We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful hotel, good location”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for leisure. The first room stank of smoke we then got moved to one that stank of vomit. On our arrival we met a stag do leaving and clearly they wrecked the place! We were then moved to a larger room on the top floor, it was very cold, no remote control, telephone was not working and it was very bare, basic and we just felt like we were staying in someone's spare room. When we left, we realised my husband forgot his phone charger we rang, the receptionist told us initially there was nothing left behind. A week later he rang again to be told there was a charger and they would post it out. He rang a few days later to say it hadn't arrived and was told it had definitely posted, the receptionist gave him a lot of sarcasm on the call. A few days later it arrived post marked the day after we last called. My advice, stay clear, the one in the city centre is usually the same price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikrantTyagi1, Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Holly,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay here at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter. As a customer service focused hotel I am very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am also very confused regarding your complaint.

Regarding the issues with the smells of the rooms, after you reported the smells from both rooms you were very promptly moved to a different room. The Duty Manager also offered you a complimentary drink for the inconvenience. The Duty Manager and the Housekeeping Supervisor went to both the rooms in question and were not able to smell smoke or vomit. I would also like to state that both these rooms were used that night and both guests were very pleased with their stay.

Regarding your issue with the tv remote. As soon as you informed the reception that there was not remote in the room, one was immediately delivered to you. On your departure the housekeeping staff found 2 remotes in your room. In regards to your comment about the phone, I personally went to the room and found the phone in good and working order.

Regarding your complaint about the phone charger. Firstly after your partners first call, the receptionist called him back after 5 minutes not a week later as you stated. As you did not take the complimentary drink for the above complaint I agreed to pay the postage charge for the charger, at that time I did make your partner aware that the post office in our area was closed on a couple of days, therefore there would be a delay in receiving the charger. As the hotel has no links with the Post office I am unable to see how we could have delivered it any sooner.


Kind Regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    323
    111
    28
    21
See reviews for
106
315
88
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel was fun and had great staff at the hotel. A big thank you to Thomas and the rest of the staff for making my stay fun and exciting. Thomas told some great stories and had some very good recommendations for restaurants and places to see. The hotel is a nice 10-15 min walk to down town and there are lots of good restaurants around the hotel. If you are looking a good accommodation at a reasonable price this is a good hotel for your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator so its quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddiPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikrantTyagi1, Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear EddiPT,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review regarding your recent stay here at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter. I am very pleased to see that you had a fun and exciting time with us. I will pass on your regards to Thomas who I know will also be delighted.

We do hope it's not too long before your next visit.

Kind regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Ibis Queens Quarter hotel was absolutely perfect. All the staff and especially the receptionists (Thomas, Katie, Damian, Rebecca) were extremely helpful and friendly. The location was ideal (15 min walk to city centre), near the University and the Botanic Gardens as well as a train station, and surrounded by many small restaurants, coffee shops etc. Neighbourhood was lively during the day and evening and safe and quiet at night. Room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor facing the church next door. No noise whatsoever, a very light room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmhtheunissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikrantTyagi1, Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear nmhtheunissen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter. I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us and that our hotel, staff and location was ideal for your visit. I will pass on your comments to the rest of our team who I know will all be chuffed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel over the weekend. The room was modern and very clean. It was centralized but there was no noise. The area around it was very safe. The room was spacious and had air-conditioning which came in useful as it was a warm weekend. The staff were very friendly especially Thomas. He was recommending places to go to and was chatting away with us and even stayed behind after his shift ended to continue filling us in on what to do. I couldn't fault the staff or the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Belfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandF5680UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikrantTyagi1, Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Alan,

My team and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We are thrilled to see that you had a wonderful stay with us at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter and also for your high recommendation. I will pass on your comments to all the team including Thomas who I know will be chuffed.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is in close proximity to the university and amazing botanical gardens. Good hot breakfast. Very modern and functional rooms. No carpeting, which was good for our allergies! Close walk to good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank gelato11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikrantTyagi1, Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear gelato11,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter. I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay and that our location and hotel facilities were ideal for not only your visit but also your allergies.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed last weekend at the Ibis Queens. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble; Thomas organised our Black Cab Tour very efficiently. It was a trip we knew we wanted to do and asked at the desk for information, 20 minutes later we were on our way with a very knowledgable driver. Thank you for helping to make Belfast a memorable trip for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VikrantTyagi1, Manager at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sara,

Many thanks for sharing your review regarding your recent stay with us at Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed every part of you visit to Belfast including our own wee Thomas (he was only too happy to help).
We hope your next visit will be just as memorable if not more so.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Tyagi
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter

Property: Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter
Address: 75 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Belfast
#18 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#19 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Lastminute, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing