We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed in Belfast? Certainly the best breakfast in Ulster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best bed in Belfast? Certainly the best breakfast in Ulster”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great place to stay in centre of Belfast. A great city improving all the time! Hotel is well located close to all city centre attractions. Staff friendly and welcoming. Public areas attractive and well laid out. Rooms fantastic quality with super beds! Bathrooms superb. Bar is well-stocked and with good selection of snack food.
Breakfast is fantastic. All local produce. Unbelievable bacon and sausage! Don't miss this...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catd400d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,765
    732
    257
    95
    55
See reviews for
303
1,528
120
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from a three night stay in The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Belfast. It definitely receives a thumbs up from me. This was both my husband and I first time in Belfast and I think this hotel helped to make it a great break away. The Fitzwilliam Hotel, is in a great location. The check in went without a hitch and the valet parking is a bonus, no stressful parking :-). We had a room located on the 7th floor with a view of the city. Usually we stay in more country style hotels and although this is definitely not a "country style" hotel it's fabulous. The hotel is a trendy style hotel and on first glance in the rooms I thought the decor was a bit alternative - black white and mustard!!! But actually the rooms are gorgeous and the shower is absolutely fab. The hotel was super busy but at night no noise can be heard in the rooms so sleep is not a problem.

The food in the bar is very tasty and we can recommend it enough. Another gem in this hotel - the cocktails :-), very tasty and the bar staff are brilliant. I would have loved to have stayed longer and if i ever go back to Belfast will definitely be staying with The Fitzwilliam again.

A special mention to Reception and particularly Jara - her restaurant recommendation was excellent. She also was exceptionally helpful with anything and everything. :-)

Room Tip: Room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandRickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a good hotel for a weekend break in Belfast. Check in was quick and friendly. The room was ready early and they gave us a quiet room as requested at time of booking. Modern decor. Hotel is centrally located.

Service in the bar was good but the bar itself is a little lacking in atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room 417 was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPDubIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Started our 2 cities family tour of Ireland here. Chose hotel as they were offering a 3 night deal and as we needed 2 rooms it appealed. Beautiful large rooms, super king beds, very quiet no noise from other rooms. Great location we walked to the titanic museum which was fantastic ( see review) and took about 1/2hour. Had breakfast in the hotel on the morning we had a black cab tour and whilst not cheap was of a great standard. Cafe in the spires shopping centre at a fraction of the price. Reception friendly and helpful, bar expensive but all hotel bars are. lots of shopping plus a cinema within a 10 minute walk. Lovely meal out at Made in Belfast.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpees4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I would recommend the Fitzwilliam to anyone. A modern hotel with large comfortable beds in clean well equipped rooms. We heard very little street noise or noise from hallways/adjoining rooms etc. all at a reasonable price considering it is a city centre hotel (convenient to local transport services and the Opera House), I will be using it again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sapper501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of our "minimoon". Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were spotless and the breakfasts were brilliant! Can't fault the place at all! Make sure to show your bill when paying for parking to get a slight discount!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently for our anniversary. The room was fine, staff friendly and location great but we were hoping to eat dinner in the restaurant. We arrived about 3 minutes late and after the maitre d' asked the chef we were told we were too late. We explained that we were guests at the hotel but it was a flat no! Disappointed to say the least!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennylovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,165 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,440 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing