find! The sightseeing bus tour starts from literally a 2 minute walk away and drops you off right back at the hotel.

There are a couple of minor reasons for giving this 4 stars instead of five. The Fitzwilliam are very inconsistent in what you get in your room. Sometimes you get complimentary water, sometimes noe. It's the same with robes and slippers. The decor, although nice, is very dark, and the last thing is that if you are on the lower floors, traffic noise can be an issue if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EthereaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Ethereal

Many thanks for your recent review and continued business here at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It is a pleasure to read how you find the Reception Staff 'always extremely friendly and helpful'. I am also pleased to read how you enjoy our restaurant and bar menus and love the location.

I was disappointed to read that there have been inconsistencies with regards items in your room and for this I apologies. I can understand how frustrating this can be and can assure you that this is an area that we are focusing on at the moment.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay,

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Booked family in for Christmas 2 day special with full works. Christmas morning saw a stocking hanging on the door with some nice goodies. Nice touch! Restaurant manager remembered our names from night before and greeted us with a warm 'good morning'. Breakfast choice very good and cooked fresh to order. Christmas dinner was special and we never felt rushed. Evening Buffett was well presented and tasty (but still full up from our Christmas dinner). The hotel did a great job at looking after us. Only observation was that it was difficult to get near the open fire with other guests who had the same idea as us. A fireplace in the lounge would have given an even warmer feel to the place. Overall a very nice stay for those who don't have Christmas booked with relatives or who wish to meet up with family without the hassle of all the cooking!

Room Tip: Front rooms best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floatmyboat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Floatmyboat2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your Christmas stay here at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the experience including the breakfast, service from our Managment and staff and the food overall. I am also pleased to read that you appreciated our stockings on the bedroom doors on Christmas morning. I will certainly be sharing your comments with the team here at the hotel.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Spent 2 days in this hotel as part of birthday celebrations, 1thing I would add that would have been nice would have been if a glass of wine/champers for celebration from hotel. Otherwise our stay was lovely. Rooms gorgeous and shout out too excellent polish barman that knew his cocktails!!!! Worth going for this experience:)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gez171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Gez171

Thank you for your recent review on your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how you found the room lovely and how you found Greg in the bar excellent. Apologies that we failed to recognise your birthday and can assure you that your comments have been shared with the team here at the hotel.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,179 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing