We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Spent a weekend here and found it to be completely over-priced. Equivalent to 550 euro for two nights B & B and just not worth that money.

On the positives, the staff are nice and friendly.

The breakfast was fine, nothing special. Scrambled eggs seem to have been powdered eggs.

The corridors are really dark, the bathroom is entirely black, poorly lit and there is no shelf to put anything on, the room itself is ok but also quite dark. I was woken up the first morning by the TV from the next door room so walls are pretty thin.

The bar is soulless and completely lacking in atmosphere.

I understand the hotel doesn't have a star rating though another reviewer mentioned that it was 5 stars. It's not though their prices are. At best, I'd give it 3 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranardDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,064 - 2,070 of 3,497 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great conference venue located centrally in Belfast. The conference rooms were a little tight but ideal for up to 25 delegates. Staff were friendly and helpful and food was very good. Rooms were very well furnished and decorated to a high standard. Overall great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A9J5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Mt wife and I were upgraded upon arrival to a studio suite, which was absolutely spectacular. (I'm guessing the upgrade was because I've stayed in Preferred Hotels before but don't really know.) We loved the huge floor-to-ceiling window, the enormous shower for two, and twin sinks, all artfully presented in the most comfortable green and black palate. The breakfast buffet was great, and the concierge was superb. We would happily return.

Room Tip: Studio suites on floor 8 are superb if you can afford them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just would like to thank the lovely friendly and helpful staff at the fitzwilliam hotel Belfast . My husband and I spent a night in it we were at the opera house . It's classed as a five star and that it is. The service is second to none , we would just like to thank you all for making our night special. Very satisfied customers would highly recommend

Room Tip: Sorry we didn't get to the spa so can't comment . They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank memcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed in studio suite with floor to ceiling views of city. Stunning room with extra large wet room and free standing bath. The staff were warm, friendly and good fun. Valet Duncan especially professional and pleasant. We ordered breakfast to the room and it was a feast of quality food. We ate in the restaurant, staff were efficient and provided a good service my only qualm was the menu and food were a bit bland. But over all a fab stay in lap of luxury.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shivers C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great location within Belfast Centre, close to bars and restaurants with easy access to the motorways. Nice hotel, a bit dark in the corridor to the rooms but the rooms were very comfortable. Nice bar downstairs, we had a car so used the valet service which was £17 a day. Overall was great and would stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a junior suite. Room was a good size with fantastic views and a standalone bath and separate shower and wet room. The stereo was poor. The hotels could tune in a few good radio stations for you!
Food in the hotel was good. Ate in the restaurant for dinner on one night and was a very good meal. Breakfast had a great selection of hot and cold foods. Room wasn't cleaned until after 6 one night which was a real disappointment and the bottles of water were not refreshed. For £250 plus a night I would have expected better. The concierge staff were the heart and soul of the hotel. Great advise on where to eat and go out. The bar staff could learn from them. Would recommend and will stay again next time we are staying in Belfast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Justbeenhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 47 in Belfast
2,648 reviews
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 47 in Belfast
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#26 of 47 in Belfast
1,461 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#6 of 47 in Belfast
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £111 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing