We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed one night last week. Check in and out very good. Lunch lovely. Staff at reception ordered a taxi for us to the cliff Richard concert. Very quick. Security very good in the hotel. I would recommend this hotel for its cleanliness friendliness and convenient to all the shops.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alila60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,804 - 1,810 of 3,227 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Hidden fees for using any amenities are not listed and not worth it. Got charged 10 pounds for an unlisted room service fee which seems ridiculous to me, on top of other fees. Staff were not knowledgable regarding directions or recommendations. Walls are pretty thin, I was woken up early on a weekend. Rooms are nice and the location is decent, but it's not that much of a value, and the fees are horrible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent one night in Belfast at the Fitzwilliam Hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Philip at the concierge desk. Our room was comfortable and the bath was roomy and well appointed. We ate lunch and breakfast at the hotel and the food was very good. The Belfast hop on hop off bus stops across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My partner booked us a night in this hotel as present for me as I'd always wanted to stay here. Well in short I won't be back!! A very basic double room, torn curtains, the window wouldn't close properly and the furniture was all chipped. Although this hotel is fairly new the room was tired and in need of some TLC. The worst thing for us was a rather unpleasant smell that came from the bathroom! Not what you would expect for the price that we paid. Breakfast was just ok, tables very close together and food took a long time to come. There are much better hotels in Belfast which won't cost anywhere near as much.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 29jan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with one of the girls what a lovely hotel . Hotel staff really nice and very welcoming on arrival. Rooms are very modern nice and comfortable . Overall really enjoyed by stay here very good hotel . Would defiantly stay here again ..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

While a beautiful hotel and done up very, very modern, hotel had some serious drawbacks. Before I checked in with friend, I requested two single beds. Instead I was given one with a single bed in a room that was clearly for handicapped accessible. A tiny, low sink and shower stall for person who needs to sit. (Nice that they have it, but unpleasant for us) almost no place for our toiletries. Useless for two adults.
Room was on second floor overlooking an alley so we couldn't open an window.
Room itself had no place to open one suitcase, let alone two. Also, clearly the air conditioning wasn't working and the room remained hot and stuffy despite being told it would 'eventually' cool down by very young night manager. This manager on duty was almost useless. Refused to help us in getting at least an adequate room. His attitude seemed to be 'tough'! Finally a tour operator intervened and he gave us his room, though we had to have a cot put in for me since his room was for one. He didn't seem to mind, but I felt bad that my comfort was at the expense of another guest.
I did hear other guests complain about same issues, but can't speak to that.
Young staff were very nice, but some were far to young for their jobs.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I traveled to Belfast with my wife, for my birthday and for valentines which is also on my birthday. We had planned a tour of Ireland and felt that Belfast would be ideal to start. The hotel staff were very attentive and nothing seemed a problem or issue. The Hotel has a modern decor and is very comfortable. The rooms are well layed out with very comfortable beds. Overall a most pleasing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,257 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#16 of 45 in Belfast
2,998 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 45 in Belfast
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £129 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing