We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in Belfast”
Review of Maryville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maryville House
Ranked #9 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best B&B in Belfast”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I could not have had better service from the staff at this hotel. They went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable! There was a wonderful array of cookies, scones, and assorted goodies on the sideboard on the 2nd floor. I could help myself to tea or coffee any time and when I dragged myself in late at night, decafe and snacks. The room was cozy, the TV worked, and lots of hot water for my morning shower. The manager knew I had to check out at 5:30 am and offered to pack some food for my bus ride back to Dublin. Now that's customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmarie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind words and thought with your review!
It really is what makes it all worthwhile for us!
Such a boost to the morale of all the staff!
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    48
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
43
58
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I visited MaryVille house with my grandmother last week when the weather was good. We had booked an afternoon tea and were lucky to get one with how busy they can be on a Saturday! We came through the front door and we were instantly greeted by a lovely smiling face that brought us to our table that was set up with beautiful mis-matched crockery. We had never been for afternoon tea before but the waitresses were very kind and explained how it all worked. We were offered a wide selection of teas and sandwiches and after settling our teas were brought right away. We had a little wait for our sandwiches and tray bakes but this was worth it because they were all so fresh and delightful. There were an abundance of tray bakes and we couldn't possibly finish them but we were able to bring them home with us! We would defiantly recommend maryville house for a lovely warm experience and we will be returning again soon to try more of your delicious tray bakes!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttercup21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We strive to deliver the best service we can offer, in all the aspect of the business and it is therefore so rewarding to hear when we get it right!
Thank you for taking your time to share your positive feedback with a lot of other potential customers!
It really matters to us, a lot!
Thanks ever so much! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I spent a week at Maryville House and had a wonderful time there. The rooms are beautiful with a very homely feel about them.
All the staff were both friendly and extremely helpful...
Maryville is situated off the Lisburn Road, with easy access into Town ... a very pleasant 20 minute walk... so if you want to stay in Belfast but not right in the centre, this is definitely the place to stay... I will be a regular visitor to their tea rooms when friends come to visit me.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Darjeeling and it was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DML27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
How lovely to read on Trip advisor what we so often hear daily in our Tearoom and B&B.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share some nice views!
Thank you from me and on the behalf of all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautiful building but was really disappointed with the quality of the food served for£15. Coffee pots were just refilled with water and old grounds. Had to ask for fresh coffee which was not much better. Sandwiches were few and far between for number of people at our table and the cakes were stale and not very appetising. Won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest.
We get a daily delivery of sweets, breads& scones from our own house bakery & we use fresh produce at all times, which range is unique to us and which is much appreciated by our guests, regular and new.
We get so many wonderful reviews and everyone in the tearoom is served the same items.
We use fresh loose leaf tea by Thompson's family tea and we equally get compliments daily for our fresh tea, we serve a generous portion in a teapot and most customer are simply looking for a heat up. However, if requested we offer another fresh pot. All coffees are made using quality lusso beans from a local coffee roasting company , freshly ground and served in any way requested, lattes, cappuccinos etc. Every afternoon tea customer is always served a round of sandwiches each, again we get a lot of compliments for our sandwiches which are made fresh to order and to each booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A beautiful afternoon tea, lovely choice of sandwiches and a vast array of cakes and tray bakes. Very nice victorian table setting. Easy parking in the on site car park. Unfortunately the waitress service was very slow, our tea and coffee was cold before our food arrived.

Room Tip: Easy on site parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebelRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear guest.

Many thanks for your compliments which I think truly reflects the lovely feedback we get in house on a daily basis.
If you should have our afternoon tea again I would like to highlight that we offer free top ups and new drinks if needed for the afternoon tea. The drinks are simply served to start the experience off and you should have been offered top, this is standard procedure. The food normally arrives within plenty of time to enjoy a hot drink.

Many thanks & hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I'm really sad to be writing this review as we have been regular customers at Maryville for about 3 years now and I have recommended it to a lot of people and have even bought gift vouchers for family members for afternoon tea. Our family have came here for afternoon tea for the last 3 years for my young daughters birthday. This year the girl who took our reservation was really unhelpful, rude and in fact hung up on me when I was still talking to process the deposit on the card machine -not great but maybe she was having a bad day. The young girl who served us was pleasant enough. The sandwiches were good as usual but the rest of the tea was not good at all. Dry tasteless scones and the tray bakes which used to be great were so unappealing that we only ate one. One of the tray bakes had some blue mould growing on it. We brought this to the attention of the girl serving us and she apologised and offered us a couple more to take home as "goodwill". I declined this as I knew they would be wasted and I was feeling a bit queasy after discovering the mouldy tray bake. When my husband went to pay the bill the girl who seemed to be there in a managerial capacity had a really bad attitude (May have been the same girl who took our reservation but maybe there is more than one surly member of staff working there nowadays). We paid £17 each for afternoon tea which must be a very recent price increase (not good value either if it's only the sandwiches which are edible). My 6 year old daughter had a plain cheese sandwich which wasn't included in the bill. The manager told my husband that they had looked at the other tray bakes and they were all fine and that it was probably some blue tissue on it. He asked for it back and offered to have it tested as it was clearly mouldy. He was told that the cheese sandwich wasn't charged because of the problem with the tray bake. As a regular customer I feel really let down by our recent visit here and the poor service we received. We came away very disappointed with the attitude of the manager/supervisor. As this was somewhere we used to enjoy visiting regularly we decided to phone and inform the owner about this visit and to discuss it with her directly. Unfortunately she was not available any of the three times we phoned and has not returned the calls. I will be going somewhere else that appreciates and values their customers to celebrate family occasions in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Cee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear & much appreciated customer.

I can guarantee that you were not intentionally cut off from any conversation, no member of staff would do this in Maryville house.We have had a new visa terminal installed for our card transactions, unfortunately for a period we did not have the luxury of dual lines, this would explain how you got cut off.

You point out that you have been visiting us for three years, which I think explain that
the experience you had was not the norm.
I can remember your visit and I do apologize on the managers behalf if you felt it was not addressed appropriately. We get our bakery goods fresh daily from our bakery, the item you mentioned was removed immediately when it was brought to our attention. All I can do is apologize and mention that this has not happened before.
Perhaps it is a proof that our produce does not contain any artificial preservatives or additives.
My husband forgot a muffin from main chain cafe, it was left for a month on a windowsill and was exactly the same when found, a bit worrying!
If you can recall the mold on the tray bake was the size of a pinhead, hence we had not spotted it and were very grateful for you bringing this to our attention. I also remember a person calling regarding this issue at one occasion, at that particular time it was extremely busy in the tearoom and I was helping out making coffees, I was unaware of further phone calls. The afternoon tea is £14.95/ person, the extra you paid would have been for surplus items. Other than offering something complimentary and reduce the due bill I can not think how we could have compensated you for one tray bake. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beal Feirste
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The previous review must have been extremely unfortunate as we, a young couple (not pensioners!!!), brought my mother for an early mother's day on Saturday, 29th also. It is definitely not overpriced, £7/8 for a very tasty breakfast with tea or coffee (refills too). The staff were really very friendly with us and we have raved about it to everyone. Had been to the Merchant last year, but this was a much nicer experience. Bright, open, airy and clean with a relaxed happy atmosphere. Oh yes, we will be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryvilleHouse, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear breakfast guest.

Thank you so much for your review.
We very much appreciate your time taken to simply compliment us on our performance.
It is so important that we also get positive reviews to keep the morale going amongst the staff,(especially,) they work very hard and expectations are high.

kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryville House

Property: Maryville House
Address: 2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryville House is an exquisite Victorian residence, superbly renovated with a modern twist. It is situated on the cosmopolitan Lisburn Road in South Belfast, within its own private grounds together with secure car-parking and bus routes into the city centre. It is situated within close proximity to the motorway. The boutique accommodation includes the following facilities:• Individually designed rooms with antique furniture• All rooms have an en-suite• Free wireless internet access• Flat screen TV• Tea and coffee making facilities with selection of homemade scones and traybakes fresh daily from our bakery• Complimentary sparkling and still mineral water• Ipod dock/charger/alarm clock on request• Iron/ironing board• Hairdryer• Sewing kit• Golf tee off times can be arranged at N.I. top clubs• Salmon fishing trips can be arranged at the Tilenmore Fishery on the famous River Finn. Maryville’s breakfasts include a wide and varying range of the finest options from healthy fresh fruit salads and natural organic yoghurts to Eggs Benedict or the Maryville House Full Breakfast, served with free range eggs and the finest quality locally sourced sausage. The range of specialty Suki Teas is endless and an extensive range of coffees is made with the finest lusso beans. Maryville also serves all day breakfasts for its guests. In addition, Maryville’s unique in-house tearoom offers a delicious range of light lunches and home-baked fare. With their own bakery, artisan breads, tray-bakes, pastries, cakes and scones are baked daily. They are complemented by homemade jams from their family farm in County Armagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryville House Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing