We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian restaurant”
Review of The Jharna

The Jharna
Ranked #173 of 1,056 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Lisburn Road
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Great food and friendly, quick service. Decor a little dated but overall a good experience. Reasonably priced too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank monkeym15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    43
    17
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indian Food”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A group of us stayed in Belfast for two nights for a sporting event and this restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel. We tried it the first night (4 of us) and it was so good that 14 of us returned the following night. We were delighted that a large group could be accommodated by the restaurant on a Saturday night. The food is absolutely superb and the service is also excellent and the restaurant has a nice ambience. Staff are knowledgeable about their food and also their wine and drinks. The menu is very extensive with something for meat lovers, vegetarians, vegans and coeliacs, so the only difficulty you will have is making your choice! There was nothing I could fault about this restaurant. If you are looking for really good Indian food in Belfast then I would definitely pay Jharna a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ziggy_blue_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited this restaurant after being advised to by the hotel, we love Indian food and we were pleasantly surprised by the food and also the bill - if you are going to Belfast and you like Indian food, well worth the visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marandpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pretty good Indian food”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

So this Indian food is really quite good. it is not cheap, but good quality and family friendly as well!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnieQQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, would definitely recommend”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had originally searched tripadvisor and decided to go to the Rajput Indian restaurant. We had booked and everything. However our taxi driver took us to the 'Raj' instead, which didnt look like what we were after. I checked google maps and we were 25 minutes drive from the Rajput and didnt want to pay for another taxi. We stumbled across The Jharna and it was an amazing find. They had a huge amount of staff and therefore service was very speedy. I had the Korma on the chef's special page - was delicious. Rice and Naan also brilliant! Not the cheapest Indian we have ever had, but couldn't fault it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jharna also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Jharna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing