We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed - this place used to be great!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maryville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maryville House
Ranked #8 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed - this place used to be great!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I'm really sad to be writing this review as we have been regular customers at Maryville for about 3 years now and I have recommended it to a lot of people and have even bought gift vouchers for family members for afternoon tea. Our family have came here for afternoon tea for the last 3 years for my young daughters birthday. This year the girl who took our reservation was really unhelpful, rude and in fact hung up on me when I was still talking to process the deposit on the card machine -not great but maybe she was having a bad day. The young girl who served us was pleasant enough. The sandwiches were good as usual but the rest of the tea was not good at all. Dry tasteless scones and the tray bakes which used to be great were so unappealing that we only ate one. One of the tray bakes had some blue mould growing on it. We brought this to the attention of the girl serving us and she apologised and offered us a couple more to take home as "goodwill". I declined this as I knew they would be wasted and I was feeling a bit queasy after discovering the mouldy tray bake. When my husband went to pay the bill the girl who seemed to be there in a managerial capacity had a really bad attitude (May have been the same girl who took our reservation but maybe there is more than one surly member of staff working there nowadays). We paid £17 each for afternoon tea which must be a very recent price increase (not good value either if it's only the sandwiches which are edible). My 6 year old daughter had a plain cheese sandwich which wasn't included in the bill. The manager told my husband that they had looked at the other tray bakes and they were all fine and that it was probably some blue tissue on it. He asked for it back and offered to have it tested as it was clearly mouldy. He was told that the cheese sandwich wasn't charged because of the problem with the tray bake. As a regular customer I feel really let down by our recent visit here and the poor service we received. We came away very disappointed with the attitude of the manager/supervisor. As this was somewhere we used to enjoy visiting regularly we decided to phone and inform the owner about this visit and to discuss it with her directly. Unfortunately she was not available any of the three times we phoned and has not returned the calls. I will be going somewhere else that appreciates and values their customers to celebrate family occasions in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Cee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear & much appreciated customer.

I can guarantee that you were not intentionally cut off from any conversation, no member of staff would do this in Maryville house.We have had a new visa terminal installed for our card transactions, unfortunately for a period we did not have the luxury of dual lines, this would explain how you got cut off.

You point out that you have been visiting us for three years, which I think explain that
the experience you had was not the norm.
I can remember your visit and I do apologize on the managers behalf if you felt it was not addressed appropriately. We get our bakery goods fresh daily from our bakery, the item you mentioned was removed immediately when it was brought to our attention. All I can do is apologize and mention that this has not happened before.
Perhaps it is a proof that our produce does not contain any artificial preservatives or additives.
My husband forgot a muffin from main chain cafe, it was left for a month on a windowsill and was exactly the same when found, a bit worrying!
If you can recall the mold on the tray bake was the size of a pinhead, hence we had not spotted it and were very grateful for you bringing this to our attention. I also remember a person calling regarding this issue at one occasion, at that particular time it was extremely busy in the tearoom and I was helping out making coffees, I was unaware of further phone calls. The afternoon tea is £14.95/ person, the extra you paid would have been for surplus items. Other than offering something complimentary and reduce the due bill I can not think how we could have compensated you for one tray bake. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    46
    22
    12
    9
See reviews for
42
54
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beal Feirste
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The previous review must have been extremely unfortunate as we, a young couple (not pensioners!!!), brought my mother for an early mother's day on Saturday, 29th also. It is definitely not overpriced, £7/8 for a very tasty breakfast with tea or coffee (refills too). The staff were really very friendly with us and we have raved about it to everyone. Had been to the Merchant last year, but this was a much nicer experience. Bright, open, airy and clean with a relaxed happy atmosphere. Oh yes, we will be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear breakfast guest.

Thank you so much for your review.
We very much appreciate your time taken to simply compliment us on our performance.
It is so important that we also get positive reviews to keep the morale going amongst the staff,(especially,) they work very hard and expectations are high.

kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Never been so disappointed. As a regular customer on a Sunday to their sister site in botanic where the staff are very polite, accomodating and friendly where the food is good and served with a smile and attention to detail. To a pretentious over priced upity "tearoom".
The staff don't look like they have been told anything about service. They don't smile and are like little robots. I had to ask 3 times for milk with my half filled teapot of green tea.
The sandwiches came out 30 minutes later with no apology and as the plate was set down they all fell open and the contents fell out.
Not worth the money or effort to go here.
Might suit a non fussy pensioner with to much money.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear visitor.

I can't help but to think, hmm, very strange, but not !
Some reviews are best not answered!
This is simply put here by a person who does not like seeing us doing so well.
Anonymous, but not!

Thanks, but no thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

The house is beautiful and so very welcoming. Our rooms were immaculate and our hosts go above and beyond every day.

Location is good. Lots if restaurants on the nearby cross street. Coming back to the house after being out is like coming home.

Special thank you to Nicole and Helen for making our stay so nice.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zelda328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear guests.

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
You were a delight to look after.
Hope to see you again & take care.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I went today for lunch and was looking forward to the beetroot and goats cheese salad as I had it before and it was great. The waitress avoided bringing us a menu until we had to alert her. We did not have to wait too long for the food but it was so disappointing- lank lettuce and smothered in a watery tasteless sauce. We then had to really try and get the attention of the waitress to get dessert and were met by a less than friendly person behind the counter who served our choices. All in all no great reason to rush back unfortunately.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear visitor.

I was very surprised at your review!
The only staff on duty this day was myself and the manager, we were perplexed about this report.
I was the unhelpful person behind the bar, who talked you through all the options and suggestions, not sure how else I could have helped you.
The snack menu that you mention does not exist, the menu we do have on offer, had already been given to you.
As for the bland dressing, I made it , it has been complimented on many occasions with inquires about the recipe.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I booked a ' large double room' on bookin.com, for my partner and I. Unfortunately I was dissapointed when shown to the Jasmine room - it was very small and cramped. Bed was comfortable. Ensuite was tiny with a low pressure shower. The bedside lamps were covered in dust and we noted a few cobwebs on the chandelier. Despite all the negatives, we had a lovely stay. The house is beautiful. It was quiet and peaceful. We received an enjoyable breakfast the following morning - served by a friendly, young male waiter.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xdonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear guest.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
I will look in to the issue regarding having booked a large double room on booking .com.
This is simply an error which we have missed to pick up on, it's a pity, we could have rectified it during check in.
As in regards for the cobweb, we had to look hard to find it, but thanks for pointing it out.
The black lamp shades are unforgiving, but cleaned every week, minimum.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a great spot for great food and pleasant surroundings. The tearooms offer from breakfasts to afternoon teas and then other delights as well. The staff give you a very warm welcome. The menu has many options and delights and I would find it hard to have something that I would complain about. Everything comes out hot and freshly prepared. Nothing is a bother for the staff and the prices are great.
Try this out, it's a must.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
We work very hard to try and offer something above the normal, serving freshly prepared,homemade food.
It is reassuring to hear from someone that this is noticed.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Queen's Quarter
Harpers Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryville House

Property: Maryville House
Address: 2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryville House is an exquisite Victorian residence, superbly renovated with a modern twist. It is situated on the cosmopolitan Lisburn Road in South Belfast, within its own private grounds together with secure car-parking and bus routes into the city centre. It is situated within close proximity to the motorway. The boutique accommodation includes the following facilities:• Individually designed rooms with antique furniture• All rooms have an en-suite• Free wireless internet access• Flat screen TV• Tea and coffee making facilities with selection of homemade scones and traybakes fresh daily from our bakery• Complimentary sparkling and still mineral water• Ipod dock/charger/alarm clock on request• Iron/ironing board• Hairdryer• Sewing kit• Golf tee off times can be arranged at N.I. top clubs• Salmon fishing trips can be arranged at the Tilenmore Fishery on the famous River Finn. Maryville’s breakfasts include a wide and varying range of the finest options from healthy fresh fruit salads and natural organic yoghurts to Eggs Benedict or the Maryville House Full Breakfast, served with free range eggs and the finest quality locally sourced sausage. The range of specialty Suki Teas is endless and an extensive range of coffees is made with the finest lusso beans. Maryville also serves all day breakfasts for its guests. In addition, Maryville’s unique in-house tearoom offers a delicious range of light lunches and home-baked fare. With their own bakery, artisan breads, tray-bakes, pastries, cakes and scones are baked daily. They are complemented by homemade jams from their family farm in County Armagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryville House Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing