We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels i've stayed in!!! EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I travel quite a lot and have been lucky enough to stay in many 5 star hotels around the world! id rank this hotel top of the list!
Check out was so fast! Girl on the desk was very friendly and so helpful, I got Valet Parking £15 per night - the mccauseland car park across the street is £11 per night but id prefer my car to be on site!
I stayed in a Deluxe king room booked through the hotel £155 for 1 night! the room was gorgeous with a corner view overlooking the city and Divis mountain, and it really wasnt that noisy for being right in the heart of belfast!
id deffinately recommend this hotel to anyone it was fantastic, bed was really comfy too! ive not one complaint!!! LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumdumdedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,101 - 3,107 of 3,210 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2009

Stayed in this hotel on a two night dinner B&B rate. The staff were very friendly. The girls on reception were very helpful. On check out, we enquired about the Black Taxi Tour, and after deciding to do the tour, the concierge had a Black Taxi outside waiting for us within 10 minutes (very well worth it). We had a great night in Robinsons pub across the road where there was live music playing. However the hotel was extremely quiet, with very few other residents

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights the August bank holiday weekend as I was going to the UTV country music fest. Had been to Belfast before and stayed elsewhere and after staying at the Fitzwilliam will never stay at another hotel in Belfast. The rooms were spotless and luxurious and the bed you would die in its that comfortable.

Had room service on both nights quite late and the staff were more than happy to attend to us with a smile. Reception staff were so friendly and helpful I asked for directions and one of the girls printed me a map.

The valet parking was an added expense but our bags were carried in and out to the car and I forgot something and the valet got it and delivered to our room. The design of the bar is beautiful and the halways are fabulous too.

All in all its 5 star all round and worth every penny we spent!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WELLTRAVELED29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed here for my birthday for 2 nights on the 1st and 2 of August.Hotel very easy to find read a lot about parking but we just parked on the footpath which is very wide and unloaded our car.Here is my opions on the hotel some good point and some negative points.

Car Park:We did not book out car in the carpark so it was full parked accross the road which was £11 for the day.The Hotel car park turned out to be £15 for the day as we moved it for the sunday.So i would use either again i thought the hotel car park was very expensive as you are already paying for the room.

Rooms:These were very very nice with everything you could want in them.If you are a light sleeper the church bell might annoy you in the morning as it rings every 15 mins.Also found that the A/C could have worked a little bit better but then i like my bedroom very very cold.Bathroom was lovely shower everything was great.On the satuday night that we stayed there was a turn down service and towels ect changed but they turned off the A/C in our room.No turn down service on the sunday night or change of towles,if they are going to do this they should do it very night and not just the oone night.For a 5 star hotel this should be done every night.Stay away form the bar in the bedrom a can of diet coke was £3.50 and a btl of beer £4.50.

Food:olny ate brekfast there as we were olny room olny the brekfast was £15.00 for continental and £19 for full irish this was a bit expensive i do not mind paying if things are nice but to me this is a rip off. so olny had brekfast one night did not eat dinner there as i am sure it would have been more expensive.

Staff were very helpful and could not do ennough for you.

the bar was very nice but the drink was expensive but then that was the way it is in belfast and you get a smaller btl than we get in southeren Ireland.

We also did the Black taxi tour which was very nice and would recommen that you do it.

We ate in 2 restraunt Tony Roma and Villia Itialia both were very nice and a good price.

Overall i enjoyed my stay and would go back again.On thing the Fitzwilliam is a member if the I Prefer club but when i handed in my card at check in they did not know anything about it.As a member we were entilited a tour of the city but did not rescive it also we were entililited to a free upgrade but did not rescive it i know that it was not availaible on the sat night but we were not offered it on the sunday.Hotel should not have these offers if they do not know about them in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irelandladyluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

everything about this hotel is magnificent. very centrally situated the delights of belfast are on your doorstep. the hotel truly deserves its 5* rating. from the moment we arrived the staff were more than accomodating. the room was very spacious and the bed was very very comfortable. the hotel bar was very modern and a pleasure to drink in. my wife and i did not eat in the hotel, choosng instead to sample a restaurant in town. i phoned reception who telephoned a taxi for us and it was waiting outside the hotel to take us to our restaurant. whether your stay is for one night or more, you will definitely not be disappointed with the fitzwilliam hotel - i will definitely be booking again

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baz1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I would throughly recommend the Fitzwilliam if visiting Belfast. Their own website seems to be the best place to book - £148 DBB excellent value. The decor is very modern and very cool while being extremely comfortable. The food is top quality. But what really makes this hotel stand out is the genuine friendliness of the staff.
If I could change anything about our stay in the Fitzwilliam it would be that we could have opened the window in our bedroom - constant airconditioning is not good for anyone - but the architect doesn't seem to have taken this into consideration which is a great pity in what is otherwise an almost perfect place to stay in Belfast.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollonemptynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I just returned from 2 nights in the Fitzwilliam Hotel and wow this hotel is very impressive.

ROOMS:

The rooms have a lovely design with up-to-date features like lcd tv, very comfortable bed & lovely sunken bath and huge shower. The colour scheme in the rooms of black and gold is beautiful.

SERVICE:

The hotel really excels in this area. Reception staff, conceirge are all very welcoming, friendly and will do anything to make your stay more pleasant. Little touches like staff remembering your name, room number is lovely to see.

HOTEL BAR:

I don't usually go on about hotel bars as they are usually boring but the Fitzwilliam had a great atmosphere, great food and not a rip off. I really recommend weither you stay in the hotel or are in belfast to check it out and enjoy it. The residents bar doesn't close so technically you can have drinks at any hour of the day/night!

LOCATION:

Great location right beside the Opera House, only 2 mins walk from City Hall and 5 mins from the shopping district and importantly all the tour buses go from Jurys Inn next door so very handy.

THINGS TO SEE/DO:

I highly recommend the Black cab tours you can take around belfast. Absolutely brilliant. Our driver Nigel was soo enthuasiastic, helpful and brought us around for 4 and a half hours with tons of local knowledge. Very very insightful and one of the highlights of the trip! He even recommended a couple of great restaurants and pubs to visit!

OVERALL:

Brilliant hotel, lovely city and great value!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maver1ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,252 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#16 of 45 in Belfast
2,992 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 45 in Belfast
2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £131 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing