We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic short break”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We a family of 7 stopped here for two nights, we went to a sporting event at the odyssey. The hotel is in the city center and about 10/15 minute walk to the odyssey. Lots of bars restaurants nearby. We arrived at 8.30 am after an early flight. We pre warned the hotel and they said they would look after our luggage on arrival. In fact the three rooms were available and we checked in early at no extra cost. We paid £29 a night, excellent value for money. We had the meal deal for £22 which included breakfast a 3 course evening meal with a drink. We had some special meal requirements, no problem at all, the meals were all cooked well including the steak. All the staff are very helpful and accommodating with requests. I have never stayed in a Premier Inn before but I shall be returning. Belfast is a great city. We did the sight seeing tour and all of us aged 8 to 69 enjoyed it thoroughly.
The only negative is the bathroom light, if it is switched on the then room light comes on as well. Not so great if you get up in the night or get up early. Very difficult not to disturb others in your room. Not so easy to use the bathroom in the dark.
Overall great location, excellent value for money and fantastic customer service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blazefan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    701
    139
    50
    37
See reviews for
511
775
110
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

stayed here last night for a night out in town - once again staff were excellent and so helpful - rooms are quiet and so central - have stayed here a few times now and having also stayed in many other hotels in belfast this would most certainly be my number one choice for a cheap overnight getaway - lovely relaxing bar as well!!!

Room Tip: opt for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Suppose being from Belfast should tell others a wee bit about the place. Belfast is a great place to go out and socialize! I have travelled a bit and don't know a better city for good bars and reasonable priced restaurants..and I don't mean the cheap bargin food type you get in mainland uk. These are proper restaurants, privatley owned and superb food.

My wife and I would stay in the city often for a night out and thats were Premier Inn's come into play! We now have three...Waring St, Alfred St and Odyssey! (hopefully spelt right) If you book well in advance cheaper than getting taxi home..and no kids to worry about!!

Odyssey is not as central to nightlife city centre but if going to a concert in the Odyssey can't beat!

Alfred St city centre and plenty around...would recommend Zen Restaurant (Japanese) right out back door

But best and most central is Waring St (Catherdral Quarter) Plenty of nightlife and bars around. Something special try Muriel's..even with all the knickers hanging off the ceiling!! Restaurant upstairs..not fancy but quirky!!

Enjoy Belfast!!

Room Tip: All rooms have the guarenteed good night sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Premier Inn in the Cathedral Quarter in Belfast and the customer service at this hotel is excellent. The staff were really friendly and made you so welcome, they could not do enough for us during our stay. As we were arriving on an early flight I contacted the hotel to enquire if they had any luggage facility on site, I was sent an e-mail back promptly explaining they had and if they could be of any further assistance etc. When we arrived to drop our bags off they actually had a room ready and we were able to check in at 8am as opposed to 2pm!!. All the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and cheery!. Upon check out we were able to store our bags and prior to leaving we enquired about the distance to the Europa centre to catch the airport bus, the girl on reception telephoned ulsterbus regarding the timetables and pointed us to a nearer more convinient location just 2 minutes walk away. I will use this hotel again due to the staff we encountered and also it's overall location in the city. Well worth a visit!!

Room Tip: All rooms of similar standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Me, my wife and 2 children booked at Alfred street for 10 nights, but the company decided that few days before our arrival, we were to lodge at this hotel. I booked and paid the price.

As we arrived at this fantastic hotel, we were greeted by the reception that we have to pay again, as our payment to the other hotel was refunded. So I had to pay again, and because of this our Visa was drained, till the refund was processed again. So, for the first two days of our holiday, we had a strict financial situation.

Again, the last day of our stay at this hotel, we were again greeted by the reception that we have to pay again. This time, I was charged 1.5 the rate I've paid upfront.

When I've always complained to the persons behind the counter, all they do is to escape from the real answer.

Regarding the hell the hotel made about my stay in Belfast, I sent a complaint form to the mother company, but I've never received an reply.

So, the motto of " like father, like son" suits well to this company.

To suit their interest, Premier Inn (Whitbread PLC) ruined our holiday.

Thank you so much.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magr0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of and service in all establishments, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Customer Service Team at our Head Office. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at the Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter for a night in December when visiting family over the festive period. I booked online in advance and managed to nab a sale price, so I can't complain about value for money - that was excellent.

The hotel is an office conversion, but is central, conveniently located and comfortable. Check-in was straightforward and the friendly front of house staff were more than happy to provide detailed directions over the phone when we got lost on our way to the third-party car park the hotel recommends (there is no on-site parking at this location).

Room, bar and breakfast were all average, if a little lackluster. Room lighting was a little stark and, if you're sharing a room, one downside is that the bathroom lights control both the lighting in the en-suite and the lights above the bathroom sink (which is in the bedroom itself) - if you're an early riser and your companion's not, you risk being in the bad books!

Bar service was underwhelming with glasses piled up on the bar, tables not cleared quickly and the tills and card machines out of order for most of the evening. Similarly, breakfast was slightly disappointing - a lukewarm, delayed welcome and a slightly tired continental selection.

That said, I booked this hotel for a good night's sleep, which is what I got. Price was excellent and, bearing in mind this is a budget hotel chain, everything else was more than acceptable. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the Belfast (Cathedral Quarter) Premier Inn for three nights between Christmas and New Year 2011. This hotel is in a fantastic location and the value for money was exceptional. The hotel rooms are a good size, very clean and modern. The hotel restaurant is also of good quality with the hotel offer of breakfast and dinner combined a great price. If you fancy a bit of a change the selection of bars and restaurants within walking distance are varied and good.
The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming and this has to be one of the best value for money hotels in the city.
The hotel is in very central and only a short bus ride from the main airport.

Room Tip: Only small issue was a bit of noise from the back of the hotel early in the morning due to bar deliv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C4MYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel
Address: 2-6 Waring Street, Belfast BT1 2DX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#11 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral Quarter was traditionally the home of Belfast's trade associations and warehouses, and still has some of the city's oldest buildings. But a stay at Premier Inn Hotel Belfast Cathedral Quarter puts some distinctly twenty-first century attractions on your doorstep. Come in August and hear some of the latest sounds and bands at the Belsonic Festival. Or December, for a Christmas market that pulls out all the stops. Or in September, for all the fun of over 250 events during Culture Night. Or visit any time of year for world class shopping and fascinating visitor attractions. Then come back to the hotel for mouth-watering food and a lovely comfy bed. Please note, this hotel has showers only. From the M1 or M2 travel along the Westlink to the Grosvenor Road roundabout, signed City Centre. Turn onto Grosvenor Road. At the 2nd set of lights turn left, into right hand lane, follow the road turning right (pass City Hall on right hand side). At the end of Chichester Street turn left onto Victoria Street. Follow Victoria Street through the next 2 sets of traffic lights (Albert Clock is on the right) and take the left into Waring Street. Hotel is 300 yards on the right. This hotel does not have an on site carpark. A Secure Cap Car Park is available nearby at a Fee. Transport and local information: Great Victoris Street Station 0.5 Mile Laganside Bus Station 1 Mile Belfast Zoo 4 Miles Odyssey Arena 1 Mile Queens University of Belfast 2.5 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel Belfast
Belfast Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing