We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
shaftesbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Appalling!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

One of the hottest nights of the year air conditioning not working and despite repeated calls to reception nobody able to rectify the situation resulting in a sleepless and distubed night's sleep. Shower tray overflowed due to drain being blocked with accumulation of hair and dirt over many weeks - disgusting! Shower gel bottle empty despite indicators for housekeeping to replace. Receptionist did her best to deal with complaint and referred to general manager who, despite emails and reminders took three weeks to respond with completely unacceptable and insulting email after several broken promises. My family regularly stay at Accor hotels because of the usual consistent high standards and competent staff. This hotel is a disgrace to the group and needs a change of management. I have never been treated with such contempt and insulting attitude anywhere else in the world. Check to see if the manager has been replaced before booking.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petergShaftesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    319
    108
    28
    20
See reviews for
105
308
87
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

This hotel is in a beautiful location, and has extremely clean and comfortable facilities. It is a great value if you are staying in Belfast, as we paid close to 50 pounds (about $75) per night.

Right near the university, the hotel is a few minutes walk from wonderful restaurants (I recommend Maggie May's for cheap, tasty food), stores, bars, and the botanical gardens (free admission). The train and bus station, in addition to the city center, is a comfortable 15 minute walk from the hotel as well.

Best of all, the staff were always more than helpful, and it was a pleasure to see them each morning.

The only drawback we might have experienced was that the showers were a bit small for my husband, and the beds were slightly hard (or, at least, they weren't overly soft, but this was just our opinion). Also, there was no iron in the room, but that wasn't all that displeasing. Overall, these issues were not even remotely significant enough to negatively influence our opinion of the hotel. It is quite luxurious for the price!

If we ever return to Belfast, this will most definitely be our first choice! Believe me, this is the place you are looking for!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

This was our first stay in an Ibis, and it was a real surprise. Booked through hotels.com (for a LOT less than the £60 walk-up rate advertised at the counter) we found the hotel to be modern and very clean. Reception staff were polite and helpful, and check-in was quick. There's a bar and restaurant immediately adjacent to the check-in, but the hotel menu and the breakfast buffet are poor value compared to the restaurants and cafés just outside on Botanic Avenue.

As with most Ibis hotels, the bedroom featured a compact but well designed factory-built bathroom. The curved shape of this gives the average sized room a spacious feel. The bed was firm but comfortable, and the room was well equipped for a budget hotel, with a flat screen TV with plenty of free and international channels. Unlike Travelodge and Premier Inn, there are still hot beverage facilities in the room.

The only shame is that like so many residential and hotel developments in this part of Belfast, the attractive and tall-ceilinged old building at the front of the hotel conceals the modern extension at the back, which has much lower ceilings and which feels much more functional.

I slept well, but for some disturbance around 3am from students returning home. The hotel is very close to Queen's University, but also to the Holylands, a residential area that is now infamously filled with almost 100% multiple-occupancy houses for young students (read 'loud, heavy drinking, late partying' students). There have been repeated problems around public holidays, so beware. But for ~ £35, this is a great value modern hotel close to the bars and restaurants of Botanic Avenue and just a short walk from town.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We got a deal online for this hotel at a bargain price of £42 for two people in a twin room. When we arrived our room asnt actually ready but it was before twelve and the other guests simply hadnt checked out yet. The reception staff were extremely nice and helpful, took our bags and assured they would call us when the room was ready...and call us they did, one hour later and the room we received was great. Cleanliness was next to none and we never heard any noise or disruption during our entire stay.
Hotel is just a short walk to town and right around the corner from endless coffee shops and cafes. Would definately recommend this hotel for a city break stay on a budget but the service and rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

This hotel is brand new and its spotlessly clean and function, being part of the Ibis chain it is not 5 star luxury but great value with everything you could need for a stay in Belfast.
We arrived at 5pm in the middle of rush hour and had no problem finding a parking space right infront of the hotel. Check in was quick and pleasant and our room was on the first floor with either a lift or stairs to take us there.
Our room was large with wooden floors, work desk and flat screen TV with all the digital channels, it was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom and indeed the whole hotel.
What had attracted us to the hotel was the "pay now" rate of £38 for a night which suited us perfectly to stay over after attending a concert in the Oddysey Arena.
The hotel is situated in the University area just around the corner from Queens University and Botanic Gardens. It is a safe and vibrant part of Belfast with many pubs, clubs and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The actual city centre itself and shops are at most a 15 minute walk away through Belfasts "Golden Mile". Although located in the heart of student area we have no problem sleeping and heard no outside noise at all and the digital air conditioning allowed us to keep the windows closed and the room at a comfortable 16c.

Note - there are two ibis hotels in Belfast, the other one in the City Centre is in what many people would class as a dodgy area which is not safe at night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

My 18 yr old son and I stayed for 2 nights for £77 total, excellent price. Twin beds were comfortable, shower was good, everything was clean and cared for while the location was spot on for the primary purpose of visiting Queens Uni. City centre less than 15 minutes easy walk, or 5 by bus.
On top of all this, the service at reception was brilliant, especially Rosalind who took the initiative to allow us to find alternative travel back to London (via Dublin so we also needed a hotel there) when the volanic ash struck. I can't praise and thank Rosalind enough for her superb help with phone calls, internet access etc and her superb manner throughout.
We didn't use the hotel bar or food facilities - there are good inexpensive breakfast, lunch and dinner choices within 3 - 5 minuites walk. However, based on what we experienced at the hotel, I'd expect anything they offered to be pretty good.
Free street parking outside was no problem at night, and only slightly difficult during the 2 days of our midweek stay

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
218 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. I found this hotel through hotels wedsite and received a good offer. Check in was effective as I had my booking number. I was given a room on the 6.floor and I was satisfied with cleanness, size of the room and the double bed. The toilet was compact but perfect. The breakfast was average. The staff at this hotel was friendly and helpful. The bar was average but I would recommend the hotel to play some jazzmusic or hits from 70-90's than playing the music through the TV. There were lots of restaurants and bars closeby and you can walk to the city. It took around 15 minutes. Overall I am really satisfied with this hotel. Excellent!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsaaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter

Property: Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter
Address: 75 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Belfast
#18 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#19 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Belfast Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing