We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful space” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyric Theatre

Lyric Theatre
Ranked #30 of 221 things to do in Belfast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lyric Theatre is Northern Ireland's full-time producing theatre. The new theatre opened in May 2011 to great critical acclaim. The award winning building is built in traditional Belfast red brick, glass and iroko wood and the cafe bar offer beautiful views over the River Lagan and Stranmillis Embankment.The theatre is open seven days a week with performances usually running in the evenings from Tuesday through to Saturday and matinees on Saturday and Sundays. Contact our box office for more details or check online under "What's On". Our cafe serves coffee/tea and light lunches and is open every day. A brunch menu is available on Sunday mornings.As well theatrical productions, we also offer backstage tours, a programme of theatre school and professional learning and corporate hospitality. Pre-theatre dining is available on Friday and Saturday evenings. Free Wifi is availble
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

What a lovely building! This was a great space to see a wonderful young cast in Punk Rock. The play was extremely well acted, but it was such a pitty to see it only half full! I would certainly encourage more people to enjoy this wonderful gem, hidden away from the centre of Belfast.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HugoHerman-Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyric_Theatre, General Manager at Lyric Theatre, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave such encouraging feedback on your recent trip to the theatre. We're delighted you enjoyed Punk Rock and we loved working with the young talented cast.

We agree with your encouragement for others to visit and enjoy the Lyric. Please, spread word or why not organise a party of 10 and take the tenth ticket free as your reward?

Our latest production of Pentecost by Stewart Parker runs from this Sunday 21st September 2014 to Thursday 16th October 2014.

We'd love to welcome you back to the theatre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    64
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Lyric Theatre was rebuilt in recent years and is a fantastic venue for the performing arts in Belfast. The theatre is well laid out with excellent acoustics and good views from all seats. There are excellent bar facilities and disabled visitors are looked after very well with lifts available to all areas.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyric_Theatre, General Manager at Lyric Theatre, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Lyric Theatre and in particular your feedback about our facilities for customers with disabilities.

It is always our intention to offer every customer the highest standard of customer service and we're delighted to have been hold the Arts and Disability Equality Charter in recognition of our work on delivering good practice and high standards with regard to disability equality.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave feedback and we hope you'll return to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“brilliant landmark theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Location great, near to restaurants but in a quite part of town. Great views over the river, and the theatre itself is a great design.
Would have liked it to offer a restaurant like many city theatres do nowadays.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyric_Theatre, General Manager at Lyric Theatre, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for visiting the theatre, your review and kind comments.

We appreciate your feedback about a restaurant but while we don't offer a full menu in the evenings, we do have a selection of antipasto or cheese platters available before performances. These are available to pre-order online or through our box office.

Our Cafe Bar is open every day from 9.30am to 5pm offering a range of pastries and a popular lunch menu of fresh soups, sandwiches, pastas and salads between 11:30 and 14:30.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lyric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning theatre in beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This theatre is absolutist elf beautiful. A fantastic design, great comfortable seats with plenty of leg room. Overlooking the Lagan river it is in a stunning setting. We had lunch there before a matinee performance and the food was delicious. Really fresh and home made and excellent value. Would highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarygDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyric_Theatre, Public Relations Manager at Lyric Theatre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for this great feedback! We think that Sunday afternoon is one of the best time of the week to come in and check out what the theatre has to offer. A relaxing brunch in the cafe bar followed by a show really makes a great day out!

So glad you enjoyed your experience at the Lyric and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“want a good show!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

take yourself to the lyric,for a great evening,super shows ALWAYS great bar and food.
a great way to be entertained,in a great theatre!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lowrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyric_Theatre, Public Relations Manager at Lyric Theatre, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Comments like these really make our day! Thank you so much for coming along for a night at the Lyric, and it's so brilliant you enjoyed yourself. It is thanks to our loyal customer base that we can continue to do what we're doing.

We hope to see you again soon at the Lyric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyric Theatre also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Lyric Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing