We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started well - but”
Review of Harlem Cafe

Harlem Cafe
Ranked #4 of 65 Coffee & Tea in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Started well - but”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Out for a small family celebration. We were seated and served quickly. The food came fairly quickly and was ok - nothing special. I went to the bathroom leaving my family talking about dessert. When I came back our plates had been cleared. At that point we became invisible - apart from a female member of staff who kept brushing very closely past my daughter and making a patronizing comment. No-one asked us if we wanted to see the menu again or wanted dessert or coffee. We sat for quite a long time and then decided to leave as clearly no-one had any interest in serving us. Even getting the bill was difficult. Won't be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    290
    111
    69
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great buzz!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

looking for somewhere to eat on Saturday night, our first trip to Belfast and we didn't know where to go. we were drawn in by the live music, and a picture of Elvis on the wall (always a good sign to me!). the name "Harlem cafe" made us think of New York, maybe a bit of soul food, but the menu was not that particularly inspiring. There was a limited choice of burgers, steak, chicken, scampi, hamhock or Thai Chicken curry, which I opted for and my husband had the scampi. I have to say though, the food was lovely, more than we could manage to eat, and the atmosphere was a great, a real buzz about the place. The restaurant was full, everyone seemed to be having a good time, the music was great and I loved the eclectic mix of pictures on the wall. A real gem to find. Give it a go. A group of people on the next table appeared to be having afternoon tea and that looked delightful with old fashioned tea pot and elegant cake stand.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tammyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic service and incredible food!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Myself and my sister had breakfast in this cafe recently. We were short on time and the the staff took formidable care of us.
The food we got was incredibly tasty and the service matched tenfold!
Fab place!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely place especially for coeliacs”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We ate at this restaurant on our first evening of family holiday in Belfast. Grt gluten free options for the coeliac in the party. There was a mix up on the order but this was remedied to our satisfaction. Lovely quirky place with generally very pleasant staff. I hope to get back for breakfast before I leave Belfast!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie123744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relaxing breakfast...”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had breakfast here rather than in our hotel as the hotel charged £16 each....The Harlem Cafe is lovely and quirky inside,nice ambiance and very relaxing.We got a nice welcome,the menu was good and the food we had was good quality and well priced.We will return next time we are in Belfast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alibasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harlem Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Harlem Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing