We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Belfast!”
Review of Maryville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maryville House
Ranked #9 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem in Belfast!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stunning wee gem on busy Lisburn Road in Belfast. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, and I just loved the quirkiness of decor and the Irish charm :)
I was only for a cup of tea and a scone earlier this year but I would love to go back again x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctipster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    46
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
42
56
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

As a tea room I loved this place, it is a nice place to treat yourself at the weekend but as a B&B it fails to deliver. (Brides-to-be pay attention)

We booked the whole house out for the accommodation for our wedding night for the bridal party as it fitted in with the theme of the day and our venue didn’t have bedrooms. We also booked a second night for us (bride and groom).

The first point that is still annoying me weeks later is that they gave us the smallest room (apart from the single). There was no wardrobe so I had to leave my wedding dress in my parents’ room the first night and hanging on the bathroom door our second night.
The next day when well-wishers came round we were crammed like sardines in our tiny attic room as they made it clear we couldn’t use the function room on the first floor – which we had specifically been told we could use when we booked! There was only one small dining chair at the desk.

The storage cupboard was also located right next to our room so we had the happy sounds of banging from first thing.

The arrangements at booking also included us all having a cooked breakfast in the function room and the staff tried to make us eat downstairs and told us there were only a few tables left! I refused. On the second morning we ate in the main restaurant.

In addition they kept trying to charge us more than had originally been agreed so get your quote emailed to you and keep it!

From the time we first went to see the rooms to the day of our wedding there was a high turnover of staff so I was constantly having to send THEM all their own details.

If you are using this for your wedding you probably want something smaller and less stressful – so this is not the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J_Judgemental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Manager at Maryville House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Judith R,
Please find a review written by a bride and groom that held their wedding function in Maryville .
“Thank you so much for making our day so special. Everything was top – notch, we couldn’t have been more pleased with how the day turned out and that was largely due to the professionalism of your staff and the fantastic food” Kiera & John 2011

Thank you for your feedback on our B&B, which we appreciate – we are always looking to improve our services and facilities. It’s a pity that you have brought this to our attention 8 months later.
As you mentioned in your review, you booked our B&B rooms for your wedding party- not as a wedding venue - all rooms where shown to you, and you chose Darjeeling . We were surprised that you chose this room as you had the option of choosing one of the large family rooms – nonetheless we did not question your choice as you seemed to like this particular room. We have a regular guest who stays in the room of your choice in our B&B, it was organised so it would be free for your usage and to accommodate for your booking.
At breakfast time it was suggested to your guests as they were arriving at different times that the food would keep better and that the ambience of the tea rooms would be nicer for them, rather than an half empty large room. We thought it was in your best interest that the food was cooked to order – rather than kept on hot plates for a lengthy time – to ensure it being freshly cooked.
On the morning after your first night stay, the function room had not been booked off for you. Referring to the emails exchanged the function room was only requested for the day of your arrival. The room was booked for another function later that day. If you can recall, as when you were leaving asked, if it was a hen party and so kindly offered them a flower from your bouquet as a token of good luck.
Last but not least, yes there was a change of management, which was something we had not anticipated. We had been in correspondence with you for a lengthy period regarding your booking and the request for details, was simply to ensure that everything would be to your liking on your special day.
We wish you had brought your concerns to us at the time, for example when you were chatting to our housekeeper regarding your honey moon in South Africa, or when you were chatting to our supervisor about your vintage wedding theme, we would’ve been able to offer you a solution.
Kind regards,
Maryville House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for a weekend and were overwhelmed by the friendly Irish charm that welcomed us. The service was pleasant and above all had that Irish charm that you would expect in a rural environment and not in a city dwelling. The breakfast was a delight and the variety was amongst the best we have ever experienced. There was ample tea/coffee/juice and cakes/scones etc. Spoilt for choice is an understatement as this made the visit more than rewarding. We will be regular visitors to this spot and will most definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBarrett01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at Maryville House when I took my son to join Queens University.
I was completely delighted with the welcome and accommodation at Maryville. The staff could have not been more friendly and hospitable and I loved the quirkiness and tastefulness of the décor. As I will no doubt be returning to Belfast over the next three years, Maryville will become my first choice for B&B every time!
I will also be recommending Maryville to members of my family who will be visiting Belfast and I'm confident that they will have an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Since I live locally, I haven't stayed at Maryville House, but I did have afternoon tea there and I cannot recommend it enough. My husband and I went for my birthday in mid July which was a particularly warm and sunny day in Belfast. We were worried that the tea rooms would be quite warm but found that they were extremely pleasant and airy as the staff had the windows and doors open which created such a lovely atmosphere. The tea room itself was lovely and cosy. I loved the fact that my husband and I could order our own sandwiches for the afternoon tea since he and I have differing sandwich tastes. The scones, while not tradition, were the best I ever had. The service that we experienced was very good; the staff were extremely friendly. All in all, my birthday afternoon tea made my day extremely special. I will be having many more afternoon teas here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzahm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I went for afternoon tea for my birthday. It was great to be able to order the sandwich you like as I am very fussy! I must say the food was truly excellent, sandwiches so fresh, scones still warm and the mini desserts were just lovely! We had booked in advance, I thought the service was very good.

The only critique - we were served our tea in vintage style mis-matching crockery, shabby chic as it is known, I felt that the modern black table and black and white chairs didn't quite match in with this look, perhaps a nice linen table cloth would have set it off more.

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope_900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossgar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Food was fine once it eventually arrived, order was wrong but they did rectify it. We were sitting on a bench and it wasn't very comfortable, also very close to next table so hard to have private conversation. Sandwiches and scones were nice but sweets disappointing. Overall it was ok just cramped and slow, decor inside lovely just looking for more luxury

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmah6981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
The Gregory
#2 of 48 in Belfast
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryville House

Property: Maryville House
Address: 2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryville House is an exquisite Victorian residence, superbly renovated with a modern twist. It is situated on the cosmopolitan Lisburn Road in South Belfast, within its own private grounds together with secure car-parking and bus routes into the city centre. It is situated within close proximity to the motorway. The boutique accommodation includes the following facilities:• Individually designed rooms with antique furniture• All rooms have an en-suite• Free wireless internet access• Flat screen TV• Tea and coffee making facilities with selection of homemade scones and traybakes fresh daily from our bakery• Complimentary sparkling and still mineral water• Ipod dock/charger/alarm clock on request• Iron/ironing board• Hairdryer• Sewing kit• Golf tee off times can be arranged at N.I. top clubs• Salmon fishing trips can be arranged at the Tilenmore Fishery on the famous River Finn. Maryville’s breakfasts include a wide and varying range of the finest options from healthy fresh fruit salads and natural organic yoghurts to Eggs Benedict or the Maryville House Full Breakfast, served with free range eggs and the finest quality locally sourced sausage. The range of specialty Suki Teas is endless and an extensive range of coffees is made with the finest lusso beans. Maryville also serves all day breakfasts for its guests. In addition, Maryville’s unique in-house tearoom offers a delicious range of light lunches and home-baked fare. With their own bakery, artisan breads, tray-bakes, pastries, cakes and scones are baked daily. They are complemented by homemade jams from their family farm in County Armagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryville House Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing