We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been anywhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bishops Restaurant - CLOSED

Bishops Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Golden Mile
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Could have been anywhere”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I went for the award winning fish and chips. Unfortunately I cannot find what the award was won for other than chip fat content

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevinmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    13
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small and slow”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Having a few beers with friends and got the munchies so headed to bishops nearby.Sunday night so I thought it would be quick.But it was very slow.So slow I was going to walk out.Ordered a fish and chip with a side of curry with a couple of slices of bread.Tasty enough but fish was very small.Average meal definitely not chipipe of the year standard.

Helpful?
1 Thank 147Steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad taste”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Decided to have a meal out when returning from a day out in dublin went in sat down ordered meal waited for it then get told no scampi ok ill had something else more customers arrive after me sit down place their orders and then get told no scampi but then they get their food before I do so it looks like doesnt matter if u arrive after others but you get your food first wont be going there agian bad taste in mouth and bad service

Helpful?
Thank hoothootmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Having read on the internet being one of the best fish & chips restaurants, I took my girlfriend for a treat.

The fish & chips was okay, but we were served with mouldy bread. NOT nice.

We had tea with our meal, we got a small teapot but we were told that we can have free refills.
The refill was just water, no teabags - you can imagine what the tea looked like after a refill....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and free wi-fi”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent breakfast here, very good service with a smile, free wi-fi is a definite advantage. The decor is cool and it's much better on the inside than the outside looks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank baxter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bishops Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing