We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor parking, terrible breakfast, average hotel”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Seaton Delaval, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great location, poor parking, terrible breakfast, average hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent location, an easy walk to Titanic or the City. Terrible car park with really tight ramps, stupidly tight in fact for bigger cars. Crazy prices even with Hotel Discount, and quite difficult to get in and out of. Rooms were good, and it seems like there is not a poor view anywhere. Wifi free in public areas, but asking for £15 for 24 hours in today's market is a bit much, especially at over £150 for a room. The service at breakfast was awful with us having to chase waitresses for Tea and Coffee. It wasn't really busy, but staff seemed to think that standing chatting about the previous night was ok, and one blond girl with a different hairstyle seemed to be nothing but decoration. Must do better Hilton,this is not the first negative review I've gave your brand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent return stay at the hotel, we always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations.

I have shared your review with the relevant department managers and apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We hope to see you back at Hilton Belfast in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Ciarán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    897
    434
    187
    112
See reviews for
328
1,159
118
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here as a base for a concert and sightseeing. About 20 mins walk from the "Odessey Arena" which suited us perfectly after an excellent meal. Breakfast was upto the expectations for a Hilton and all of the staff were exceptionally helpful especially the concierge with whom we booked tours. Our room was spotless as was the Hotel. We found nothing to complain about, the whole visit went flawlessly (except for the rain).We would have no hesitation in using the Hilton Belfast again.

Room Tip: We booked on line and got a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seentheworld_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for the Hotel. It is always a pleasure to have our loyal guests share their experiences with rest of the world.

A very warm welcome awaits you on your next return.

Kind Regards,

Ciarán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

There are positive aspects of this hotel that should be acknowledged before jumping into what I don't like. The location is great for walkability. The city center and Victoria's square are both nearby and the titanic museum is only about a mile away. The equipment in the gym is pretty new and the facility seems very clean.

The negatives kind of overlap the positives. Location problems include the train tracks the hotel backs up against. If you have a room with an odd number this is the side of the building you are on and the train can be quite loud. The gym has nice equipment, but as hotel gyms often are, the options are limited and the space small. The biggest issue for me with this hotel is I don't find the mattresses comfortable. I know this is a personal preference and someone else might think they are great. They aren't working for me though and I struggle to get good rest here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank heatherh595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Hotel. It is always a pleasure to have our loyal guests share their experiences with rest of the world.

A very warm welcome awaits you on your next return. 



Kind Regards,

Ciarán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff was lovely, the room spacious and clean and the bed extremely comfortable. However, the bathroom was terribly smelly, the corridor very noisy (although I was on the executive floor) and the breakfast very average in terms of quality and choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your comments.

We value all feedback and your comments will be fed back to the team to aid continuous improvements.

Thanks for choosing Hilton Belfast

Kind Regards

Ciarán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Went to this hotel as part of a event my company was hosting in the hotel itself. Arrived at the hotel to find the staff very helpful and quick to get me checked in. Got to my room to find the corridor had a few items scattered on the floor including a vacuum that appeared to have been abandoned. Though the room itself was clean and tidy, it wasn't anything special with rooms comparable to places like Premier Inn. WiFi was pretty awful and kept disconnecting me every 15 minutes or so which was a real pain when you want to get some work done. The conferencing rooms were very good and well laid out with the food provided being of a very good standard. Overall a good stay, just a shame about the WiFi and the general tidiness in the corridors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0l0ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to deliver your feedback.

We value all guest feedback, and I will ensure your comments are noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back again

Kind Regards

Ciarán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night room large,bed comfy nice view few small things not enough tolietries for 2. No biscuits or water and tissue box was empty minor but for prices it is important to maintain standards. Breakfast good but used to be better,no smoked salmon or crepes
Would not need to let standards slip any further.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We value all guest feedback, and I will ensure your comments are noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back again

Kind Regards

Ciarán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stay in Hiltons regularly on business and always find them perfectly acceptable and comfortable however this was a rare opportunity to relax and enjoy the hotel.

On check in we received a friendly greeting. The male staff member who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded - always a bonus when celebrating a special occasion.

Our room was clean and fresh with a gorgeous view of the city. It had loads of space and everything we could have needed for our stay. The only negative comment I would make - and it is a similar case as with all Hiltons I have stayed in - is that the room was very warm even with the air con on full for the duration of our stay. The beds however were so comfortable - it was like sleeping on a cloud.

We had a lovely evening stay and were even greeted with smiles from the Night staff as we arrived home in the early hours from celebrations in town. On check out, we encountered a small billing error but the member of staff was extremely apologetic and sorted the matter quickly and easily.

Our stay was topped off by a lovely breakfast - the buffet was excellent - although the juice selection was running very low when we arrived and was not topped up. The staff were cheerful, polite and very friendly - Oliver in particular was a delight (especially in our slightly fragile state) being very quick to offer tea and coffee and generally being very happy and enthusiastic for a Sunday morning. Although the restaurant was quite busy for breakfast, Oliver (who appeared to be in charge) appeared to have everything under control and the setting remained extremely relaxed - exactly the way breakfast should be :)

I always find my opinions of hotels are extremely dependent on the staff I encounter, rather than the actual amenities of the hotel itself. On this occasion the staff at Hilton Belfast really made our weekend and our stay. It was a delight and I look forward to returning in near future.

Room Tip: A high floor room on any side of the hotel gives a beautiful view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rae521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to deliver your feedback.

I’m so pleased to read that we made a special occasion a memorable one for you. We have a great team here at Hilton Belfast, I am glad their hard work and commitment has not gone unnoticed. I will make sure Oliver in particular receives the kudos he deserves.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Ciarán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#24 of 44 in Belfast
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Property: Hilton Belfast
Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing