We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst value, poor service, poor facilities, poor experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.
The hotel gave us 2 twin rooms when we had booked a double room & a twin room (no mention until we found out). I raised it immediately at reception - they acknowledged this but made no apology. Eventually we were offered a double room with disabled access 2 floors below our family (none of us have disabilities). I had to decline - no apology. The rooms were always too hot, the light fittings beside the bed were both loose & on 2 out of 3 nights we were woken in the early hours (0330 & 0400) by extremely rowdy & persistent revellers & the loud knocking of room service. One pillow per bed and the description of wood flooring is a stretch - waxy laminate looking more like linoleum. TV picture on the channels available was extremely poor - filled with sparklies and far below SD - unwatchable. Facilities in room are minimal. Internet not working in both rooms. Parking is a nightmare at weekend and is tightly policed by regular traffic warden patrols. Any overnight arrangements terminate at 0800 and the warden was on the job from that time. I saw him as I placed another parking ticket on my windscreen and saw him issuing tickets rapidly to others who had parked close to the hotel overnight. It would have been helpful to have had this advice from reception - when asked about parking I got a 'shrug' and told - 'try the car park opposite, if you can find a spot'. Luckily another car park user warned me in advance and I avoided the early morining ticket. There is a muti storey car park round the corner in the Cathedral Square - which may be more convenient.
For the price, there are many better hotels etc. in Belfast including some with keener prices offering better facilities. The buffet breakfast was poor in range & quality by NI standards. The toaster had the usual reminder 'not to adjust' the settings but burnt the crusts while leaving most of the bread untouched by heat except to dry the bread out. Soda bread and potato bread were mostly over-cooked and then hard as bricks under the heating lamps. Luckily the plates were very small (to encourage people to take less? - but this wasn't really necessary (lol). Continental alternatives were few in range. The fruit salad was good but somebody must have been watching the news about the birth of the baby gorilla in Belfast Zoo (or had a part-time job as a keeper) as the size of the chunks would have challenged the mother and father of the little one.
Location in the Cathedral Quarter is good - with a few good restaurants and pubs nearby. The Potted Hen is worth a visit.
I communicated our experience to another member of reception staff when we left. Apart from what appeared a half-hearted and belated apology, staff seemed more concerned to establish they had followed their 'script' than with the service the hotel actually offers/provides and the experience of their guests.

Having read through several reviews now, I wish I had paid more attention to the negative expetiences outlined as we have experienced similar. I would honestly never stay in this Hotel again nor could I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. The team here at our hotel take pride in their work and feedback is always welcomed as we continually look to improve our service for our guests. The problems you have highlighted will be raised with our team here and please be assured that we take all feedback concerning our guests comfort very seriously

Please can you contact me direct at the hotel so we can discuss your stay in more detail?

Kind regards,

Michelle

Michelle Wylie
Sales Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,699 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here recently for one night. We travelled to Belfast to visit the Titanic Museum. Our first impression of the hotel was good it looked nice from the outside but unfortunately there is no hotel parking but we did getting parking across the road but this was a Saturday night/ sunday parking so if you were staying during the week it would cost you a lot on parking. The hotel room was nice and modern and clean if a little smaller than any other room I have stayed in. Didn't get much sleep because there was a party going on downstairs. I was on the first floor but my sister was staying on the 3rd floor and could still hear the music. Had dinner in the hotel and the food was lovely. Its in a good location 5 min walk to shops etc. Overall I probably would stay in the hotel again but would like some sleep next time!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HennyMeath_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at The Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, I am pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one apart from a couple of issues that I hope we did all we could to sort out for you. We are in a great location and the SQ bar and grill offers a great selection of locally sourced food.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Michelle

Michelle Wylie
Sales Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

my husband and i stayed here sat night rooms were clean but very hot,we went to local restaurant for dinner and returned to hotel to have a drink at the bar,i ordered 3 different cocktails and was told each time i couldn't have it as bar had ran out of spirits ,i settled for a glass of wine instead ,we had only just sat down in the bar when i fight broke out and my wine was knocked to the floor,this was followed by a lot of commotion and then the police arrived,at this point we made our way upstairs to our room,only to be greeted with a very loud party going on down the hallway from our room,as the night went on the noise got worse another fight broke out in another room we both got no sleep at all we left early on the sunday morning completely exhausted .on leaving we did mention this to reception but they didn't seen to bothered .very disappointed

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. The team here at our hotel take pride in their work and feedback is always welcomed as we continually look to improve our service for our guests. The problems you have highlighted will be raised with our team here and please be assured that we take all feedback concerning our guests comfort very seriously

Please can you contact me direct at the hotel so we can discuss your stay in more detail?

Kind regards,

Michelle

Michelle Wylie
Sales Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Rude staff, overpriced food and blaring music and loud xmas parties made staying and relaxing in hotel impossible. Informed desk staff of this and the attidude i received was "like it or lump it"
Will not be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darrylspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your visit in Dec 2012.

During the Christmas Festive season we do cater for some Christmas parties, Saint Anne's Square and the Cathedral Quarter are popular locations for after work drinks.

We do keep the bar open for all guests during these times and we are mindful that not everyone will want to join in the festive atmosphere. I would like to ensure you that your feedback will be discussed with the hotel management as we strive to continually improve our service and hospitality for all guests.

Kind Regards

Michelle Wylie
Sales and Marketing Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed overnight in Belfast for a concert and the hotel was perfect for our needs. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the train station, and even closer to the High Street and Victoria Street shopping centre. It's also close enough to the Titanic quarter. Staff were very efficient and friendly, and the room was well presented and clean. The room, itself, is basic enough so there's no safe in the room, no mini-bar or a bath (just shower). When we got back from our night out, the bar/restaurant was busy with people - an atmosphere that many hotels we've stayed in previously lack. I will say that the walls of the room seemed rather thin, thin enough that you can hear, quite clearly, when someone is talking in the hallway outside your room, or in the next room. Just something to consider if you're going to be spending a lot of time in your room. But, otherwise, it's perfect as a base for people who are out and about in the city!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deeswax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at The Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, I am pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one. We are in a great location especially if you want to visit the likes of Titanic Belfast or just pop into town for a bit of shopping.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Michelle

Michelle Wylie
Sales Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location for walking into the city centre with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops nearby. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean, the beds comfortable. It would have been nice to have air conditioning but you can't have everything! The bar area is comfortable with drink deals in the early evening. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. A good price for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annloubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at The Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, I am pleased to hear it was an enjoyable one.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Michelle,

Michelle Wylie
Sales Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I went for breakfast at an agreed time to meet two other friends. At the entrance to the restaurant I asked for a table for four and gave my room number. The waitress advised that I couldn't have breakfast as this was not part of the deal. I spent the next 20 minutes at reception trying to explain to two very unfriendly duty managers that I had paid for breakfast. Eventually they had to concede after I had shown my confirmation slip that I could now go and have breakfast. When I arrived my friends had finished and my wife was mortified as she had to sit their until permission arrived from on high

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. The team here at our hotel take pride in their work and feedback is always welcomed as we continually look to improve our service for our guests. The problems you have highlighted will be raised with our team here and please be assured that we take all feedback concerning our guests comfort very seriously

Please can you contact me direct at the hotel so we can discuss your stay in more detail?

Kind regards,

Michelle

Michelle Wylie
Sales Manager
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#16 of 44 in Belfast
2,989 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Hilton Belfast
#22 of 44 in Belfast
2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Address: 20 Talbot Street | 20 Talbot Street, Belfast BT1 2LD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range: £65 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing