We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our usual 5* hotel stay.”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I am a hilton gold member and have stayed in numerous Hilton's , but this was our first visit to belfast hilton and probably our last. The first issue is the parking cost £18 for 24 hrs thereafter £2. Not acceptable at a 5* Secondly there are no bathrobes in the room or water, surely these should be provided in a 5* establishment. We went to the bar to have a drink when we arrived and once served decided to take them to our room as the smell of fish in the bar was really strong, coming from the kitchen. The tv was fuzzy, if you are not a gold member you have to pay for internet (terrible) the comment card in our room had already been completed by a previous guest and not collected!!!!!!! There was limited towels and breakfast was just ok. Overall not our usual 5* stay and would not stay again. On the plus side it was convenient to Tedfords Resturant , different review, but amazing place to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bptravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent return stay at the hotel, we always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations.


I have shared your review with the relevant department managers to investigate and I do hope you return to Hotel to see us at our best.

Kind Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,567 - 1,573 of 2,941 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was just lovely to have a wee night away in the Hilton hotel with very welcoming staff. The food was delicious too and a very tasty breakfast. Well situated within walking distance of the city centre. Easy to access and great secure parking next door. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank debster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Belfast. I am very pleased to learn that you left with such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Have visited Belfast a good few times over the last few years but this was our first visit to the Hilton and as we had recently got married and it was Valentines we decided to try the 5 star hilton. Unfortunately it did not live up to expectations.

I am being critical but you expect a high standard for 5 star establishments. Called the hotel early on Valentines morn to organise flowers (know it was quite late to be ordering flowers) and there was a slight difficulty about "whether they could order flowers and what if the flowers came and then we didn't show, then they would be liable for them" - well obviously I wasn't trying to order flowers to not show up so you expect more from a 5 star hotel as would think that this a fairly routine request so they would have a clear system in place- anyway it was sorted after a little while.

We arrived at the hotel in the evening and as i have vehicular difficulties we had to take my wife work vehicle. When we arrived the height limit did not permit entry for the vehicle - no big stress as was sure there was alternative parking available. I went into the hotel and and informed them of the situation and they gave us a pass to park directly outside the front of the hotel - very nice touch (or so i thought).

Room was clean and nice but nothing breathtaking about it for a 5 star, tv was fuzzy, bathroom small, bed was comfy. Went to the bar for a drink before dinner and cocktails and wine were both good. Looked at food menu and seemed very limited but to be fair am sure it was the bar rather than the restaurant menu i was looking at.

Left for Dinner (Ginger Bistro (wonderful) - separate review. Had a great night in Belfast, great bars and very friendly people as always. On return we went for night cap in the bar and chatted to a few young girls working as bar staff - they were a delight and so friendly.

In the morning we checked out and when we departed our vehicle was clamped. I went back to the hotel and explained the situation and they informed me the guy who working at reception was not in today and they could not contact him on the phone to see what arrangement he made with the clamping company. The clampers came and said they would not remove it (i was fine with that as they have a job to do too and in fairness the clamper was a very nice guy). It took 1 1/4 hours to get it resolved and I had to pay and then get a refund later. In fairness the manager at the time was decent to deal with but there is no way we should have been asked to pay anything as it was nut our fault whatsoever. It also mean we were late for a family get together at home the following day. To add insult, the clamper informed us there was a car park 1 min away that did not have a height restriction - why not tell us about that?? He also informed us that parking on street, (2 mins away) was free in evenings and we could have availed of that when arrived!

Was assured we would get a call on Monday once they had "uncovered the miscommunication" but no call came.

All in all, a big disappointment and highly unlikely to stay there again, a lot better 4 stars that we stayed at previously (Malmaison) or if you fancy a splurge then Fitzwilliam or Mechant are far better options.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jude050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very concerned to see the low overall rating that you have provided Hilton Belfast, and as such I would like to discuss your experience in further detail.

Please do contact me at ciaran.mcmanus@hilton.com, and we can work together towards a positive outcome.


Kind Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Hilton on February 14th 2014. It is perfect location to explore the beautiful city, everything is in easy walking distance - restaurants, pubs, shops and sightseeing. The staff on reception were very friendly, attentative and efficient, making you feel very welcome, they are definitely a credit to this hotel. The same applied to the service we had in the bar and when ordering taxis and storing our luggage. We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many amazing restaurants in walking distance and we had breakfast in St Georges market across the road which is a must while in Belfast. The rooms are a generous size, furnished in the usual modern theme for Hilton's, with the white duvet, comfy bed and decent pillows. Bathroom is a good size and very clean. I particularly like the room amenities, with tea/coffee in the room, iron and ironing board and good size flatscreen tv. This is a perfect hotel for a city break and we would be back!

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the river are lovely but to be honest rooms looking over the city to the mountian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minikobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read your positive remarks, and I shall certainly share them with the relevant departments.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel is well located, close to attractions and shopping in Belfast. Very hospitable and helpful staff. Good executive lounge and nice executive floor rooms. Sound proofing could be a bit better to minimise corridor noise.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Belfast. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and I have shared your kind comments with our team.

Kind Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel is less than 15 minutes from City Airport and lass then 5 minutes walk into the city centre, the views across the waterfront are great.
The bedroom I stayed in was very spacious and comfortable, The TV was very big and plenty of tea and coffe I would have expected free wifi, but this wasn't a major issue. Breakfast was plentiful and a good choice from cooked to continental.
I will stay again no problem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Belfast. I am very pleased to learn that you left with such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I went to the Hilton for a meal last night before going to see Sarah Millican at the Waterfront in Belfast. After being shown to our table the waiter asked if he could take our coats which he then threw over the back of chair at a table behind us.

The rest of the evening was spent being largely ignored, repeatedly ordering what we wanted, and eventually being served the wrong thing. On more than one occasion a waitress would be wandering around the tables carrying plates of food asking if anyone had ordered what she had.

The meal finished off with a homage to faulty towers while I tried to explain where we were sitting to get our bill followed by the items we hadn't ordered being added to the cost.

The overall impression was that last night the Hilton employed a team of new restaurant staff who really didn't want to be there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

I was disappointed to receive your feedback, and as such, I would be grateful if you could provide us with your telephone number so that we may contact you at your convenience to discuss your experience in detail.

Please contact our Food & Beverage Manager Michael.Falla@hilton.com

Kind Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 44 in Belfast
1,388 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#16 of 44 in Belfast
2,985 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 44 in Belfast
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#17 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £98 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing