We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10”

Beatties Fish and Chip Shop
Ranked #551 of 1,073 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“10/10”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Great wee fish & chip shop on the heel and ankle. Snug seats like church pews. Good portions as you will be well satisfied. You will be back.

Helpful?
4 Thank Anubis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Behind the rainbow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“grand”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This place has been around for more than 50 years in the heart of Shankill. Everything is freshly made, the chips are fab, just the right amount of crispy and meaty on the inside, and very fresh tasting. The fish is freshly delivered every day and made to order. The Ulster fry was perfect and much better than what we had in other places around Belfast.

Just the attitude of one of the servers was lacking a bit but I can see beyond that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I know some people are saying about the staff being unfriendly, but my daughter who is 4 and has autism spilt her full glass of milk (all over me and the floor) and the staff came and cleaned it up no problem and got her a new glass of milk, were very helpful about the whole thing. The food is really nice too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mamalea1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lost generation”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My dad visited Beatties on the road yesterday with my son. My dad has been going to this chippy since he was small ,going with his dad. He ordered two pasties. When the dinner arrived after the staff chatted among themselves,.the pastie came on a large plate with 3 chips on it. When you used to go to beatties they were generous with the chips now thats all gone. I know times are hard but for the prices they charge , maybe tradition would be worth considering. My father was extremely disappointed as he had being telling my son all his old stories. He sadly admitted he would not be returning, so after generations going to Beatties, the next generation will not returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beverleysblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best place for fish & chips around...”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

This is defo thee best place for fish and chips on "the road" probably in belfast..
Staff are friendly enough - however sometimes if busy and flustered this can be seen by customers..
Atmosphere is what it is, a local chippy... But still nice enough - the old pics of locals are missed and were a great part of the cafe...
My only faults, the napkins are very cheap and wafer thin, the individual packs of butter are rock hard so making buttering your bread somewhat of a challenge. My final fault, is when the waiting staff come down and give you the bill/ask for the monies whilst your still eating... I believe you should be able to finish your meal and walk up and pay in your own time.. That being said my mouth is watering at the thoughts of a beaties... Can't wait to return....,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beatties Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Beatties Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing