We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Hakka

Hakka
Ranked #399 of 1,055 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bt2 8dy
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very disappointing.

Had two courses from the generic early evening menu - the salted chilli squid and the beef with crispy noodles. Squid tasted like rubber and the crispy noodles with beef. What on earth are those crispy noodles? They tasted like uncooked supernoodles.

Dreadful overall. My local Chinese takeaway does better food at a third of the price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 888Hello888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    48
    13
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

went for lunch. beautiful chilli squid. the serive was nice. a little bit noisey or do i mean buzz we will be back soon

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and value for money”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Twice I have been here for lunch in the last month. I love the different things you get on the menu from what you would typical see on any Chinese menu. The staff are friendly and both times I have visited there has been a real buzz about it. Beautiful flavours and value for money to. I would highly recommend a visit to here

Helpful?
Thank MPoppy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not what it once was”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Ate here recently on a quiet sunday evening. The menu was a generic Chinese menu, not the noodle dishes that this place used to do well, I think these are only sold at lunchtime. That was disappointing enough, but the food that we ordered was very poor. Four main courses arrived within two minutes of ordering, obviously not cooked fresh, and it was apparent from the taste and quality of the food. side orders not included in the price which makes it expensive also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Monk's vegetarian crispy noodles”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My absolute favourite but the ingredients seem to change every time I go. There is never enough of the white/tofu/slice thing in there, too many carrots and I'm so sad they stopped doing vegetarian dumplings. I would have lived on those alone. For the rest of my life.

Nice place, just needs to bring back the veggie dumplings. The vegetable spring rolls just don't cut it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hakka also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Hakka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing