We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Down...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Let Down...”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My partner booked us a night in this hotel as present for me as I'd always wanted to stay here. Well in short I won't be back!! A very basic double room, torn curtains, the window wouldn't close properly and the furniture was all chipped. Although this hotel is fairly new the room was tired and in need of some TLC. The worst thing for us was a rather unpleasant smell that came from the bathroom! Not what you would expect for the price that we paid. Breakfast was just ok, tables very close together and food took a long time to come. There are much better hotels in Belfast which won't cost anywhere near as much.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 29jan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    760
    266
    98
    57
See reviews for
339
1,619
125
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with one of the girls what a lovely hotel . Hotel staff really nice and very welcoming on arrival. Rooms are very modern nice and comfortable . Overall really enjoyed by stay here very good hotel . Would defiantly stay here again ..

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

While a beautiful hotel and done up very, very modern, hotel had some serious drawbacks. Before I checked in with friend, I requested two single beds. Instead I was given one with a single bed in a room that was clearly for handicapped accessible. A tiny, low sink and shower stall for person who needs to sit. (Nice that they have it, but unpleasant for us) almost no place for our toiletries. Useless for two adults.
Room was on second floor overlooking an alley so we couldn't open an window.
Room itself had no place to open one suitcase, let alone two. Also, clearly the air conditioning wasn't working and the room remained hot and stuffy despite being told it would 'eventually' cool down by very young night manager. This manager on duty was almost useless. Refused to help us in getting at least an adequate room. His attitude seemed to be 'tough'! Finally a tour operator intervened and he gave us his room, though we had to have a cot put in for me since his room was for one. He didn't seem to mind, but I felt bad that my comfort was at the expense of another guest.
I did hear other guests complain about same issues, but can't speak to that.
Young staff were very nice, but some were far to young for their jobs.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I traveled to Belfast with my wife, for my birthday and for valentines which is also on my birthday. We had planned a tour of Ireland and felt that Belfast would be ideal to start. The hotel staff were very attentive and nothing seemed a problem or issue. The Hotel has a modern decor and is very comfortable. The rooms are well layed out with very comfortable beds. Overall a most pleasing stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our family took 4 rooms here for the bank holiday weekend. We had a room with a travel cot and the parents were more than pleased with it. All rooms were clean and more than adequate. I would say, easily 4 stars on an international level. Tea and coffee facilities a lovely addition. Bathroom washbasin could have done with more space around it for toiletries, but not a big negative for 2 to 3 night stay. Excellent price for the room. Common areas very clean. Check in staff very polite and helpful and efficient. Concierge services excellent. Breakfast as good as any. I would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Our room looked out on a not too interesting street but it was quiet. We paid slightly more for a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the moment we stepped through the doors we were given excellent Service from Declan the concierge who made our stay at the Hotel very memorable with his knowledge and helpful advice.

The rooms were good sized, well equipped, clean with a large bathroom with separate bath and walk in shower. Very comfortable beds we had a good nights sleep during our stay.

The breakfast is well worth having. Location is perfect for restaurants and local attraction around Belfast.

We will definitely use this Hotel again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 921777jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is of a good location in the city centre the only problem is the noise level from the busy road beside! But other than that the rooms are lovely with all the necessities you need and friendly staff! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Channy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,203 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,503 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#17 of 45 in Belfast
2,883 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing