We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and disappointing ”
Review of Sonoma Restaurant

Sonoma Restaurant
Ranked #321 of 1,049 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: International and Irish cuisine.
Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive and disappointing ”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Our meal was served cold. Food itself was bland especially the salt and chilli squid starter.service slow and waitresses all seemed in a bad mood and not very experienced! very over rated! Avoid!

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    29
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a meal in the restaurant around 9:30pm. The service was fine but only one member of staff on. The menu seemed to be priced okay when we ordered but when we went to pay we discover the listed price did not include VAT so be carefull! We only had main course due to the time but as a ceoliac i would highly recommend the peppered chicken so tasty which isn't common with gluten free dishes! Overall good food but a tad expensive!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank njbaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“nice restaurant but very quiet”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Food was very nice, staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with regard to non-meat options.

It was a Tuesday evening and there were only a few diners in the whole restaurant. While there might not have been a great deal of atmosphere, the service was great - they even sent a plate of little treats out for one of our party when they heard it was her birthday.

Beware if you are driving as you cannot park outside, even with a disabled badge, as the land is privately owned and you will get clamped. The operators of the enforcement company are extremely rude and very aggressive so beware!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor co down
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“food excellent, service slow”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We visited sonoma at the hilton belfast on a busy saturday evening....we had purchased a travelzoo special voucher.
we felt the service was slow and the whole meal took over 2 hours to complete, with very long waiting between courses. The staff were pleasant enough, however it did not seem like a 5 star establishment.

unfortunately we did not have a table anywhere near the window to look out over the lagan, and were not offered one anyway!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“much, much better this time”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had our second 'dinner for two' in the Sonoma this evening, and what a difference!
The service was so much better this time - thanks to Oliver and Devon - than on our previous visit.
The meal from start to finish was excellent: - we had prawn and salmon salad and venison terrine for starters. Then I had the lamb shank and my husband had salmon with crab and prawn sauce.
For dessert I had the apple and oat crumble, superb! and he had coconut panna cotta with a mango sorbet - delicious. One of the best panna cotta we've ever tasted!
Will we be back?
Definitely.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonoma Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Sonoma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing