We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SQ Bar/Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SQ Bar/Restaurant”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Currently promoting an “Express Lunch” in their SQ bar, so 3 of us went on a Friday just after noon. Bar area was relatively quiet, with no more than half a dozen tables occupied at most.

There seemed to be one girl behind the bar and no floor staff - although numerous staff did circulate around the bar area - not that any of them actually did anything!

After sitting at a table for 15 minutes without as much as an inkling that we would be served anytime soon, we made an exit.

I did mention to a manager on the way out that our presence at the table had not as much been acknowledged. This was met with a snooty, sniffy “I can only apologise.”

Too late - actively managing your staff may be more useful and checking the definition of “express.”

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTopping, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear AHarryS,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience in SQ Bar & Grill. Please accept my apologies if we failed to meet your expectations. It is through feedback such as yours that we can provide a constantly improving customer experience. It appears from your comments that you didn't actually get to experience the fantastic food for which SQ is renowned and I hope you'll give us another opportunity to serve you.

Thank you again for your comments,

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    576
    310
    117
    105
See reviews for
167
653
86
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed here for two nights in early March on a discounted rate. The room was comfortable and clean, the bed was fine, and the staff were friendly. It was exactly as I expected from this type of hotel and I happily recommend it for a short stop in Belfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTopping, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Nathan H,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. I hope you'll give us another opportunity to serve you and we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here for just one night - when we arrived they didn't have our reservation - we had booked through bookings.com back in January and received confirmation but the hotel said they never received it from bookings.com. They were however able to accommodate us but they said they didn't have a room until 3pm. The hotel itself is clean, new and modern - our room was basic but large enough and the bed was king size and comfortable - no wardrobe just some hangers on the wall and limited shelves / drawers - If you were staying more than two nights you would struggle to store your clothes. The bathroom was small - very small stainless steel sink and just a walk in shower - although the shower was big there was no screen so the floor got soaking wet and also the shower head was leaking and wasn't a power shower. Bar area was nice. Didn't eat at the hotel at all so can't comment on their food. We ate at the Potted Hen literally round the corner from the hotel and the food was lovely. Overall the hotel was OK for one night - I would describe it as just slightly better than a travelodge type room and for the price (we paid £63 for a double room for the night) it was good value. Location was great as everything is on your doorstep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTopping, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear mjools,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully when you return you'll sample the delights of SQ Bar & Grill.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

the Ramada is a newish hotel in Belfast and located in the upcoming Cathedral Quarter. It is a typical three star modern property, no complaints about anything except no wireless internet access in the rooms and limited access in reception area. Breakfast was good and the rates are very competitive. I was surprised to see that you could have a wedding reception here for £999 for 50 people. That seems excellent value. Nearby there are some very good restaurants and pubs including the traditonal Duke of York bar and Nick's Warehouse.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taisteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTopping, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Taisteal,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope I can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I've stayed here several times and had a lovely stay (as previous reviews reflect) and am due here again 11-17 April, travelling with a cousin. Unless there have been any serious changes in the kitchen, I can say that I have had the best meals ever in Belfast in this hotel's restaurant, and great value too and am looking forward to repeating the experience. I'm hoping they will repeat the amazing deal we enjoyed last time when we had dinner for 2 and a bottle of the best champagne for only £50. 4 of us took advantage of that offer and it was a memorable meal indeed. Very handy location also for those of us seniors who are intent on exploring this lovely city on foot. On one trip, I met up with an old school friend, and the hotel bar is a very conducive and comfy spot for lone female travellers or old girlfriends to meet up.
By the way, on my last trip, I was lucky enough to have a preview of the new Titanic Belfast experience, and I wrote a favourable review of the place, as somewhere to see not far from this hotel - but TripAdvisor refused to accept my review. How very odd. Sorry Belfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTopping, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Denise B,

Thank you for your recent review. I'm really pleased you continue to enjoy staying here in Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre. There are always some great offers in SQ Bar & Grill so I'm sure you'll enjoy your meal again!

Look forward to seeing you in April.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel was great. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. It's a great location; only about a 10 minute walk to the central city. The only thing I didn't like was the £10 fee to use the internet for 24 hours.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rymigo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTopping, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Rymigo17,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I hope I can welcome you back to the Encore soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex Coast
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on arrival in Northern Ireland to sightsee Belfast, then again for 1 night before flying home. The Encore is very central so do expect it to be busy and a little noisy. We were lucky as this is still out of season and we had a good discount with vouchers from a national newspaper. Can't comment on breakfast but did eat there one evening on their deal of a main course for the price of what time you order eg.- 6.07pm = £6.07. and it was beer battered hadock/chips/pureed peas and tartar sauce, yummy.(£6.00 instead of £10.00) Rooms are spacious, clean and have all you need. We would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTopping, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Yoxen,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully next time you'll have an opportunity to sample our breakfast!

Look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards,

Jonathan Topping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,768 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Property: Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
Address: 20 Talbot Street | 20 Talbot Street, Belfast BT1 2LD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing