We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top marks for the Hilton”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
“top marks for the Hilton”
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Top marks for the position - our room was overlooking the River Lagan - very nice view - Very central for the city centre - walking distance about 5 minutes - no passing road traffic notice but the downside was that we were near the railway lines and on the flight path from the city airport - but you did get used to the noise.
top marks for the breakfast - food was very tasty and a lot of choice. buffet style - you could eat as much as you wanted.
top marks for the staff - we found the staff very helpful and any problem/queries we had were sorted out immediately. We even had a fire alarm - and this was carried out very efficiently.
top marks for the room which was very clean and neat and tidy, with lovely Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries. the only down side was that the furniture could have been a bit more modern - but what we had was OK.
we will certain stay there again if we visit Belfast again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggaNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    909
    441
    191
    115
See reviews for
338
1,182
120
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,024 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The Hilton Belfast was an excellent choice for a short break in this fascinating city.
The reception area is light and airy and the staff at the check-in are friendly and courteous. The room was modern in design and a good size. There was a great view over the city and the River Lagan. The bathroom was also a good size and very well-appointed.
We had booked half-board and would recommend this very highly. The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast with a very good choice. In the evening, there is an à la carte menu with a wonderful selection. The quality of the dinner is tremendous. Of particular mention would be the restaurant manager - Christine - who made us feel extremely welcome. This made a real difference to our stay.
The location is very good and is in easy walking distance from the main shopping area and attractions.
Next to the lobby is a nice bar with reasonably-priced drinks - this is well worth a visit.
I would have no problem in recommending this hotel and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Been here before when it first opened, which was not a good experience, but decided to give the Hilton another chance on a trip to Belfast this week.

What a mistake. In one of the 'refurbished' rooms we had a cracked wash hand basin with the cracks old enough to be ingrained with dirt, half a roll of toilet paper, no tissues, one small bar of soap between two people, and only one bath towel. When my wife went to have a bath she found the plughole blocked with human hair. The maintenance man came and extracted enough hair to make a small wig and was so disgusted by this and the fact that the bath itself had not been cleaned that he himself called the duty manager.

The manager came up and also expressed disgust at the appalling collection of old hair, and offered to move us to another room or have dinner with his compliments, but we had already eaten and were too tired to move so we settled for a free bottle of sparkling water.

That night I had to put a towel over the pillows on the bed as I could smell someone's else's scent or perfume from them. (And I have an awful sense of smell.)

Breakfast in our room was awful (and expensive). The eggs appeared to have been fried in dirty oil or fat, and were covered in black and brown specks of indeterminate origin and age. The toast did not look or taste as if it had been made from bread at all, but from some special artificial substance with no texture or flavour.

We complained about the whole experience again when checking out, and while the front desk staff were most courteous, there was of course no offer to make any concession on our bill. But they implored us to 'give them another chance' on a future visit.

We will not ever, ever be giving them another chance. Twice is plenty, thanks.

(Oh, and 15 pounds sterling to park your car for the night.)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazurka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

the rooms have been refurbished since our last visit, the decor is very contemporary. the breakfast was very good and the staff were pleasant. the hotel is ideally placed for visiting st georges market and the victoria sq shopping centre. we got a good deal from last minute.com and would have no hesitation in returning

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTMNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We arrived in Belfast via train from Dublin and were able to walk to the hotel from the central station.

The hotel is close enough to walk to the train station (5 minutes), nearly all of downtown Belfast, and many restaurants. Plus, it is right on the river, which makes for pleasant views. Rooms were clean and quiet. I would certainly consider staying here again if I ever go to Belfast.

We had most of the day to spend in Belfast. The concierge helped us with our game plan for the day and he set up a black taxi tour that picked us up at the hotel and toured us throughout the city. As the other reviews say here, this is an absolute must-do in Belfast. Ask the driver to take you into the old shipyards as well to see where the Titanic was built. Then we walked around downtown and down to the Botannical Gardens and museum, which were really nice (because we had good weather).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckiz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBelfast, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2011
Thank you for your fantastic feedback.

Our team are proud to read of your excellent stay at Hilton Belfast. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Damian
damian.gilvary@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We arrived Thursday evening and wanted to head straight out to sample the city, however there was a problem with the hot water. Within 15 minutes they had moved us out of the room and upgraded us to one of the exec rooms entitling us to the exec club room with free drinks. Very impressive. Room was great although hairdryer could do with upgrading! About 10 mins into city centre. Good breakfast. Would definitely stay again, bargain at £64 a night.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyfHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Hilton Belfast is in a great location,walking distance to city center.Very clean rooms,excellent breakfast,but a little pricey. They arranged a Black taxi guided tour for us with a very knowledgeable driver,also a trip to Giants causeway with a great guide..the only negitive thing was the car park[18pound] per night.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsaHawkeye44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#24 of 44 in Belfast
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,534 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Property: Hilton Belfast
Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing