We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Market”

George's Of The Market
Ranked #132 of 1,056 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$26
Cuisines: Irish, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: St George’s Bar and Grill has been dubbed the hidden gem in one of Belfast’s oldest and most beautiful buildings, St George’s Market.Nestled in the eaves in ‘one of the best markets in the UK’*, diners can soak up the rich history and laid back ambience in the restaurant’s high beamed ceilings, discreet booths and outdoor terrace area, all flanked by photographs of Belfast from a bygone era.Head Chef James Bell has created a mouth-watering menu, using only the freshest produce, sourced locally, to provide diners with a culinary experience which is second-to-none.Whether you are enjoying coffee, after work drinks, breakfast, lunch, dinner or a private party, visitors are sure to enjoy the unique experience at St George’s Bar & Grill.The open view kitchen offers diners the opportunity to observe our chefs cooking your meal from scratch, where you will observe the care and dedication they use to ensure it is cooked to perfection, whether it be a char grilled steak or locally caught salmon.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best of the Market”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend usually try to go here at least once a month for brunch or lunch. It's one of our favourite places to go for food in Belfast. The best of the Market breakfast is so good and they serve the nicest coffee I've ever tasted. The atmosphere is brilliant too, both when you are able to sit in the balcony over looking the market or I side. The staff are all so friendly as well. Never had a bad experience.

Helpful?
Thank Jess_SIlcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    107
    37
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food but the market is the real treat”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Good food at a good price, bit if you want a real treat then buy some fresh oysters in the market and ask the guy to shuck them and then eat them there and then, wow.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dropped in and wasn't disappointed”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Amazing view over the market with its combination of stalls and live band. We enjoyed a mid morning coffee, reasonable price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank naab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

One wouldn't expect a nice Restaurant amidst a Market Place.
It was a nice surprise to find an accommodating,comfortable place.
The food selection and service was excellent.
An Irish group was playing on the Market floor which provided a nice background for Lunch.
Very relaxing!

Helpful?
Thank Kapitaenleutnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgesbargrill, Manager at George's Of The Market, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for your kind words, our location is great and offers the comfort to relax and enjoy the market with an amazing view!

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuopio, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely market”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I visited the market with my boyfriend in May and it was a great way to spend our Saturday morning! The market is lovely, the music was playing, people were dancing and you could smell delicious food everywhere around you! There's loads to see and buy, it's definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgesbargrill, Manager at George's Of The Market, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your awesome review - we totally agree, the Market is fab and has a great atmosphere and there is no better way to spend your Saturday morning!

Regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George's Of The Market also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to George's Of The Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing