We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food great atmosphere and drinks.”

The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast
Reserve with OpenTable
The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,044 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Irish, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food great atmosphere and drinks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I went with my family (inc 9 year old daughter)for early dinner. Fantastic food great service, brillint childrens menu options. Well worth a visit. It was so good that later the same evening I returned with grown up family to sample the beer and tapas, while they had a meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hipsternickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    742
    285
    84
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“High end Burger restaurant and then some......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you go here expecting a burger joint then you are likely expecting cheap and cheerful It is neither. The menu is so varied that everyone should be able to find something. The staff are efficient and the food is very very good. The price is moderately high, reflecting high end food and service but the atmosphere is relaxed and fun .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tailwind25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch for 4 (including 2 boys)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Great tasty food and friendly staff. Had thought of everything even kid appropriate cutlery and cups.
Great staff.
Recommend highly.

Helpful?
1 Thank BobTheCorkDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great menu and great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Barking Dog is one of my favourite restaurants in Belfast. I have eaten here with family, as a couple, and with friends. I've never been disappointed.

The menu changes regularly and there is always something a little bit different, along with some classic bistro dishes and burgers. I am not a vegetarian, but I have eaten some vegetarian dishes from the menu here and they are delicious! I would certainly recommend it as a restaurant for vegetarians, as a place where the meat-free dishes do not appear like an afterthought on the menu.

For a group I would recommend a selection of the tapas as a starter - I did this recently with friends and thought it was better value and more variety than each ordering a starter. The crispy pork bites with pickled carrot and apple sauce were especially good.

There is a great atmosphere and modern style about the restaurant, and in my experience the staff have been friendly and helpful. Also a great cocktail menu!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingSheep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best burger in Belfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Their burger is to die for. As is the scampi starter. I have docked a star purely because I find the staff a little disingenuously over-friendly - either tone it down a little or improve the training a little to remove the disingenuous element. But don't let that put you off....it is still one of the best restaurants in Belfast!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Coloc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing