We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Maryville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maryville House
Ranked #8 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I purchased two vouchers as Christmas presents for my sisters - I thought this experience would be something different and very pleasant. I booked a table 4 weeks in advance and were really looking forward to it. When we arrived for our 3.00 booking, we were told that our table was not ready. We were shown into the "little" snug and given tea. 20 minutes later we were shown to our table. We could not hear ourselves speak as there was a table of about 20 young and older females sitting close to us. When our afternoon tea arrived it was very scanty. The sandwiches which we pre-selected were okay. The next layer were the scones. They were dry, for three of us we got two tiny dishes of fresh cream and one tiny dish of jam. The final layer was pastries. There were three tiny plastic glasses with fresh cream, nine small pastries which were very dry and not very appetising. We assumed we had to put the cream on the pastries ourselves (no spoons supplied to do this). At a cost of nearly £14 per head I certainly will not be recommending this to any of my friends. VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Kathleen

I am sorry you feel being offered a seat and refreshments as you were waiting for your table as an inconvenience, we are surprised you felt this way. Many of our guests fight over sitting in this area as it is intimate and gives an opportunity for private conversation.

As I am sure you can appreciate on a busy day we do your out most to provide everyone with a relaxing enjoyably experience, hence we do not think it is appropriate to chase guests away from their table. As we are getting more and more in demand with our afternoon teas we might have to consider implementing a maximum booking time.

All produce from our own home bakery is delivered fresh on a daily basis,all produce is hand baked, we use Belgian chocolate, free range eggs, butter,not margarine & no mixes, preservatives or additives. The cream provided was for your scones, and yes you are supposed to spread the jam, butter or cream on the scone yourself as everyone likes to spend time and prepare their scones to their liking.The little pots you referred to as cream was white chocolate mousse. Our little treats are normally a big hit and most guests will either finish their plates or take the remainders home in a little goodie bag. I am sorry you were disappointed, however I feel we tried to make your visit a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    46
    23
    12
    9
See reviews for
42
54
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

my friend and i had afternoon tea here,it was very good.nice setting,sandwiches etc tasted good and the staff were very friendly.at 13.95 quite good value for money esp as i got free refills of filter coffee.i will have afternoon tea here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killyleagh
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

First impressions good. Liked the look of the place immediately. In very good taste.
Nice atmosphere with a good buzz. My friend and I were greeted warmly and were served good coffee fairly swiftly.
We both ordered the full breakfast and requested poached eggs instead of the scrambled eggs offered. This didn't pose a problem.
When breakfast arrived it wasn't so much the quality of the ingredients but the careless manner the components were cooked that grated. Bacon rind was un crisped and therefore unappetising, the soda and potato bread the same. A grill for the bacon and a hot pan and a little oil for the bread would have cured the problem. Cooked tomato was under ripe and insipid looking. Our black pudding still had the casing on it. The sausage however was good quality and mushrooms were nicely cooked. In summary I found it a shame that someone's carelessness took the shine off what is undoubtedly a lovely place in a great area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheknowsyouknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Called in by chance and had bagels bacon and cream cheese. Very nice indeed with large pot of tea. Very pleasant surroundings. Def would go back and reasonably priced too. Staff were also very welcoming offering a high chair for the baby

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I was given an afternoon tea voucher for Christmas from my daughter. I have to say honestly it was one of the nicest experiences I have had in a long time. After the endless days and nights of bad service at local eateries wrong orders moody staff and a general attitude of pay and go Maryville House was a refreshing and uplifting change.

My daughter and I where greeted at the door, brought straight to our table which was beautifully set, and asked with real interest how we were! We where offered tea while we had a look at the menu and the waitress chatted away even though the tea room was busy. Once our order was placed we where left to sit and enjoy the atmosphere of this lovely house.
Just before our afternoon tea was about to be presented the SAME waitress offered us fresh drinks. I highlight the same waitress as it is lovely to have the same person continue to serve you throughout your time in a restaurant. The afternoon tea was scrumptious. Fresh sandwiches, warm scones, mini traybakes and jellies and lemon moose severd with cute spoons tied with ribbion!

Overall a fantastic and quaint experience that I most definitely will be repeating!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lizthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

After two excellent visits to this tearoom, I recommended it to a group of friends. Sadly this time things were different. Sandwiches were fresh and tasty but sweet selection left a lot to be desired. They were very dry and tasteless, not like previous times. We had to wait for ages for our order to be taken and even then had to call the waitress. We had to ask for more hot water and just felt the service was lacking. I wrote to complain but did not receive a reply. When I eventually telephoned I received an apology and an assurance that all complaints were taken seriously.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEO1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had afternoon tea with my wife for our anniversary, had to chop and change booking due to late arrivals of family so rather than 2 ended up with 5 and a baby! Staff were friendly, attentive and understanding. Lovely decor, romantic setting, afternoon tea was tasty and festive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaun3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
The Gregory
#2 of 51 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryville House

Property: Maryville House
Address: 2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryville House is an exquisite Victorian residence, superbly renovated with a modern twist. It is situated on the cosmopolitan Lisburn Road in South Belfast, within its own private grounds together with secure car-parking and bus routes into the city centre. It is situated within close proximity to the motorway. The boutique accommodation includes the following facilities:• Individually designed rooms with antique furniture• All rooms have an en-suite• Free wireless internet access• Flat screen TV• Tea and coffee making facilities with selection of homemade scones and traybakes fresh daily from our bakery• Complimentary sparkling and still mineral water• Ipod dock/charger/alarm clock on request• Iron/ironing board• Hairdryer• Sewing kit• Golf tee off times can be arranged at N.I. top clubs• Salmon fishing trips can be arranged at the Tilenmore Fishery on the famous River Finn. Maryville’s breakfasts include a wide and varying range of the finest options from healthy fresh fruit salads and natural organic yoghurts to Eggs Benedict or the Maryville House Full Breakfast, served with free range eggs and the finest quality locally sourced sausage. The range of specialty Suki Teas is endless and an extensive range of coffees is made with the finest lusso beans. Maryville also serves all day breakfasts for its guests. In addition, Maryville’s unique in-house tearoom offers a delicious range of light lunches and home-baked fare. With their own bakery, artisan breads, tray-bakes, pastries, cakes and scones are baked daily. They are complemented by homemade jams from their family farm in County Armagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryville House Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing