We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as flash as they think they are”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as flash as they think they are”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This hotel has some good points, being centrally located with rooms identical to those advertised and a beautiful lobby equipped with a fire place and small library.
However, it is extremely over priced for the services it provides. Parking is 17 pound a day and offered as "the best option" when the car park across the road charges 5 pound/night.
Breakfast, if not included in the room rate is absurdly expensive and consists only of a meagre cereal buffet while all hot food must be ordered of which portions are miniscule. Even toast is served - unappetisingly cold and burnt.
Room was pleasant although nothing spectacular - no hot chocolate or biscuits but a coffee plunger was provided. Air conditioning didn't work.
Exercise facilities are very limited for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooki481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    731
    256
    95
    55
See reviews for
301
1,520
120
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Could walk to every were have stayed in lots of city hotels and this has to be one of the best i left feeling i had made a fab choice this says it all

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2010

we had an unexpected holiday that left us with the choice of staying in ireland so we decided on belfast. lots of hotels to choose from but after staying in the Fitzwilliam in Dublin only 6months previous to this time we thought we would give it a try. we stayed monday to friday. alot cheaper than its Dublin counterpart and just as fancy. we arrived early as we got the train from Dublin. hotel is just 100m or so from Great Victoria Station. very handy and situated right beside the Grand Opera House, as we were going to a show, it couldnt have been better located. They took our bags and showed use to the bar while they speeded up the room for us. which was only 30 mins wait... nice trendy bar so we were in no rush to move. 2 drinks later we made for the room. Very Nice! nicely designed... Black, White and Lime Green (sounds weird but expected from Such a Hotel as the Fitzwilliam) big soft beds, nice size bath (not really for 2, we soon found out) shower amazing, lovely bath robes and slippers(still have a pair) everything you expect from a high level hotel. would definatly recommend this place to stay for business or pleasure. its right beside Deanes restaurant and has a thorntons part of the hotel but no where near its big brother restaurant in Dublin. love this place and will stay again when go back to belfast

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petitpaddychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Couldn't fault this hotel - location, cost, service, comfort - all outstanding and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The whole atmosphere of this hotel is quiet efficiency, making the stay a very relaxing experience. Room was wonderful, staff absolutely great. Food excellent. Location central, near shops, opera house and access to tours etc. A very enjoyable 4 night stay. Staff organised hire cars, parking, eating, etc without any hassle. All very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janner42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We arrived at 9.30am, on arriving at reception I asked if they could store our bags as aware that checkin was not until 2pm. The lovely receptionist kindly let us checkin early....bonus for us as we got to go and explore this wonderful city !
Rooms are fantastic, love the walk in shower (tempted to get one for my home !)- unfortunately as only there for one night did not get to use the fabulous bath !
Did not eat in the hotel but was in the residents bar after our night out, very friendly staff. Decor of the hotel is amazing - just love it and want to go back again soon !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofieyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I agree with most of the other positive comments about service, location and style.

I had the best Cosmopolitan I have ever had (and I've had a few), expertly mixed by the young barman from Enniskillen (didn't get his name) who even showed me his secret trick with the orange peel and the cigarette lighter.

Staff took their jobs seriously and we appreciated their professionalism.

The buffet table at breakfast was a bit nursery-like with its array of cereals and milky products and I felt that the fruit salad focused too much on apples and lacked any real interest either in taste or in presentation. The cooked breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salmoncooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,161 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,439 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing