We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay if visiting Belfast”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay if visiting Belfast”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in the Hilton over the Xmas holidays for 2 nights. The hotel staff were very pleasant and attentive. On arrival we were upgraded to the executive room which was a nice bonus and set the tone for the rest of the visit. The room was tidy and had everything we needed, the breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice and a chef was on hand to cook eggs etc to your liking. We tried the bar for some food in the evening and was nice and simple, service was quick and bar staff were friendly. The location of the hotel is fantastic, just a couple of minutes walk to St Georges market, the city hall and the Victoria shopping centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 507John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    897
    433
    187
    112
See reviews for
328
1,159
118
676
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horndean
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at the Belfast Hilton for a few nights in December. The room was very good and very clean. I wish I could say the same for the Reception. On arrival, and at every other occasion I went to Reception, I had to wait. Now that is understandable but when there is only one other guest at the counter and other Reception staff ignore you as they seem to have better things to do is not what I would expect from a hotel of this quality. Also when checking in we were give a welcoming letter from the Hotel Manager inviting us to use the restaurant during our stay and gain additional Hilton points. We went to the restaurant only to find that it was closed for a private function and the only alternative was the dimly lit, and noisy, bar.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the Lagan side of the hotel which has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for your review of Hilton Belfast. Our aim is to create an outstanding experience at the Hilton Belfast and customer feedback is very important to us. I am particularly disappointed to read that the hotel lacked friendliness on your arrival. I must admit that friendliness from our reception team is one of the main areas which we are complimented on, never-the-less, I am sorry that on this occasion you felt otherwise. Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please don’t hesitate to contact me directly - damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here for one night the week before Christmas. We specifically wanted a hotel that had interconnecting rooms to allow the children (5 and 7) go to bed without mum and dad having to go to bed at 7pm too!

From the moment I called to make this request, the team in the Hilton were nothing but brilliant. The first person advised me to make the booking in a particular way to allow save money which worked out well for us. Despite not living in Ireland, he was helpful and friendly.

The hotel is spotless - our rooms were interconnecting as promised too. The bedrooms have a clean, business feeling to them. Crisp linen, clean bathroom and general feeling that the room was well tended. Check in was seamless and friendly too.

We had breakfast in the dining room and enjoyed it - it's a normal hotel buffet with health and some not so healthy options to meet our needs.

The hotel is centrally located too. Overall a big thumbs up.

My only small gripe is the cost of parking in the adjoining car park - we pulled in at 8pm and left the next morning at 10am (it was a Sunday night so the car park was pretty empty) and yet it cost £18 which I thought was a lot.

Otherwise a great hotel and highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you do want an interconnecting room, you need to phone to get one. They only have a limited numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zazzywandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world.
A very warm welcome awaits you on your next stay.
Kind regards,
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We had a beautiful room on the top floor (last room on the right). Our view was gorgeous and the room was very spacious and nice...it was too bad it wasn't clean (bathrooms were disgusting). But I had read other reviews and knew this was where they fell short and hoped when we went it may be different for us, but it wasn't. That's pretty bad when you're paying top £££!! We had a long flight and really needed sleep and hadn't slept in 24hours, when the fire alarm went off at 4am! It was a false alarm but was very scary when you're in a country you've never been to and riots are happening not far away. Needless to say we got very little sleep that night. With most high-end hotels a compensation of some sort is owed to the guest when their sleep is disturbed and it's the fault of the hotel. I was shocked when we checked-out and were given nothing more than an apology from the manager! Unfortunately an apology doesn't give us back the hours of sleep we lost. Management really fell short here and should have stepped up, especially to their executive guests who are paying a fortune to stay in their hotel. Normally I would have complained to management but I was exhausted and just wanted to get out of there. Not the start to my trip I was looking for :-(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caligrl_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel for new year celebrations with a friend and could not have been happier with the choice.

We were able to check in early and the room was large, immaculately clean and had a great view over the city. We booked around 5 weeks in advance and got a great rate, so the value for money was excellent.

The hotel is a short walk to all of the city centre attractions so is a great base for a visit. The concierge (John) was incredibly helpful and assisted us with booking museum tickets, taxi tour and recommending restaurants. I have to admit that we were not disappointed with any of the recommendations at all.

I will most definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manctrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed at the Hilton for the first time in ages to attend a concert next door in the Waterfront Hall. The hotel is ideally located for the Waterfront and The Odyssey, warm welcome at check in staff even used my mums name as she had stayed before, had a great bite to eat in Cables Bar, lovely fish and chips. The highlight of the stay (apart from the view from our fabulous room) was breakfast on Sunday it was fantastic good ingredients well prepared. Looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the cranes of Harland and Wolff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountyDownStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world.
A very warm welcome awaits you on your next stay.
Kind regards,
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed here for NYE for a treat. The hotel is in a great location to head into Belfast for a night out and handy to stagger home to also!! The rooms are great and we had a brilliant view over the lough! The only down side was a slight problem we had with our room but the front staff especially Ciaran (I think his name was) who was very helpful towards this and made a kind gesture in order to apologise for the problem. Excellent customer service and I defiantly will book the Hilton again as a base for a brilliant night out

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world.
A very warm welcome awaits you on your next stay.
Kind regards,
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#24 of 44 in Belfast
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Property: Hilton Belfast
Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing