We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent friendly service and well located”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly service and well located”
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Had a very enjoyable 2 night break in the Hilton last weekend. Service was excellent and staff extremely friendly. Bedroom was spotless and very roomy with good facilities. Breakfast was very good. I am coeliac (I have a wheat & gluten intolerence) and the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel - staff understood my condition and the chef freshly prepared my breakfast each morning. The hotel is well located close to shops and restaurants.

On the down side the trains passing outside can be noisy but can't be heard when the windows are closed. Parking is available in the adjoining car park but you pay extra - £18 for 24 hrs when we were there.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glutenfreeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    886
    429
    186
    112
See reviews for
324
1,143
114
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Not sure if I agree totally with this hotel being a 4 star. The rceeption area is very nice and the staff are very friendly and helpful but the room was a little dated and the bathroom was not up to scratch either.

We did get a very good rate from the Hilton website during their January sale so can't grumble too much but can see why other people have left negative reviews.

Therew as plenty of choice for breakfast, the hotel is in a quiet part of the city but very near all the shops and the centre of town. The bus from the city airport drops you off just near it but be warned you can't get it back from that bus stop.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Dirty bathroom
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fatboyonadiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

I would higly reccommend this hotel to anyone! the staff went out of theri way to make us feel welcome, the food was lovely, the room was great, very clean, modern and well stocked with everything you might need. The location is also excellent, only 5 minutes walk to Vistoria Square Shopping Centre and all the restaurants/pubs. Only small complaint: There is no hotel car park, and the car park beside it is very expensive even with hotel discount so be warned.

  • Liked — Very friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Expensive Parking
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

I stayed at the Hilton in January 2009. The hotel was clean and modern. The room was well appointed with views over the river. The staff were extremely helpful and the food was great.

I can't understand the negative reviews posted here. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Steely707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We spent 2 nights here arriving on New Year's Day. We contacted the hotel directly and negotiated a great rate for 2 interconnecting rooms for us and our 3 yr old girl. The check-in staff were pleasant enough, though we thought the lobby and entrance weren't exactly 5-star standard. Because of a series of blunders by Hilton (room wasn't ready, then new rooms weren't inter-connecting), we were finally upgraded to the top floor which included access to the executive lounge which was really nice. The room was a good size with nice river views and the beds were comfortable, but the carpets were worn and the air-con caused all of us to have stuffy noses! We enjoyed the buffet breakfast with the friendly staff but they don't tend to top up the food enough, so you are sometimes waiting. All in all, we enjoyed the stay as the staff were friendly and welcoming but we didn't feel we were staying ina 5-star hotel. Good value only if you get a good deal.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miya'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Very good hotel - rooms are great and very comfortable. This hotel is central to the city centre - just a 5 min walk. It is also very convenient if you are going to an event in the Odyssey. A taxi is about £3.50 to/from the Odyssey. Breakfast was the only downside to this hotel - quite poor service and quality. Next time I will go down the street and get a £3.95 Irish breakfast in one of the many cafes!

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank abrolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2009

I stayed at The Hilton recently with my parents as we were attending a concert in The Odyssey. For a 5 star hotel I wasn't impressed at all. We had originally only booked one night but needed to stay another and rather than move hotels, we stayed on a second night. The first night we stayed in the standard rooms which were reasonable. However, while the Hilton's own website states that you should 'choose this contemporary 28m²/301sq.ft room for city, river or mountain views', my parent's room looked over a horrible car park. My air-conditioning wasn't working initially and I needed to call down to get it turned on. When I retured to my room after dinner that evening, it was off again, and this time it took two calls to get it back on. Neither of our rooms had the promised bathrobes either.

The second night we had to upgrade to the executive rooms as they had nothing else available. This time we both had a view but my parents room had a half bottle of wine and some chocolates laid out for them, while mine had none?? On the following morning, I called down to reception for help to locate the hairdryer. I was initially told the wrong location of it and when I called again to say it wasn't there, I was told someone would be up with one straight away. In the meantime, my mother located it (in a very hidden drawer in the desk) but out of curiosity I didn't cancel the arrival of the new one. True enough, no one ever arrived anyway.

The main reception area was incredibly cold any time we passed through it and the bar very basic and almost unpleasant. While we accepted that we stayed on one of the busiest nights of the year with Christmas parties etc, we didn't expect to have to put up with loud pumping music in the bar both nights when thats not where the parties were being held.
Breakfasts were reasonable - a very good selection of food but the hot food wasn't great. The staff at breakfast were very friendly however.

Finally, as we were checking out, my mother was amazed to hear one of the receptionists and the concierge having a blazing row just beside her - needless to say, I won't be back to this or any Hilton Hotel if posssible.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JKIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Property: Hilton Belfast
Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing