We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best walking tour ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Experience Belfast

Experience Belfast
Ranked #25 of 107 Tours in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Belfast provides you with the best overview of Belfast you will find. Originally a walking tour which could best be described as street theatre, it's a theatrical experience available as a Day Tour, Walking Tour or Coach Tour. We provide brilliant tours for individuals and groups and we also arrange workshops with writers, politicians and journalists. We consistently receive excellent reviews on Trip Advisor for a reason, this is one of the best tours you'll ever do. If you want something that's informed, intelligent, good fun and craic, we're right up your street.
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
“Best walking tour ever”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Arthur gave us truly unique and mesmerizing glimpses of Belfast past and present (and possibly future) - for almost 2.5 hours we were invited to join our guide on his exploration of both Belfast's better and less known sights: Belfast City Hall and its surroundings, the entries, the Cathedral Quarter, the hallmarks of the Peace Process and those of Belfast's merchant past, all accompanied by political contexts, local histories, urban legends, funny anecdotes, and personal comment. I had been to Belfast many times before, but never had I quite seen and experienced the city as on this particular day. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting Belfast.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    23
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SaarLouis, Germany
1 review
“Smashing and full of great insights!!!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

'Experience Belfast...' is a tour that comes highly recommended. Arthur took us (i.e.: a group of German students) on a more than two hour tour through the city, its Entries, sculptures, sights, stories, and histories. Very witty, very funny - and at some point a bit wet. But that's just how the weather in Belfast is. I think, we actually still had a nice day: there could have been more rain in November (well, the girls were a bit cold, I guess). ;-)
This tour is of a sort that I never had experienced before. Of course there are historical infos about the troubles and the peace process, but also about the art scene in the city, mixed with critical remarks from Arthur's own perspective, which I appreciated very much. It shows that Belfast is not only a city made of some materials and situated in some place, but also t.hat it inhabits acutal people and that there are real issues at hand (as well as ways to overcome the issues).
We ended the tour meeting Terri Hooley, who is considered the godfather of Belfast punkrock. Great craic, I say.
'Experience Belfast...' is a tour for everyone who wants to say that they have not only been there, but that they really have expanded their minds on contemporary Irish/Belfast history and its many facets.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A "must do".”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We heard about Arthur's walking tours and, having visited the city a few times now, thought this would be something a bit different so we booked an hour's tour of 'Hidden Belfast'. As Arthur says, "There's more to Belfast than walls," and an hour in his company gave us a warm, humorous and insightful overview of this great city and its people, none of which we'd have gleaned from visiting the obvious tourist attractions alone. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing tour, must do if visiting Belfast!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Arthur took us on a walk back in time as we explored the hidden streets and alleys of Belfast. His knowledge of the city is second to none, mixed with his great sense of humour and philosophical insights this was one of the best tours we have ever been on. If you are visiting Belfast do yourself a favour and experience Arthur's tour! 

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeamMeanMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'...just walk beside me and be my friend' Albert Camus”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The excellent 'Experience Belfast' tour with Arthur is like visiting a good friend who is eager to impress and show you the best of his hometown. The tour has been very well thought-out and encompasses everything one needs to see and know regarding this amazing city (one of Europe's smallest and most quirky capitals). The day starts with a trip in an iconic black taxi which brings you to see and photograph the famous murals, Titanic area and other must-sees dotted around the city. After that we had the opportunity to sample the local cuisine with a hearty lunch and good chat. In the afternoon, we walked off the calories with a personal guided tour around the city centre and its sights with Arthur. He is a charming, passionate and knowledgeable character in his own right and is known and greeted when walking around the city. It is so nice, as a tourist, to be introduced to locals by your first name and have the opportunity to talk with them. My partner and I are experienced (and somewhat jaded) weekend city-breakers and have visited most European capitals. Not wanting yet another impersonal sightseeing tour atop a HEY I'M A TOURIST double-decker bus, we decided to chance the Experience Belfast tour which we saw on the internet (www.experiencebelfast.com). Without a doubt, this was certainly the best city sight-seeing tour we have ever been on. If you want to sample the best of this amazing city's history, culture, cuisine and characters - the Experience Belfast Tour is a must. Teacherman

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank teacherman1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Experience Belfast also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Experience Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing