We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel. Dreadful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 24 August 2013

On arrival, we were greeted by false smiles and felt we were bothering them. After traveling and returning from a concert in the rain, we went to the bar for a drink. The bar man was balancing his till, which he continued to do without even acknowledging we were staying there. When he finished, he took our order but again it was like we were bothering him. When we asked what food was available, he tutted and sent a girl to check. The rooms were fine but only one pillow each with no access to an extra one. The window looked onto a horrible disused courtyard area. Overall, pay the extra tenner for the comfortable premier inn with amazing staff and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. The team here at our hotel take pride in their work and feedback is always welcomed as we continually look to improve our service for our guests. The problems you have highlighted will be raised with our team here and please be assured that we take all feedback concerning our guests comfort very seriously

Please can you contact me direct at the hotel so we can discuss your stay in more detail?

Kind regards,

Michelle

Michelle Wylie
Sales Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,689)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Spent 10 days at this hotel. First, they overbooked our accommodation and then they provided us with a room and one single bed for two of us grown men. They provided the worst customer service - our room was cleaned once in 10 days. They never replaced our towels unless we chased them down. Same for toilet paper. They finally after 3 days provided us with a cot, instead of changing our room. The bar staff were rude. When we returned to the hotel, we were not allowed to eat in the lobby. I explained that our room was completely full with no room. He didnt care. He was worried about hotel policy and not accommodating to the needs of the hotel guest.
This was my first trip to Europe and I thoroughly enjoyed Northern Ireland. The people of NI made up for the absolute terrible service we received.
I would never recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: pick a room at a different hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to feed back to us on your stay. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed. The items you have mentioned will be addressed with our team. Please also contact us at sales@encorebelfast.co.uk so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Once again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future

Kind regards,

Bob

Bob McGowan
Deputy General Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The Staff Here At The Ramada Encore Belfast Is Very Friendly. I Have Stayed A Few Times Here And Would Go Back Again. The Hotel Is A Ten Minute Walk From The City Centre Were You Can Find Victoria Square,Castle Court and a few nice bars and places to eat. We had breakfast, Lunch and a meal here. It was lovely. It is a little bit expensive compared to some places near by to eat in, but was relax and friendly and when you are always you always expect hotel to be that little bit dearer. They have half price cocktails and three pound beer specials on certain days off the week. There was also a band in the bar playing which was good. The Room Was Clean And Bed Was Comfortable. Can Not Complain At All. And If You Have A Car With You Our A little Bit Off Money For Travelling Belfast Zoo is about 15 minutes drive, And The Titanic and Botanic Gardens is about 10 Minutes Drive. Plenty To See And Do Here In Belfast. Only Fault I had was the stay was not long enough only booked two nights would have like a extra few nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at The Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, I am pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Bob

Bob McGowan
Deputy General Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Central hotel, close to good pubs and restaurants etc.
Basic but clean room with wet room.
Bar staff were very friendly, reception too.
Breakfast was fairly good.
Overall, great hotel for the price paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. The team here at our hotel take pride in their work and feedback is always welcomed as we continually look to improve our service for our guests. The problems you have highlighted will be raised with our team here and please be assured that we take all feedback concerning our guests comfort very seriously

I’m glad you enjoyed other elements of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Bob

Bob McGowan
Deputy General Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple for one of the Belsonic concerts in the nearby Custom House Square. Must say the location was perfect as we were right beside the concert venue and city centre. We stayed in room 521 facing towards the Clock Tower and City Centre and unfortunately for us 'Mynt Nightclub' which was just outside the hotel complex. The heat within the room itself was unbearable, which is unexplainable due to the fact it was chilly outside and a normal temperature around the rest of the hotel. The heat within the room meant we had to open a window which in turn meant the noise pollution from the nightclub appeared even louder.
We wouldn't in any other circumstances be annoyed over noises from nearby bars and clubs as we are both in our 20's. However, when it gets to the point where you can sing along to the words of songs being played, you know there's a problem !
Overall, the hotel is in a good location and is nearby to shops, restaurants etc. but it needs air conditioning in the rooms and to negotiate with the owners of mynt over their volume of noise.

Be aware, that check out is at 11am in this hotel also, you'll find that was the reason we were not at Mynt ourselves !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msciarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. The team here at our hotel take pride in their work and feedback is always welcomed as we continually look to improve our service for our guests. The problems you have highlighted will be raised with our team here and please be assured that we take all feedback concerning our guests comfort very seriously

I’m glad you enjoyed other elements of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bob

Bob McGowan
Deputy General Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Every time I make the hour journey to Belfast I have always had a great stay at each hotel I visited...until now. And this was also the most expensive at £159 per night. Kings of Leon, concert, dinner, shopping and a good nights sleep was the intention; and everything went according to plan until the last part. The hotel is clean, room was basic but they gave us a twin room instead of a double which me and my partner didn't request and were told that's all is left. What we noticed right away was that you could hear everything going on in the hotel from the room. The hen party down the hall, the cleaners, the elevator doors opening, the guy in the next rooms wake up call (which also became ours) etc... The staff at reception weren't the most ideal, when asked if they could order me a taxi the girl rudely and loudly shouted 'I cant understand a word your saying!' Unluckily for her she didn't know me and quickly retracted her comment and tone. If the noise during the day was bad, you could guess how that night was...not much sleep. But at least Donna from the hen party pulled! Alarm testing the next morning wasn't much fun either...sirens ands pounding sounds going off so early on a Thursday morning seemed weird...almost like ensuring no one would miss check out. When explaining about lack of sleep due to the noise, on the phone the guy at reception replied 'ah well its not the end of the world!' Haha I swear Fawlty towers would seem the most professional place in the world compared to my stay here. Checking out was quick....the girl stood laughing and flirting with a taxi man in a sling and ignored us twice saying can we check out...room key got threw on the desk and off we went. I hope this was a one off, even writing this makes me laugh at how awful it was!! Crazy place.. get Basil in ASAP to sort it out. Jokers.

Room Tip: Tip for a good room....stay at the Fitzwilliam
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Please be assured that we take all feedback concerning our guest’s comfort very seriously. If I could ask you to contact me direct at the hotel, so we can discuss your stay in more detail.

Kind regards,

Bob

Bob McGowan
Deputy General Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If anyone can recommend a better city centre hotel that is only £50 per night then I would love to know, ok this may have been a special discounted price but I would happily pay £80 - £100 for a room here. This is a hotel that is very close to the centre and is always clean rooms with very pleasant staff. I have stayed here regularly and also having stayed in other city centre hotels then this is definately the best value for money around. Keep up the good work and see you next weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us - we always appreciate such positive feedback from our guests. It’s great to hear that our staff go out of their way to provide you with the very best service - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bob

Bob McGowan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,948 reviews
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 44 in Belfast
2,916 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Address: 20 Talbot Street | 20 Talbot Street, Belfast BT1 2LD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range: £67 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing