We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, great service and good humour!”

Alans Causeway Cafe
Ranked #115 of 1,147 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Irish, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: 2015 - Recently named No.4 (Out of 18 Brilliant Breakfasts in Belfast), in an independent mystery shop. 2015 - OPEN ALL OVER 12TH JULY HOLIDAYS WITH EXTENDED HOURS TO 4PM ON 13TH & 14TH We are Belfast's only exclusively Breakfast and Brunch Restaurant. Offering a huge menu, all at budget prices, of local Northern Irish Fayre, as well as dishes from all around the world. We also hold 5 Stars from Belfast City Council Food & Hygiene. The Causeway Cafe offers the highest levels of food, freshly cooked to order, at budget prices. Our best seller is our 10 Piece Ulster Fry at only £4.95 With a Free Tea or Coffee. Opened in 2005, we regularly update our menu with daily specials, and improve our offering with new dishes and ideas. Whether its a simple coffee or tea, with a caramel square or brownie, or a full breakfast / brunch, we are sure to have something on out menu to suit. From Belfasy Frys, vegetarian, gluten free, pancakes, soda bread, porridge, lots of tea flavours, hot chocolates, cappuccinos, lattes. Mochas, espressos.... Out menu of Hot Drinks, Soft Drinks, Hot and Cold Food is huge. Why not pop in and have a look.
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have had a great experience eating at The Causeway Cafe. The menu is awesome for breakfast/brunch :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bryn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Dear Bryn82
Thankyou for taking the time to review our cafe, and not only give us a fulls core of 5 out of 5, but also to describe our menu as awesome. We do try our best to always provide every customer with memorable and enjoyable experience, and reviews such as yours really make the effort worthwhile.
Thankyou from myself and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Went with my daughter for breakfast, she coffee was stone cold and had to be sent back. I ordered poached eggs, they were hard ratcheted than runny and I couldn't eat them as they tasted as though they'd been cooked in a pan of vinegar, really disgusting

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Smd67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Dear Smd67
Thankyou for taking time to review our cafe. We were however disappointed that on this occasion you scored us with such a low score.
We do of course appreciate all constructive criticism, but genuinely did feel that a score of 1 our of 5, along with the comments made did not reflect fully the experience on the day.
On the day of your visit we do acknowledge when you brought it to our attention the temperature of your daughters coffee, we found an electrical fault with our coffee machine, and as a result we immediately replaced your daughter coffee with a fresh hot one, and apologised profusely.
We have taken on board your comments on our poached eggs and as a result we have now introduced a regulated lower amount of vinegar added to the water in which they are cooked, and now ask each customer how they would like their eggs cooked.
We did note however that your daughter described her dish on the day of your visit as fantastic, which we really appreciate.
We do ask all our customer to advise us immediately of any issues with their food if they are not totally satisfied, which allows us to correct anything (as you experienced when we replaced your daughters coffee) unfortunately on this occasion we were not given the opportunity to do so with your poached eggs.
Thanyou for taking the time to review our cafe, from myself and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

You must try this place out the foods great and the staff are so friendly so if your over for the 12th of july give it a go

1  Thank hoothootmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Dear hoothootmike.
Thankyou for your excellent review of our cafe, and giving us 5 out of 5. We do try and offer the best service, combined with high quality food, and the lowest prices we can. We hope to see you back with us again soon.
Thankyou from myself and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

In being attached to a hostel this has both pros and cons: people may be put off going there or may think it's only for the hostel guests... but it is cheap, cooked to order and customisable! I've not seen such a wide choice of ingredients/options in a cafe before. Whilst it is very basic food, cooked to a good standard - it is the choice, quality and value for money combination that works.
Go here.
Friendly staff too - they let us borrow their pen!

2  Thank licy_doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Dear licy_doll
Thankyou so much for your positive review. It is our aim to offer the widest selection of local, organic, and fairtrade produce as well as dairy and gluten free options. Our menu choice is as your say extensive with the option to create your own bespoke choice from our wide selection of ingredients. We really feel all our efforts are worthwhile when we receive such glowing reviews.
Thanks you so much from myself and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

32 European visitors from 5 different countries had their meals here after a 3 day visit to Belfast .. Alan and his staff designed delicious 3 course lunch and dinner menus to suit all dietary needs and provided the European visitors with delicious home cooked traditional Irish food .. Great food and service !!

1  Thank EmmaAnn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear EmmaAnne82
Thankyou so much for your glowing review of our Cafe.
We thoroughly enjoyed catering for your group for Breakfast, Lunch, Packed Lunch and Dinner etc.
It is always our goal to strive to provide a level of service, food, and overall experience which is beyond the customers expectations, and it makes our job even more enjoyable when this happens.
We look forward to seeing you, and more of your groups in the future.
Alan
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alans Causeway Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Alans Causeway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing