We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big improvement”
Review of Cafe Conor

Cafe Conor
Ranked #96 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are open from breakfast till late and have numerous delicious modern European dishes to choose.From original comfort foods and classic dishes, there will be something for everyone. We are known in Belfast for delivering the best from tasty homemade snacks to hearty evening meals. Our unusual high-ceilinged room is brightened with the natural light from the lantern roof and was originally the studio of local artist William Conor (1944-1954).
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big improvement”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After a disappointing visit over three months ago decided to return for a light "tea". Pleasantly surprised - new improved menu, a couple of very pleasant, helpful efficient young waiters and, food much more appetising.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marigold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    107
    39
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty food, cool decor”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had lunch here with my fiancé for a special treat. Food and service were excellent, we both really enjoyed our lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caoimhe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Evening chat over dinner”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I ate here with a friend this evening. We enjoyed our meal - we both ate from the specials menu which included three choices - I had the steak and my friend the Thai chicken curry. We both also had desserts. Food was tasty - portions a good size for me but not as huge as is common elsewhere. Service was friendly although leisurely. There was another large group at a nearby table which meant that it was very noisy.
I would recommend for a nice early evening meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What has happened to Conor!!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have been regulars here since it opened nearly 20 years ago, but that will change unless it improves! just had lunch! which was soooo disappointing. £9.95 for 4 small chicken skewers and a handful of leaves, £9 for a burger and £9 for 3 small tapas!! we always loved the atmosphere and fresh lovely selection of starters and mains. Now the menu is very limited, portions more like starters and burger bought in! Service was still fairly good, and the Manager was concerned that we weren't happy with the new menu, so at least they took on board our feedback, whether anything happens, well we probably won't be back to see for some time. They have concentrated on having a great name for Breakfast recently, I believe they have forgotten the rest! They are so many other new eateries now in Belfast that we will give them a go for a while and make our comparisons. Very disappointed that our favourite haunt has gone down so much in our estimations but here's hoping they can rescue themselves without relying on the name if Ulster Rugby players. Sorry Conor but it had to be said!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A beautiful light airy cafe/restaurant well located beside Ulster Museum. I have visited regularly when in Belfast and the breakfasts are excellent. Try the Clonakilty black pudding! Very popular venue with locals and tourists alike. Very limited outdoor seating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Conor also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Cafe Conor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing