We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think I was there on a bad day”
Review of Linen Hall Library

Linen Hall Library
Ranked #38 of 225 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This library, founded in 1788, is the oldest library in Belfast and contains the largest collection of material on Irish studies in Northern Ireland.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I think I was there on a bad day”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I always call into the Library when I am in Belfast. i called in yesterday and the experience was not good.
First things first I would advise visitors to Belfast to spend a little time in this amazing place and I dont want my comments to reflect badly on the Library. However I had 2 poor experiences and hopefully I just got the Library on a bad day.
Firstly I had the worst cup of coffee I have ever had in Belfast. It was weak and insipid and served by a member of staff who appeared disinterested. I managed one mouthful and left the rest. The Cafe space itself is a little osasis of calm and i like it there, normally to sit for 10 minutes, drink my coffee before facing the hustle and bustle outside. A big no no this time.
I was also on a mission this time and wanted to look at some old postcards from the early 1900's. A member of staff in the Linenhall charity shop told me to go into the Library and the staff there would help me. He was very helpful unlike the next member of staff I spoke to on the main desk. I felt ignored and when she did speak to me it was to redirect me to another member of staff who appear engrossed in his computer. Bluntly he gave me wrong information. I left feeling frustrated.
Despite my expereince I would still encourage people to visit this great place and spend a little money when you get there. Hopefully my experience was only an "off day" and not representative of what normally happens there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeanIrish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    60
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Steeped in history! Got a lovely welcome from the staff and they were only too willing to answer any questions I had.
I absolutely adored the artwork and the staircase, it made me feel like I had stepped back in time. I can not recommend visiting here enough.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Delightful Place”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was one of the places I wanted to visit in Belfast. It was such a delightful place. Right from the moment you go through the door you instantly feel the history and grandeur of the place. The staircase is beautiful. The staff were very warm and welcoming. I started off with the nice cafe as I hadn't had breakfast yet. They serve beautiful wheaten bread which I had toast with butter and jam. Delicious. I would love to have this as my local library!

I wanted to see the C S Lewis exhibition and was not disappointed. It was lovely to see some of his correspondence. The paintings are excellent and you can buy a print of some of them. I was fortunate enough to be there at the same time as the painter. I bought a print and he signed it for me.

If you're in Belfast then a visit to the Linen Hall Library is a must.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karimac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The Linen Hall Library was peaceful and very inviting when we visited. There was a very good display of artwork on the stairs and lots of interesting things to look at. We were free to wander around the library. Staff were available but they left you alone - although they looked approachable if you needed to ask them anything.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Haven of History”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A nice place to retreat into for peaceful relaxation, while exploring the city centre in Belfast. Quite unlike any other place to have a cup of tea and learn about the various background views on recent historical matters!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken77708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Linen Hall Library also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Linen Hall Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing