We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This property was part of an tour through Ireland.Well chosen,nice property and great location.
Amazing Front Desk and Concierge .
Well appointed,comfortable rooms.
Maid service poor,no Kleenex,left dirty drinking glasses with content no replenishing of water.Did not exchange spoons,still dirty!
Food,part of a group dinner was excellent.
The only drawback was the Service,very slow and totally disorganized ,close to 3 hours to complete a three course meal!
25 minutes to get a drink.
Our group was about 40 guest with 3 people serving.
Observed in the glass kitchen that the food was plated but not picked up fluently.
Inexperienced,young staff with no apparent Management staff coordinating. Inexcusable for Hilton property!
Otherwise a nice stay,thanks to the Front Desk!

G


Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kapitaenleutnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Hilton Belfast.

Thank you I will pass on your kind comments to the Front Office team. I have also passed on your comments regarding the restaurant. We are very experienced in dealing with large groups, so I’m unsure what happened on this particular occasion.
We hope you will be joining us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 2,996 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

The room was large clean and comfortable but room wi/fi was expensive. The location was good but the breakfast service was not. I expected the large, clean and comfortable room but expected better from a Hilton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

All comments are noted and fed back to the relevant mangers. We hope you will join us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As to location, this hotel is located right next to the River Lagan, slightly out of the main city. The main city is only about 10 minutes walk away, but there is very little around the hotel except offices and the courts. Its nice to look over the river. However, one draw back to this is the railway that runs along the back of the building. The trains sound their horns here and there is a constant sound of steel scraping along steel - from early in the morning to late at night. Sleep quality was poor.

This Hotel, like many Hilton Hotels, suffers an identity crisis in that it is predominantly a business hotel and clearly hosts many of the city's conferences. Consequently normal tourist travellers (like us) feel slightly out of place. The rooms are neat and tidy, as to be expected from a business focussed hotel. I couldn't really comment on the staff as we didn't speak to any from when we booked in to when we checked out 5 days later. Prices of food and drink around the hotel were very expensive - perhaps not a problem if the bill is going on expenses but very off putting for non-business guests.

However, the biggest gaffe is to charge guests £14.99 per day to have wifi access in the rooms (its free in the lobby). This is extraordinary for a hotel in this day and age where wifi is so often free even in the smallest hotel. This isn't an infrastructure issue as the wifi is available, but it can only be a way of getting even more money out of guests - again this probably isn't a problem if its going on expensive but for a couple like us its a massive mistake. For the 5 days we were there this would have cost just under an extra £75 just to access wifi in our room! What would otherwise have been a 3 - 4 star review drops to a 2 star review because of this.

All in all we felt that this hotel and its charging structure is set up for business guests and not tourist guests. We loved Belfast and Northern Ireland and will definitely go back, but will look elsewhere for a hotel in Belfast next time (unless I am there on business with an expenses account!).

Room Tip: Buy a wifi package before you go. And try and get a room away from the sound of the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007rjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We value all guest feedback and pass all comments to relevant mangers. The Cost of Wi-Fi does fall in line with most other Hilton’s of a similar class, but is due to be reviewed over the next 12 months.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here for an overnight business trip and overall it was a good experience. Facilities are of a high standard./ Staff helpful and efficient, if not overly friendly. I had one difficulty at check in over duplicate pyment

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Eamon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Hilton Belfast and awarding us a great four stars!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My stay at the Hilton Belfast was terrific. I thought that the location of the hotel was good: very convenient and safe. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. The hotel was quiet and you're able to get a great rest. But what impressed me the most was the terrific hotel staff. During check in, check out and the other interactions I had with them, each person I spoke with was friendly, helpful and professional. I'd recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again on another visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank BlackCat_TravelPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased we exceeded your expectations and the hard work and commitment of our great team did not go unnoticed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Location: 6/10
The Hilton is located within a few minutes’ walk from Belfast Central station, and a ten minute walk from the busy area of Great Victoria St where there are loads of restaurants and shops. Not a bad location, easy enough to find if driving. From Dublin it’s just under two hours. About a fifteen minute walk to The Titanic Quarter.

Reception: 2/10
Check in was quick. However I did email 6 days ahead of our stay requesting a higher floor for good views of Belfast. When we checked in I was told that this was missed by them, and although she could see it on the requests that it was now too late and she could do nothing for us. This was very disappointing, more so in how she dealt with it. Zero effort to try, zero effort to move us higher or even to a better room? Nothing. Bad start.
We asked for directions to a restaurant and were sent to the wrong street a good 10minute walk away, which was a shame.
They do an express check out which can be handy. Watch out though if you have parked with them in the overpriced multi story next door, without your receipt on checkout you will not get their rate of £19 for the night, (7pm to 10am), which meant I had to go back to the hotel and get proof of our stay. Very annoying.

Rooms: 3/10
The room we had was a Deluxe King Size on the third floor. It was clean but lacked a lot of what I would expect from any 4 star hotel, never mind a 5 star. The wood work on the doors and wardrobes are shabby and damaged. The bed was terrible, extremely hard and also very noisy with even the slightest move bringing a huge creek to wake you up. The Air Con was needed as it was a warmish day in Belfast (19-21 degrees Celsius). However it was impossible to have it on and sleep, old AC unit that was louder than most televisions. You could not have the window opened slightly either as the room we had backed onto the Belfast Odyssey (large concert venue) and the ventilation systems at the rear were on, which was almost as loud. Bathroom needs refurbishment and again, does not look anything like a 5 star hotel. No complimentary water although you were given a kettle and coffee/tea. No free Wi-Fi available, but could be purchased and added to your bill. TV has all the locally available regular channels and radio with movie rental etc.
View from the room was terrible, the back of the Odyssey Arena and just industrial sized skips everywhere, and a building site to the right of that. Very noisy too with the ventilation systems, and this was with nothing on in the venue. See the photos and note that this is from the inside of the room with the window only slightly ajar. Terrible.

The Bar/Restaurant: 5/10
Bar is nice but is more of a restaurant than anything. Expensive for a drink with a pint of lager at £5 and a glass of Prosecco at £9. The restaurant in the morning is nice enough and spacious. The breakfast is your typical buffet with all the usual on offer, and no better than what you would find in any Travelodge or Premier Inn. The decking area outside the window has become overrun with high weeds and is very run down, zero effort to clean it up it appears by the hotel.
They do have a Costas Coffee shop adjoining the hotel.

Facilities: 2/10
Parking was a scandalous £19 for 15hours. NO lifts either to higher floors in the parking lot so you need to lift your bags up, strange.
There is a business centre with some PC’s and printer.
Small Gym on the lower floors, but no pool which is surprising for a 5 star hotel
No free Wi-Fi which is baffling at this stage that any hotel would not provide it for their guests.

Value: 1/10
As I have said, this is in no way 5 star. £159 for a double room which is only comparable with a £50 Premier Inn Room is simply not good value. The staff, while mostly friendly and helpful, are far from 5 star trained. This is possibly the type of hotel that handles mid-week business guests who are not paying themselves but staying on expenses better than tourists.

The Good: 5/10
Very little to be honest and nothing you will not get from the Premier Inn/Jurys Inn style hotels in a better location at a quarter of the cost.

The Bad: 2/10
Reception was poor, not helpful. Room was very average and a terrible bed which was very hard to sleep on. Poor AC that cannot be on while you sleep without earplugs. Too much to disappoint you when you are expecting a 5 star hotel experience but end up with 3 star.

Overall: 3/10
I would not recommend the hotel for any price, let alone £159. It’s simply not a 5 star hotel, not even 4. Belfast is a fantastic city with many options for hotels elsewhere and in better locations, you should choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, or insist on one, facing the other side of the Odyssey Arena. They don't se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stepehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I was disappointed that aspects of your stay were not to your satisfaction. The experience you have described is not a typical example of our usual high standard of service and I will make sure all your comments are fed back to the team.

Kind Regards

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location, a very easy 5 to 10 minute walk to the shops and city centre.
Quiet room with a massive bed (4th floor) bed a little hard for my taste but I guess it's a difficult one to please everyone!
Great welcome by reception staff who were very charming, food excellent and again restaurant staff were attentive and welcoming - well done!
Pity wifi isn't free in rooms - it is in lobby areas but really need it in bedroom otherwise £14.99 is too much and car park is v. Expensive, only negatives...wine quite expensive in bar too... But hey it's a city centre hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for room with river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your comments.

We value all feedback and your comments will be fed back to the team to aid continuous improvements.

Thanks for choosing Hilton Belfast

Kind Regards

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#11 of 45 in Belfast
1,645 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,111 reviews
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 45 in Belfast
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £82 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing