We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car parking nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Never again will we stay here. And we'll be telling all our friends the same thing. Biggest problem (next to rude and lazy staff): car parking. We drove all the way from Dublin on Friday 24th Feb 2012. Was a bit disappointed the hotel didn't have it's own free parking-just use of another nearby car park.Followed the receptionist's directions to the offsite car park and was told it was £6 per 24 hour. Imagine my horror the next day when going to pay and being charged £20. It transpired that because of poor communication skills on the part of someone at the front desk, I ended up in the wrong car park. I should've been in the City Carpark instead of the one RIGHT BESIDE it. The staff in the car park we actually parked in said THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME due to the incompetence of the Ibis staff. They were sympathetic but couldn't refund the money. Trekked back to the Ibis and they couldn't help either and wouldn't accept blame for giving shoddy directions. Nor would they accept that this thing happens all the time. I was furious: I'd only £10 sterling left (kept it specially for the car park) and had to trek down the road and pull more money from a cash machine. All of this cost us well over an hour in time-so we were late getting back to the person baby-sitting our two year old daughter in Dublin. We were so annoyed with the Ibis staff: their attitude was pretty much, 'We told you it was the City Carpark. Nah nah nah nah nah.' When they initially gave us our swipe cards-they wouldn't work on the door leading to the stairs.The desk staff were too bone lazy to get up and assist. Their attitude seemed to be: 'You're not doing it right.' One of them was acting Manager but unfortunately I didn't get her name.Another guest came to our assistance and established that the cards indeed were not working. Oh and the breakfast was cold: cold sausage and cold beans. Never ever again.

They could have refunded us the £20 we spent in the wrong car park-because they had given us really poor directions. Make no mistake, it is their responsibility that the guest knows exactly where the proper car park is, not the guest's. The guest has spent many hours travelling to your location and needs simple and concise instructions-especially as there's another car park right next to the Ibis car capark.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SteoVenoDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Mr,Venables, Thank you for your recent review. But i am somewhat dismayed in relation to your parking issue. We do not have our own car park as such but we do have an offer set up with CITY CAR PARK who indeed offer £6 stg for 24 hours. Guests who enquire about car parking when arriving are informed of this. They are always given the instructions of which car park to use ie City Car Parks NOT Castle court Car Park as they do not provide the said offer. This offer and location of the car park is also clearly stated on the front desk also to ensure guests are aware of it. If you wish to discuss this matter further please feel free to contact me on 02890-238888 or h7232-gm@accor.com. Kind Regards, Robert Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here for a week while working in Belfast, the hotel is clean and very modern. The staff were great and I enjoyed every part of my stay at this hotel. Good location, parking was locally available.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cfox1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear cfox 1404, Thank you so much for your kind review for Ibis Belfast City Centre. I am delighted to see you enjoyed all elements of your week stay with us. I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Robert Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Overall this hotel was great for a cheap stay in Belfast centre; quite close proximity to most amenities and the airport is only a mile or two. Room was very clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was very disappointing: rubbery bacon/ sausage and powdery scrambled eggs. Fine if you just want cereal or toast (DIY). Possibly the worst "full English" (or Irish) I've had for some time. Great idea to have breakfast available from about 5 a.m. to midday but inevitably the quality is lost.

Room Tip: IBIS do good deals anyway (from about £39 per night). If you love your breakfast, stick to room onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear LuuDH, Thank you for your recent review for Ibis Belfast City Centre. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us but was dismayed to see that breakfast wasnt as enjoyable for you. Please be rest assured that i am taking action on this and i hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Robert Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Arrived with no reservation, Price usually for this type of hotel is in the region of between 50 to 70 euros, they charged me £70.00 per night with no breakfast, I was kept awake all night with a drunk couple that were fighting in the next room, they started at 0100 until 0800 and did not stop. it was a horrible stay, never again

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vahalla1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Vahalla1962. Thank you for your recent review for Ibis Belfast City Centre. But i am dismayed that you feel that you will not return. In relation to the room rates we do indeed have rates at 50 - 70 euros or 39-50 sterling and these rates are advance purchase rates. The rate to which you were charged is correct as it is counted as our rack rate and walkin rate. I am also dismayed that your night was interrupted by guests in a neighbouring room and i would like to ask you to contact me on h7232-gm@accor.com or 02890-238888 in relation to this as i would be interested to check the date you stayed with us and speak to my night team that would have been working on the evening in question to see if they recieved any contact in relation to the room and the actions they took. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Robert Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were less than impressed with our first visit here, but the GM was quick to address our concerns and our second trip was nothing but pleasant from start to finish.
It was very clean and warm. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. Particular thanks to Cheryl who is a great ambassador for this hotel. The food and drink were good.
As a city centre hotel, there is little to compare in terms of value. There is even discounted parking. If you are travelling back to the hotel late at night get a taxi; the crowds spilling out into the neighbouring streets may not extend the warm welcome for which Belfast is renowned.
This is no fault of the Ibis, and you are at least assured a warm welcome by the hotel staff.
Value, location and service mean we will be back.

Room Tip: If one is available, get an end room. They are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mijacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Mijacq, Thank you for your very kind review for Ibis Belfast City Centre. I am delighted that we were able to welcome you back again to Ibis City Centre. I am delighted to see also that you had the pleasure of meeting Cheryl who on our reception team and is a great representative of what we can offer in relation to our award winning customer service. Again thank you again for your return and i look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Robert Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a night out in town, it is in a rough area but it's really central, staff were helpful & friendly, theres also cheap overnight parking across the street(£6) rooms are clean & modern, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Drew80, Thank you for your kind review for Ibis Belfast City Centre. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Robert Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Contrary to other review on here, you are more likely to be bothered by street drinkers outside the nearby 4 star hotel in Great Victoria Street than outside of here. That's the good news. The bad news is that the problem drinkers are inside the Ibis rather than outside. We were awoken at 3.00am by a crowd of drunken males shouting and banging on room doors and then proceeding to play a game of pitch and toss for money in the hotel corridor for an hour or so without any intervention from hotel security staff. Then again, maybe there are no hotel security staff?
The positives about the Ibis are the price, the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendly and efficient reception staff.The only negative is the failure of the hotel to react to badly-behaved guests and thus deterring decent guests from a return visit as a result of sleep loss and a sense of insecurity.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear shaycon, Thank you for your recent review for Ibis Belfast City Centre. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the most part of your stay with us but i am dismayed that your stay was disrupted by other guests. The hotel is staffed 24 hours a day and please be assured that i will be speaking to my night team in relation to the problems you had during the night of your stay. If you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate in contacting me on h7232-gm@accor.com or 02890-238888.Kind Regards, Robert Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,423 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,102 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Belfast City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Belfast City Centre

Address: 100 Castle Street, Belfast BT1 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Belfast
#21 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#23 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £60 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Belfast City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 124 bedroom Ibis hotel located downtown within Belfast City Centre. All rooms en-suite and non smoking. Free wifi in lobby and lounge. Secure discounted car parking is available at City Car Park throughout the week at a discounted rate of GBP 6 for 24 hours. Close to shopping district, business, entertainment and cultural attractions. Odyssey, Titanic Quarter, Victoria Square, Opera House and Waterfront. Breakfast 4am to midday. Café and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Belfast City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Belfast City Centre Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing