We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't Ask For More!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vagabonds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vagabonds
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't Ask For More!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I arrived at this hostel towards the end of a long trip, and it was everything I could have wanted in a hostel. Upon arrival we were met by a friendly staff member (Sean) who gave us a guided tour of the hostel, explaining how breakfast, wifi, tours etc worked. He then proceeded to point out on the map all the best attractions and gave us an honest opinion about the ones that weren't worth the time.

Breakfast was a mix of cereals, toast with spreads and fruit. The kitchen was clean and accessible. The common areas were clean and comfortable, and as such were a great place to relax and meet fellow travellers.

The mood of the whole hostel was just welcoming and friendly - by far the best I've been to!

Room Tip: The bottom floor dorm can get a lot of noise from outside at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziE665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    87
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
4
59
132
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Couldn't fault it at all, i would recommend going private as its not much more expensive.
The staff are great, very accomodating, they offered to cook dinner for us one evening and all.
Location is grand, on a quiet road but only about a 10-15 min walk into the city so you're never far away from everything!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawchrisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

While this hostel is a little small (the 14 bed dorm was pretty cramped), it was wonderful! The people who work there are so friendly and it has a house-type vibe. There are living room spaces and a kitchen space and everyone sits around, it's a great way to meet other travelers and to learn about the local area. We planned the rest of our trip around the UK at this hostel, hearing recommendations from other travelers on places we had to do. Do the Giant's Causeway tour through them, it's only twenty pounds and it is a whole day tour that includes so much! Also, do the black cab tour if you're interested in the local history around there. There will for sure be someone at the hostel who will go with you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This Hostel is so quaint, and fun. It's in a really good area. The people that worked their were the best, they were helpful, friendly, funny, they hung out with us and became our friends which didn't happen in most of our hostels, but I loved it. The free breakfast was the best and the showers were perfect. The only downside was I could feel the springs in the mattresses which was awful. Other then that this Hostel is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

went to this hostel on 10th july and booked out on 12th july was one of the best hostels i have stayed in was very clean friendly staff and really well situated.I was in a 14 bed dorm but apart from some loud talking just outside room door (which stopped when i asked them to ) i had good night sleep and for a price of £13 per night and that includes a breakfast of all types of cereal toast and as much tea and coffee throughtout the day i for one will certainly be back

Room Tip: as its a place to base yourself in to explore belfast any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed in this hostel for three nights, and I could not have enjoyed it more! The hostel was easy to find (important point, as I can hardly read maps ;)) and close to the main bus and train station. The staff was super friendly and always helpful, special thanks to Shaun and Patrick :) The hostel itself is clean, and offers lots of little extras that make your stay even more enjoyable, such as a beer garden, a good breakfast, free tea all day and just a cosy atmosphere.

I highly recommend this lovely hostel to everybody and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosfresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Cool spot in Belfast. It's a bit of a stroll from the bus station but not the worst. Close to the university and botanical gardens and about a mile walk into city center. Nice outdoor beer garden or hangout spot. Two sitting areas and a big kitchen seating area. The staff were mostly good though one guy seemed to be sitting around most of the time. If you can't be bothered to go out or make your own dinner there's a "chef" on site who will cook you up group spaghetti etc.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabonds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabonds

Property: Vagabonds
Address: 9 University Road, Belfast BT7 1NA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vagabonds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing