We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding night stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed with my wife on our wedding night in the hotel. We had agreed with a member of staff for 3 rooms for our stay to accommodate our parents also. Being New Years eve you would think there would be some entertainment in the hotel or a good atmosphere. We were sadly disappointed. Also the fact that we turned up in our wedding clothes and received absolutely no acknowledgement of the day either from staff or in our room was also disappointing. Our room in fairness was very nice but my parents complained that the smell coming from there toilet was intolerable. On complaining to the management we received half my parents rooms fee back. The money was not important as the memory was tainted. The breakfast was adequate and basic. Overall this hotel lacks personal touch or great customer service. Best avoided if you like a warm friendly welcome and treatment.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    690
    243
    93
    54
See reviews for
269
1,434
115
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night over Easter. Having read great reviews my expectations were high but the hotel didn't live up to them. The room was a lovely design but had red marks on the carpet and other housekeeping issues. We chose to pay £17 for the secure parking but the procedure was not clear on arrival and there is very limited waiting area. The food in the restaurant was mediocre and we had to wait a very long time for desert. The door handle was missing from the inner stairwell, so having walked down the stairs we couldn't get out at the other end. Whilst these are all quite minor issues, standards should be higher in such an expensive hotel.
On the positive side I would agree that the staff are incredibly friendly, and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here on a weekend break in December 2013. The room was very nice but it's not swish or luxurious, more business than luxury. It's far from my usual idea of boutique, although they are getting at something like boutique with some of the styling. To be honest, it was fine as far as hotel rooms go, although the bathroom products and occasional scruffy finished did irritate me.

You will stay here for a)location (fab and with a fairly priced car park down the road) and b) a brilliant night sleep thanks to the very comfortable bed, good linen and amazing blackouts c)service (northern ireland hospitality is great, truly service with a smile).

We didn't eat here-we went for brunch to a fab cafe near the Botanic Gardens.

Room Tip: didn't hear a whisper from anywhere once we were ensconced in our room high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank logrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

i had the pleasure of staying in the Fitzwilliam hotel on the 25th and the26th april 2014 on arrival we were met with a concierge of the highest standard who was most helpful and ever so polite as was all the staff and the rooms were spotless with all the home comforts and the hotel is in the heart of Belfast close to all amenities and city hall i will definately be back

Room Tip: look for a side facing room it looks out onto main st great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely two night stay for the bank holiday weekend. Our room was spotless, staff were very friendly, location was excellent and I loved the modern design. Only thing was our bathroom door didn't lock or close proper and we got given coffee for a filter coffee machine but there was no coffee machine in the room? Didn't bother saying these things to staff though so may possibly have been fixed if we had. Would stay again anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaraciaraciara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Fitzwilliam for our wedding Anniversary (we got upgraded because it was our Anniversary) can not fault this hotel at all! Rooms are amazing as are the staff & food. Location is perfect. Can't wait to go back in the future :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skawina, Poland
Level Contributor
333 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Fitzwilliam is a very good hotel in a good location in Belfast. The public areas are stylish and the rooms are very well equipped and nicely comfortable. Staff are very efficient. Breakfast was good the only complaint I would make is that tea really should be made with boiling water.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
1,110 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
2,370 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
1,452 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing